搜索Unity

泡泡的魔力

Unity如何帮助将梦想变成精彩的2D游戏

Tiny Bubbles:Unity用于2D游戏案例分析

经验丰富的独立开发人员Stu Denman的祖父曾参与过“曼哈顿计划”(第二次世界大战期间美国陆军自1942年起开发核武器计划的代号),他后来研究了肥皂泡的物理特性。半个世纪后,Stu的脑海中始终萦绕着祖父的泡泡工作。他连做梦都会想到泡泡。但是他能不能将这个想法变成一款精美、有趣和充满挑战性的游戏呢?

游戏

Tiny Bubbles, 一款备受赞誉的精美物理解谜游戏,制作者:Pine Street Codeworks.

目标

在一款有趣的解谜游戏中反映泡泡的自然物理特性

平台

iOS、Android、PC、Mac、Linux

团队成员数量

2

地点

华盛顿,西雅图

作为一家3A级工作室的技术主管,Stu Denman负责领导一个有30多名游戏开发人员的团队。在他的职业生涯中,他曾经有过制作一款自己的游戏的冲动。Unity提供的灵活性和完整工具集帮助他创造了Tiny Bubbles:一款包含160多个关卡的聪明、有吸引力、让人爱不释手的解谜游戏。

结果:

  • 利用高质量的Asset Store插件节省了数千美元
  • 本地化工具节省了几个月的开发时间
  • 荣获诸多荣誉,包括在Google Indie Festival、Intel Buzz: Best Overall PC Game、Seattle Indie Games比赛和Mobile Games Forum Indie Showdown上获奖
Tiny Bubbles: a Unity for 2D games case study
Pine Street Codeworks的联合创始人兼开发人员Stu Denman解释了为何Unity是帮助他实现愿景的完美工具。

点燃想象力的火苗

当他开始启动项目时,Denman只有一点灵感。他知道自己想制作一款以肥皂泡为主题的游戏,但是他不知道具体应该如何设计。Unity Editor的可扩展性和模块化设计为他提供了进行试验所需要的灵活性。

“为了弄清楚哪些元素有趣,哪些元素乏味,我决定在Unity内部制作一款编辑器,这样我就可以即时运行游戏和进行测试,返回修改,四处调整对象的位置,反复打磨,来回折腾。Unity Editor的灵活性确实改善了游戏设计。”

“Unity让我从以往对这些方面的担心中解脱出来,”Denman说:“我可以把精力集中在我以前没有尝试过的更有趣的技术上。泡泡的物理特性就是一个典型的例子。”

下面是Denman添加到Unity Editor中的自定义泡泡编辑器。

100倍投资回报率

除了添加自己的工具外,Denman还使用了许多Unity Asset Store中的现成工具,他说它们产生了让人难以置信的投资回报。

“有时,您并不知道要做多少工作和改进才能完成一个项目,何况市场竞争是如此激烈。但是当您将游戏带到玩家面前时,您才发现,天啊,我需要在这里添加一个特效。我需要改进那个功能的外观。”

“所以,能够使用Asset Store中的现成工具真是太好了,这可能比自己开发工具要快100倍。它可以帮助您节省大量时间,”Denman说。

另外,他还发现自己刚开始获取某些资源只是出于特定的原因,但这些资源常常在其他地方产生了意想不到的好处。TextMesh Pro就是其中一个典型例子:

“我购买TextMesh Pro是为了在文本中添加图标,结果发现,它不仅可以让我快速高效地添加图标,而且价格低廉,更出人意料的是,它还有许多其他我可以善加利用的超酷工具。”

吹泡泡:全民公权?

Denman的试验结果是产生了一款包括160多个有趣谜题的获奖游戏。该游戏将泡泡的实际物理特性反应到现实世界中,包括压力、表面张力、相互作用和级联连锁反应。

“喜欢玩泡泡是人之本性。泡泡有一些特性可以让所有人着迷,他们不分年龄、性别或文化,都对泡泡迷恋不已。我希望为尽可能多的人提供这种了不起的新方法来玩一大堆泡泡,包括需要使用眼动仪的色盲症患者。虽然为了实现这一目的,我需要对尽可能多的语言和平台进行设计,而这显然就是我为何选择Unity的一大原因,”Denman说。

使用Asset Store中提供的I2本地化插件,Denman可以将所有语言存储在Google Spreadsheet中。随后,他可以与翻译共享该电子表格。经过审核后,就可以将翻译文本自动导入Unity。

“我真是被惊到了,它几乎简单得傻瓜也会用。如果不是这样,我可能要花两个月或更多时间才能完成同一款软件。我在一天之内就完成了这款游戏的第三种语言本地化,包括集成和教程。它以后还会帮助我节省无数宝贵的时间,”他说。

实时见解和获利工具

当他完成原型设计后,Denman迫不及待地想看到玩家会对他的实验做出怎样的反应,以及他们到底会在游戏中做些什么。为此,他启用了Unity Analytics并开始将游戏发送给他的朋友。

凭借Unity Analytics Dashboard,他可以了解比如哪些关卡需要进行更多次尝试才能通过,或者玩家在哪些关卡会退出等等。为了利用声音数据确定某些可能的关键业务决策,Denman计划在发布游戏的Beta版时继续使用Unity Analytics。

玩家会付费吗?

