搜索Unity

怀旧时光之旅

定制工具、快速测试和分析为我们铺平了道路

Pixel Ripped案例分析:VR中的2D老游戏

2010年,Ana Ribeiro辞去了稳定的政府工作,卖掉了一切,从圣路易斯飞往伦敦学习游戏设计,她的家人和朋友认为她疯了。然而,在Unity引擎的帮助下,凭借她的天赋、精力和乐观精神,Ribeiro最终被证明是正确的。她现在签有一份合作协议 ARVORE Immersive Experiences, 而她的Pixel Ripped游戏甚至在发行之前就赢得了粉丝、认可和奖项。

游戏

Pixel Ripped 1989, 一款复古2D游戏,融合了惊险的VR骑行

目标

在现代VR体验之中打造一款有趣的2D老游戏

平台

Oculus Rift、PlayStation VR、SteamVR

团队成员

1,以及最近与Arvore工作室的合作(14)

地点

巴西圣保罗

Ana Ribeiro受到了自己童年时对Game Boy主题的热列怀旧情绪的启发,加上她对最新VR技术的兴趣,让她对游戏中的游戏有了一个愿望。然而,在VR体验中创建一款复古2D游戏确实带来了一些技术挑战。Unity平台使她能够更容易地对最终产品进行润色并保持帧率,从而能够应对这些挑战。

结果:

  • 可以在几周内创建新的演示测试版本
  • 借助Asset Store工具,fps提高了20
  • Asset Store tools节省了几个月的工作量
  • Unite Austin 2017上的特色Made with Unity展示
  • 协作处理ARVORE沉浸式体验
  • 多项大奖得主,包括惊奇节(Amaze Festival)最佳VR游戏、Indiecade 2015,以及最具创新性VR游戏和最佳原创分数的Proto Awards提名
Old school 2D gameplay in VR
Ana Ribeiro是Pixel Drive的创始人、项目经理和首席开发人员,他谈到了开发2D和VR混合游戏。

老游戏遇到新玩法,它们一拍即合

坐下来,戴上VR耳机,准备穿越到1989年。环顾四周:您回到了高中,您现在是一个孩子,您的目标是完成手持游戏主机的关卡而不被挑剔的老师抓住。

“我从小玩像Mega Man、Super Mario和Tetris这样的游戏,我想知道我是否可以利用VR技术,让人们回到过去,感受到我对这些游戏的热情。”Ribeiro说,“我希望将人们带回到80年代,让他们笑起来,感觉良好,享受快乐,并体会我记忆中的那些过去玩游戏的精神。”

Ana遇见了Unity,对它一见钟情

一开始,Ribeiro将Pixel Ripped作为自己最后一年的游戏设计项目 National Film and Television School 在伦敦,第一次有人向她介绍给Unity。然而,在她开始学习的时候,她并没有使用游戏引擎带来的便利。

“当我开始学习如何制作游戏时,一切都得从零开始。我必须构建一切东西,我不得不从头开始制造引擎,照相机等等。感觉就像是你想烤蛋糕,那你就必须建造整个厨房一样。但是我不想仅仅为了烤一个蛋糕而建造烤箱、水泵、厨房和墙壁:我只是想做我喜欢的事情。我想玩这个游戏。”

所以当有人将Unity介绍给Ribeiro时,她说她不敢相信自己的眼睛。

她说:“我的一些同学在抱怨说,’天哪,我们得写代码‘,但是我太激动了。我当时的反应是,’哇,一切都准备好了。我可以把相机放在那里。我只需要掌握物理知识,然后使用它就行了‘。这简直就是一见钟情。”

快速原型设计和测试齐头并进

当开始开发Pixel Ripped时,Ribeiro有了一个基本的理念,那就是一次怀旧的时间旅行,回到她年轻时的游戏时代。为了解哪些可能有效以及重点是什么,她让她的同学测试了早期的演示版本。

“Unity对我来说非常有用,因为它让我能够快速地将演示组合在一起。然后,我可以发现错误或者只是人们不喜欢的部分,随后修复它们。Unity对于原型设计非常重要,它能够让我在一周内创建一个新版本。”

