搜索Unity

当故事、艺术和游戏融为一体时

定制工具、快速测试和分析为我们铺平了道路

Children of Morta:Unity用于2D游戏案例研究

Children of Morta游戏项目团队由14位担任不同角色的创作人员组成,为了让他们在全球范围内作为一个团队实现有效合作,Dead Mage必须充分利用Unity的灵活平台和各种工具。

游戏

Children of Morta

目标

将故事、艺术和游戏结合成一种无缝对接的体验

平台

Windows、Mac、PlayStation 4、Xbox 1

团队成员

14

地点

德克萨斯州奥斯汀

在一款出色的格斗式2D游戏中融入引人入胜的故事情节、唯美的艺术场景和富有吸引力的游戏玩法。

结果:

  • 定制工具将讲述过程效率提高了20 %以上
  • 5天内完成新关卡的原型
  • 将加载时间从几分钟缩短到几秒钟
  • Unite Austin 2017上的特色Made with Unity展示
  • 2015 SXSW People语音奖和GamePedia PAX West Picks提名
Children of Morta video interview
Jakobsen Locke(原名Jacobsen Beck)是Dead Mage的叙事设计师,他讲述了Unity中的定制工具如何帮助团队更有效地工作。

过场动画是关键

Dead Mage的2D地宫探险类游戏灵感源自波斯民间传说,漂亮的2D美术设计和冒险故事并不让人惊讶,毕竟Dead Mage的创始人兼工作室负责人Amir H. Fassihi就来自伊朗。

但是,将叙事中令人着迷的神话主题整合到一个格斗游戏中也带来了挑战。

“我们想让角色和叙事占据重要地位,但是我们不能将传统的线性叙事硬塞进来,因为这对整个游戏没有意义,”团队中的叙事设计师Jakobsen Locke说道。

Dead Mage的解决方案是创造几个关键的场景来推动故事,并在游戏中的关键点展示给玩家。

Locke说:“当玩家看到某个故事发生时,会有人告诉他们故事的内容,这让我们能够尽快给玩家提供他们需要的信息,产生情感上的影响,然后让他们回到游戏中。”

请看看下方Children of Morta的一个过场动画。

编写这个故事是一个挑战

计划怎样让叙事和游戏相互配合是一回事,但是当开发者和叙事设计者在遥远的地方时,实现起来却是另一回事,实际上并不一定简单。Locke如何从开发者那里获得他需要的信息,以便撰写文本并将叙事与游戏结合起来?

“起初,开发者会给我发一些电影的视频到奥斯汀,我会利用这些视频来编写故事,但是我们发现这确实很浪费时间,”Locke说,“有人需要至少要花半天时间录制视频,然后把它送给我,由于时间差导致我们需要三天以上才能返还任何东西,这完全就是在浪费我们的时间。”

在Unity,这个3天的流程被压缩为半天

为了让开发者和叙事设计师更有效地合作,Dead Mage对Unity editor进行了扩展。

“开发人员创建了一些自定义工具,让我能够进入Unity,并快速浏览所有动画。然后,我可以直接在Unity中写下我们需要的对话或文本。因此,Unity Editor的可扩展性使我们能够将大约三天的流程简化为半天,从而简化整个流程。”Locke说道。

请参见下面的自定义动画/叙事设计工具。

除了用内部工具定制Unity之外,Locke还指出,与Excel的紧密集成也让工作变得顺利。他可以使用Excel函数来确保所有的文本都得到正确表达并适应屏幕。

“我可以导入一个公式,然后按照我们希望的方式自动导入所有字幕,这种方式真的很酷。”他说。

保持游戏玩法的新鲜感,且加载时间快

强有力的叙事构成支持Children of Morta的骨架的一部分。但是游戏玩法体验的核心是地宫探险。玩家有大量时间停留在洞穴、沙漠和风庙里。

“地宫元素意味着您将重新播放很多游戏元素,所以我们希望确保每次的播放都是新鲜的。为了做到这一点,我们需要将它随机化,这样玩家就能够在每一章节中通过程序生成的场景找到新的布景、新的大升级等等。”Locke说道。

但是程序生成的场景意味着加载时间出现拖延。团队无法预加载所有资源,因为生成一个关卡可能需要五分钟。

加载时间从几分钟缩短到几秒钟

Dead Mage通过扩展Unity和自定义资源管理系统解决了加载时间问题。自定义管理系统不是调用资源,而是在不需要附加任何美术和重型文件的情况下调用资源数据。因此,他们仅使用光数据就可以调用所需的美术。