别杀我,我就是你的男朋友

在测试期间,Ribeiro经历了两次顿悟,明白了游戏中最差和最好的元素是什么。第一个启示是,玩家绝对讨厌某个角色,他们不是喜欢讨厌,而就是讨厌它。Ribeiro原本以为,让当主角的男朋友在电视前跳舞会很幽默。

“我原以为这将会很有趣,因为在现实生活中,当你在电视上玩游戏时,人们会在屏幕前穿过,让你感到很烦。但是人们真的很讨厌这个家伙。他们想伤害他。大约有40名测试人员都想杀了这个家伙。”她说道。

因此,她删除了那个角色,专注于与每个人产生共鸣的演示部分。

“一开始,游戏中每个人最喜欢的那个小小时刻甚至都不重要。当你从一个游戏主机中出来并进入另一个游戏主机时,你会从第一人称的角度来看待主角。”她说。

“最多只需要五秒钟,然后你就会进入另一场比赛。这只是一件小事,但实际上每个人都说,‘双手放下来时,那个角色从游戏中走出来的那一刻是最棒的部分。”

2D与VR最终结合在一起

Ribeiro现在有了关键的东西,用于创造自己想要的良好氛围。她现在知道如何给人们一种融合了现代技术的快乐老游戏的感觉。至少在叙事和游戏玩法方面是这样的,不过仍有一些技术挑战需要克服。

“最大的挑战一直都是将两种游戏融合到一起,”Ribeiro说,“你有一个像Mega Mario一样的2D蹦跳平台游戏,里面有独立的场景,独立的图形,独立的音乐,声音,代码等所有一切。然后你又有80年代教室的3D世界。因此,这两个游戏世界背后的编程以及VR,意味着要增加fps并保持住,以便发布该游戏并让其稳定运行一直是一个挑战。”

解决办法是通过游戏打磨一切,让它尽可能轻装上阵。但是这需要时间、资源和正确的工具。考虑到这一点,Ribeiro说Unity Asset Store是非常有价值的,让她能够将fps提高20。

一个惨痛的教训:要先查看Unity Asset Store!

Ribeiro得到了一个惨痛的教训,那就是在自己动手之前,浏览Unity Asset Store寻找合适的工具非常有用。她回忆起一个特殊的插曲,当她还在学校和她的一个同学一起做这个项目时,得到了这一教训。

“我们试图模拟这棵圣诞树,我们在Asset Store看到了一棵五美元的圣诞树。但是我们真的想自己制作整个3D游戏里的所有东西,包括所有的模型。如果我们刚买了商店里的那棵树,它会让我们省下一个月的工作和压力,还不用感到失望,或者花时间努力纠正错误。所以我永远不会忘记这一点。”Ribeiro说。

“现在我总是先去Asset Store看看。如果我找到自己需要的东西,我认为它会节省我的时间,于是我会买下它,这一块就完成了。事情就是这么简单。有时您甚至可以免费找到一些东西。我要说Asset Store至少节省了我三个月的工作。”

她使用了许多Asset Store tools来制作效果,将80年代的怀旧情怀和Pixel Ripped的未来时间旅行感觉独特地组合在一起。例如,当您往回走时,她用Shader Forge在游戏开始时生成像素。她还用Skybox制作了大约300种图像效果。Ribeiro甚至发现了一种特别适合她游戏中怀旧感的资源,帮助她创造了80年代风格的蓝相机效果。

这一功能让他们的工作变得更加轻松

Unity的另一个特点是多平台支持,这为Ribeiro和她的合作者节省了大量时间和不必要的麻烦。

“我们希望能够接触到所有主流平台,因此能够直接到那些平台并进行相应改变当然会大有帮助:PlayStation、Oculus、PlayStation,这的确让我们的工作更加轻松了。”

Ribeiro从项目一开始就研究VR,她关注VR技术的变化以及Unity如何对其进行支持。

“在这个游戏的发展过程中,所有头盔都发生了变化,现在所有头盔都得到了支持,这真的很好。因为一开始,在过去VR的美好时光里,您必须下载所有东西,添加所有插件——我记得必须一个接一个地更换游戏中所有的摄像头。现在这一切都整合进去了。你只要勾选这个框’虚拟现实支持‘即可,您只需要考虑设计的事情。”

她说:“这简直就是一见钟情。我当时太激动了,我的反应是,’哇,一切都准备好了。我可以把相机放在那里。我只需要掌握物理知识,然后使用它就行了‘。我太喜欢Unity啦。”

— Ana Ribeiro,Pixel Ripped 1989的缔造者

如何开始使用Unity制作2D内容?