‘“将我们的自定义资源管理工具放入其中不仅能实现真正的平稳过渡,还将我们的加载时间从4到5分钟,减少到10秒或15秒。”Locke说。

请参见下方Dead Mage的自定义资源管理器。

快速prototyping让玩家参与了这一过程

Children of Morta中的游戏玩法深受玩家们的影响。起初,对于Dead Mage团队的几个关键成员来说,这个一开始仅仅出于小激情而创作的项目,很快发展成众筹活动,这使得他们能够将出资人当作一个测试小组。

有了Unity引擎,他们能够在两周内使用许多核心概念和想法创建一个完全可玩的版本。一旦有了这个基础,就每周继续制作一个新的建筑,里面有一些新的想法,这样他们就可以让新的游戏测试人员参与进来并进行检查。

“在原型设计阶段与Unity一起工作真的很棒。不到一周的时间,我们就可以在粗糙动画中加入一个新角色,让机制运作起来,这样有人就可以尝试这个新角色,并真正看到它在游戏中的感觉,最多只需要五个工作日。”Locke说道。

Unity Analytics影响设计决策

除了测试人员的反馈,Dead Mage也被激活了Unity Analytics这样他们就可以看到玩家在开发游戏时的行为。客观数据揭示了玩家的偏好,比如哪些角色最受欢迎,哪些权力的使用次数最多。

例如,当他们尝试给予所有角色闪躲的权力时,根据Unity Analytics的显示,这影响了玩家对其他权力的使用。具体来说,一旦父亲角色有权力闪躲,玩家们就不再使用他的巨大盾牌,因为他们更容易做出闪躲动作。

“根据Unity Analytics的数据,我们附加了一套全新的能力,这些能力只有在您拿着盾牌时才能激活。所以Unity Analytics推动了一项设计决策,如果我们没有积累所有的数据,是不可能做出这一决策的。”Locke说。

“Unity Editor的可扩展性使我们能够将耗时约三天的流程,压缩为半天以简化整个流程。”

— Jakobsen Locke,Dead Mage叙事设计师

如何开始使用Unity制作2D内容?

按照本实用指南进行创作,其中包含的信息和资源可以帮助您获得成功、节省时间并在使用Unity开发2D游戏时获得最大价值。

明白了

我们使用Cookie来确保在我们的网站上为您提供最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的Cookie政策页面

Search Unity

When story, art, and gameplay become one

Custom tools, rapid testing, and analytics pave the way

Children of Morta: A Unity for 2D games case study

The Children of Morta game-project team is composed of 14 creators in various roles spread across the globe. In order to make them work together efficiently as one team, Dead Mage had to take full advantage of Unity’s flexible platform and diverse tools.

The game

Children of Morta

The goal

Combine story, art, and gameplay into one seamless experience

Platforms

Windows, Mac, PlayStation 4, Xbox 1

Team members

14

Location

Austin, Texas

A combination of strong story, beautiful art, and engaging gameplay all in one great hack-and-slash 2D game.

The results:

  • Custom tools increased narration process efficiency by over 20%
  • Prototyped new levels within 5 days
  • Reduced load time from minutes to seconds
  • Featured at Made with Unity Showcase at Unite Austin 2017
  • Nominated for the 2015 SXSW People's Voice Award and GamePedia PAX West Picks
Children of Morta video interview
Jakobsen Locke (formerly known as Jacobsen Beck), narrative designer at Dead Mage, describes how custom tools in Unity helped the team work more efficiently.

Cutscenes were the key

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that both the beautiful 2D art and the adventure narrative in Dead Mage’s 2D roguelike dungeon crawler were influenced by Persian folklore. After all, Dead Mage’s founder and studio leader, Amir H. Fassihi, is originally from Iran.

But integrating the fascinating mythological themes of the narrative into a hack-and-slash game, came with challenges.

“We wanted the characters and the narrative to be important, but we couldn’t jam a traditional linear narrative into it because it just wouldn’t make sense in the overall game,” says Jakobsen Locke, the narrative designer on the team.

Dead Mage’s solution was to create a few key cutscenes that develop the story and present them to players at key points in the game.