按照本实用指南进行创作,其中包含的信息和资源可以帮助您获得成功、节省时间并在使用Unity开发2D游戏时获得最大价值。

明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

A nostalgic time-travel journey

Custom tools, rapid testing, and analytics pave the way

Pixel Ripped case study: Old school 2D in VR

When Ana Ribeiro quit her steady government job, sold everything and flew from São Luis to London to study game design back in 2010, her family and friends thought she had lost her mind. In the end, though–with the help of the Unity engine and a healthy dose of talent, energy and optimism–Ribeiro was vindicated. She now has a collaboration deal with ARVORE Immersive Experiences, and her Pixel Ripped game is winning fans, recognition and awards even prior to its release.

The game

Pixel Ripped 1989, a retro 2D game blended with a thrilling VR ride

The goal

Create a fun, old-school 2D game within a modern VR experience

Platforms

Oculus Rift, PlayStation VR, SteamVR

Team members

1, plus a recent collaboration with Arvore studios (14)

Location

Sao Paulo, Brazil

Inspired by a combination of the warm, nostalgic feelings she had for the Game Boy titles of her childhood plus her excitement about the latest VR technology, Ana Ribeiro had a vision of a game within a game. However, creating a retro 2D game within a VR experience did present certain technical challenges. The Unity platform has enabled her to tackle those challenges by making it significantly easier to polish the final product and keep the framerate up.

The results:

  • Could create new demo-test versions within weeks
  • Increased fps by 20 with the help of Asset Store tools
  • Asset Store tools saved months of work
  • Featured at Made with Unity Showcase at Unite Austin 2017
  • Collaboration deal with ARVORE Immersive Experiences
  • Multiple award-winner, including Best VR game at Amaze Festival, Indiecade 2015, and Proto Awards nomination for Most Innovative VR game and Best Original Score
Old school 2D gameplay in VR
Ana Ribeiro, Founder, Project Manager, and Lead Developer at Pixel Ripped, talks about developing a hybrid 2D and VR game.

Old school meets new school, and they hit it off

Sit down, put on your VR headset, and get ready to travel back to 1989. Look around: you’re back in high school, kid, and your goal is to complete levels on your handheld game console without getting caught by your nagging teacher.

“I grew up playing games like Mega Man, Super Mario, and Tetris, and I wanted to see if I could use the possibilities of VR technology to let people travel back in time and get that same warm feeling I have for those games,” says Ribeiro. “I wanted people to laugh and feel good and have fun by being transported to the 80s, to the spirit of playing games in the past, the way I remember it.”

Ana meets Unity, and it’s love at first sight

Pixel Ripped started as Ribeiro's final-year game design project at the National Film and Television School in London, where she was first introduced to Unity. In the beginning of her studies, though, she didn’t have the benefit of the game engine.

“When I started learning how to make games, it was from scratch. I had to build everything. I had to build the engine, the camera, everything from scratch. It felt like if you wanted to bake a cake, you had to build the whole kitchen. But I didn’t want to build the oven, build the pumps, the kitchen and the walls just to bake one cake; I just wanted to get to my favorite part. I wanted to make the game.”

So when Ribeiro was introduced to Unity, she says she couldn’t believe her eyes.

“Some of my fellow students were complaining: ‘Oh my God, we have to write a line of code.’ But I was so excited. I was like: ‘Wow, everything’s ready; I can just put the camera there. I can just grab the physics and add it. It was love at first sight,” she says.

Quick prototyping and testing go hand in hand

When she started developing Pixel Ripped, Ribeiro had the basic idea of a nostalgic time-travel journey to the gaming era of her youth. In order to see what might work and where to focus, she tested early demo versions on her fellow students.

“Unity was really useful for me because it allowed me to put demos together fast. Then I could find the mistakes or just parts that people didn’t like and fix them. Unity is great for prototyping; it enabled me to create a new version within a week typically.”

Don’t kill me, I’m just the boyfriend

During testing, Ribeiro experienced two epiphanies about what were the worst and best elements in her game. The first revelation was that players absolutely hated a certain character, not loved to hate, but actually just hated. Ribeiro had thought it would be humorous to have the main character’s boyfriend dancing in front of the TV.

“I thought it was going to be funny because that’s what it’s like in real life when you’re playing a game on the TV and people are crossing in front of the screen annoying you. But people got really mad at this guy. They wanted to hurt him. There were like 40 testers who all wanted to kill the guy,” she says.

So instead, she got rid of that character and focused on the part of the demo that resonated with everyone.

“Initially, the little moment in the game that everyone loved the most wasn’t even going to be important. It was when you follow the main character in first-person point-of-view as she comes out of the console and jumps to another console,” Ribeiro says.

“It took five seconds at most, and then you would be in the other game. It was just that little thing, but everyone, literally everyone, said: ‘That’s the best part, hands down: the moment that that character comes out of the game.”

2D and VR together at last

Ribeiro now had the key to producing the right atmosphere that she was looking for . She now knew how to give people that happy, old-school gaming feeling mixed with modern technology. At least in terms of the narrative and gameplay. But there were still technical challenges to overcome.

“The biggest challenge has always been having two games within one,” Ribeiro says. “You have a 2D game, which is a jumping platform, like Mega Mario. And this game has separate scenes, separate graphics, separate music, sound, code, everything. And then you have the 3D world of the 80s classroom. So the programming behind these two game universes, plus the VR, has meant that it’s always been a challenge to increase the fps and keep it on a doable quality for releasing the game and not making people sick.”

The solution was to go through the game and polish everything in order to make it as light as possible. But that requires time, resources, and the right tools. With that in mind, Ribeiro says that the Unity Asset Store has been invaluable enabling her to increase fps by 20.

A lesson learned the hard way: Look on the Unity Asset Store first!

Ribeiro learned the hard way that it made sense to browse the Unity Asset Store for the right tools before building something on her own. She recalls one particular incident that really drove this lesson home when still at school working on the project with one of her fellow students.

“We were trying to model this Christmas tree, and we saw one for five dollars on the Asset Store. But we really wanted to make everything in the whole 3D part of the game ourselves, including all the modelling. If we had just bought the tree on the store, it would’ve saved us a month of work and stress, and a little bit of disappointment, trying to get it right. I’ll never forget that,” Ribeiro says.

“Now I just always go to the Asset Store straightaway first. If I find it, and I think it will save me time, something I need in the game, I just buy it, and it’s done. That’s that. Sometimes you can even find something for free. I’d say the Asset Store saved me around three months of work at the very least.”

She has used a number of Asset Store tools for effects to create the unique mix of 80’s nostalgia and futuristic time-travel feel of Pixel Ripped. For example, she used Shader Forge to produce the pixelation at the start of the game when you travel back in time. She has also used Skybox for around 300 image effects. Ribeiro even found an asset specifically for the nostalgic feel of her game, which creates an 80s-style blue-camera effect.

This feature made their lives a lot easier

Another feature in Unity that saved Ribeiro and her collaborators lots of time and headaches was the multiplatform support.

“We want to reach all the major platforms, so it definitely helps to be able to just go there and change: PlayStation, Oculus, PC. It makes our lives much easier.”

Having worked in VR from the beginning of her project, Ribeiro followed both the changes in VR technology and how Unity supports it.

“All the headsets had changed through the development of this game, and it’s really, really good that there’s support for them all now. Because at the beginning, in the good old days of VR, you had to download everything, add all the plugins–I remember having to change all the cameras in the game one by one. Now it’s all integrated. You just tick this box “virtual reality support” and you only have to worry about the design.”

“It was love at first sight. I was so excited. I was like: ‘Wow, the camera’s ready, I can just put the camera there. I can just grab the physics and add it. I just love Unity.”

— Ana Ribeiro, Creator of Pixel Ripped 1989

How do you get started with Unity for 2D?

Follow this practical guide with information and resources that will get you on your way, save you time, and help you gain the most value when developing 2D games using Unity.

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.