“One person telling the players the story as they witness it gave us the ability to give players the information they need as quickly as possible, make an emotional impact, and then get them right back into the gameplay,” Locke says.

See an example of a cutscene from Children of Morta below.

Writing the story–literally–a challenge

A plan for how to make narrative and gameplay work together is one thing, but when the developers and the narrative designer are in remote physical locations, implementation isn’t necessarily going to be simple. How would Locke get the information he needed from the developers to write the text and integrate the narrative with gameplay?

“At first, the developers would send me videos of some of the cinematics to Austin, which I would use to write the narrative, but we found that that was real wasteful of our time.” Locke says. “Someone would have to spend at least half a day recording video, and get that back to me, then with our time-gap, it would take upward of three days to return anything. It was just a total waste of our time.”

A 3-day process condensed into half a day in Unity

In order to make it more efficient for the developers and narrative designer to work together, Dead Mage extended the Unity editor.

“The developers created a few custom tools that allowed me to go into Unity and just quickly jump through all the all the animations. Then, I could write the dialog or text that we needed directly in Unity. So, the extensibility of the Unity Editor enabled us to take what was about a three-day process, and condense it into half a day to streamline the entire process,” Locke says.

See the custom animation/narrative design tool below.

In addition to customizing Unity with internal tools, Locke points out that tight integration with Excel also made work smooth. He could use the Excel functions to make sure all the text was formulated correctly and fits on the screen.

“The way I could just import a formula and it auto-imported all the subtitles just the way we wanted them straight into the game was really cool,” he says.

Keeping gameplay fresh and load time fast

A strong narrative was one part of the skeleton that supports Children of Morta. But at the heart of the gameplay experience is roguelike adventure. Players spend a lot of time in caves, the desert, and the wind temple.

“The roguelike elements mean that you’re going to be replaying a lot of game elements, so we wanted to make sure that each play-through was fresh. In order to do that, we needed to randomize it so the player had the ability to find new sets, new power-ups, and so on, in each chapter via procedurally generated scenes,” Locke says.

But the procedurally generated scenes meant that load times were dragging. The team couldn’t have all their assets pre-loaded because generating a level could take up to five minutes.

Load times reduced from minutes to seconds

Dead Mage worked around the load-time issue by extending Unity with a custom asset-management system. Instead of calling an asset, the custom management system calls the asset data without any of the art and heavy files attached to it. Then using only the light data, they can call up the art needed.

“Not only was it a real smooth transition to get our custom asset management tool in there, it reduced our load times from 4 to 5 minutes to 10 or 15 seconds,” Locke says.

See Dead Mage’s custom asset manager below.

Rapid prototyping makes players part of the process

The gameplay in Children of Morta has been influenced heavily by players. What started out as as a small passion project for a few key members of the Dead Mage team soon developed into a Kickstarter campaign, which enabled them to use funders as a test group.

With the Unity Engine, they were able to create a fully playable build with many of the core concepts and ideas within two weeks. Once they had that foundation, they continued to make a new build every week with some new ideas in it, so that they could get fresh play testers to come in and check it out.

“It was really great to work with Unity for the prototyping phase. Within a week, we could go so far as to have a new character in with rough animations, have the mechanics in there so that someone could try the new character out, and actually see how it feels in the game. And that would only take us five business days max,” Locke says.

Unity Analytics influences design decisions

In addition to feedback from the testers, Dead Mage activated Unity Analytics so they could see how players were behaving as they developed the game. Objective data revealed player preferences, such as which characters were most popular and which powers were being used most.

For example, when they experimented with giving all the characters the power to dodge, Unity Analytics showed that this affected players’ use of other powers. Specifically, once the father character had the power to dodge, players stopped using his giant shield because it was easier for them to dodge instead.

“As a result of data from Unity Analytics, we attached a whole new set of abilities that can only be activated when you’re holding the shield. So Unity Analytics drove a design decision that we could not have made if we didn’t have all the data that we’d accumulated,” Locke says.

“The extensibility of the Unity Editor enabled us to take what was about a three-day process, and condense it into half a day to streamline the entire process.”

— Jakobsen Locke, Narrative Designer at Dead Mage

How do you get started with Unity for 2D?

Follow this practical guide with information and resources that will get you on your way, save you time, and help you gain the most value when developing 2D games using Unity.

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.