Unity Analytics将提供帮助的一个重要决策是Denman关于获利的业务模型。

“当前市场充满竞争,所以为特定平台和市场选择最佳模型至关重要。所有这些市场的玩家特征各有不同,究竟哪一种模型才能让您获得最大利润,为了做到心中有数,您必须对不同类型的玩家的留存率进行测试。”

“有时,如果留存率过低,可能最好把价格定高一些,而如果留存率很高,可能免费才是上策。Unity Analytics可以让您了解留存率,然后基于数据做出决策。”

为了针对免费受众做好准备,Denman准备使用Unity Ads和IAP来补充Unity Analytics。他采取一种可以为不同类型的玩家提供良好体验的方式将广告集成到设计中。

“我为提示、升级和谜题使用奖励性广告。如果玩家在遇到难关时需要帮助,他们通过观看广告可以获得奖励性提示。这些提示有助于将游戏推广到更广泛的受众群体。它可以让休闲玩家解出一些更有难度的谜题,而更坚韧的玩家则可能更喜欢自己努力找出解决方案。”

Denman充分利用了Unity的强大性。首先,当他心中还只有最终游戏的模糊概念时,灵活的模块化设计帮助他抓住自己的兴趣进行设计。其次,Unity Asset Store和他自己的自定义工具让他可以把精力集中在游戏本身的核心理念上。最后,Unity IAP、Ads和Analytics帮助他以正确的模式让游戏为他付出的辛勤工作赚取回报。

Tiny Bubbles Jelly Crab

“Unity的模块化设计的目的是为了让开发简单明了。所以,如果游戏的某个部分有稳定性问题,它也不会影响游戏的其他部分。这同时也意味着在开发过程中,游戏在整体上的稳定性比我以前使用其他引擎开发的游戏的稳定性更佳。”

— Stu Denman,Pine Street Codeworks创始人兼首席工程师

如何开始使用Unity制作2D内容?

按照本实用指南进行创作,其中包含的信息和资源可以帮助您获得成功、节省时间并在使用Unity开发2D游戏时获得最大价值。

相关案例分析

明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

The magic of bubbles

How Unity helped turn a fleeting vision into an amazing 2D game

Tiny Bubbles: Unity for 2D games case study

Veteran indie developer Stu Denman had a grandfather who had worked on the Manhattan Project, and afterward studied the physics of soap bubbles. Half a century later, Stu couldn’t get his grandfather’s bubble work out of his head. He was dreaming bubbles at night. But would he be able to turn the seed of an idea into a polished, fun and challenging game?

The game

Tiny Bubbles, a beautiful award-winning physics puzzler, developed by Pine Street Codeworks.

The goal

To mirror the natural physics of bubbles in a fun puzzle game

Platforms

iOS, Android, PC, Mac, Linux

Number of team members

2

Location

Seattle, Washington

As a technical director at AAA studios, Stu Denman had lead teams of 30+ game developers. At a certain point in his career, though, he got an urge to create a game on his own. The flexibility and complete toolset that comes with Unity helped him create Tiny Bubbles: a clever, mesmerizing, addicting puzzle game with over 160 levels.

The results:

  • Saved thousands of dollars on quality Asset Store plugins
  • Localization tool saved months of development time
  • Winner of multiple awards, including Google Indie Festival, Intel Buzz: Best Overall PC Game, Seattle Indie Games competition, and Mobile Games Forum Indie Showdown
Tiny Bubbles: a Unity for 2D games case study
Stu Denman , co-founder and developer at Pine Street Codeworks, explains why Unity was the perfect tool to help him realize his vision.

The spark that set fire to his imagination

When he started out on this project, Denman only had the seed of inspiration. He knew he wanted to make a game revolving around soap bubbles, but he didn’t know what that game would be like. The extensibility and modular design of the Unity Editor gave him the freedom he needed to experiment.

“In order to see what was fun and what wasn’t, I decided to make an editor inside of Unity, you know, so I could play the game and test immediately, go back, move things around, back and forth, back and forth. The flexibility of the Unity Editor really improved the game design.

“Unity frees me from having to worry about those things that I’ve invented before,” Denman says. “Instead, I can focus on more interesting technologies that I haven’t tried yet. The bubble physics is a great example of that.”

Below, you can see the custom bubble editor, which Denman added to the Unity Editor.

100X return on investment

In addition to adding his own tools, Denman also used many pre-existing tools from the Unity Asset Store, and he says that they offered an incredible ROI.

“Sometimes you don’t comprehend how much work and polish it takes to complete a project and compete in a market that’s so competitive. But when you throw your game in front of players, you realize, oh my gosh, I need to add an effect here. I need to improve the look of a feature there.

“So being able to go to the Asset Store and find a tool there–probably for 100 times less than you would spend making it yourself–is just phenomenally awesome. It saves tons of time for sure,” Denman says.

What’s more, he often experiences that the assets he initially acquires for one specific reason hold hidden benefits elsewhere. TextMesh Pro was a good example of this:

“I grabbed TextMesh Pro to add icons in my text and‒not only did it allow me to do that quickly and efficiently and for very little money‒but it had a tremendous number of other very cool features I could take advantage of that I never expected.”

Playing with bubbles: A universal right?

The result of Denman’s experimentations was an award-winning game with over 160 intriguing puzzles. The game mirrors the actual physics of bubbles in the real world with regard to pressure and surface tension, interaction, and cascading chain reactions.

“Bubbles are this elemental human thing. There’s just something fascinating about bubbles that everyone loves regardless of their age, sex, or culture. And I wanted to offer this great new way to play with clusters of bubbles to as many people as possible, including people who are color blind or rely on eye trackers. In order to that, though, I needed to be in as many different languages and platforms as possible, and that’s definitely one big reason why I chose Unity,” Denman says.

Using the I2 Localization plugin from the Asset Store, Denman was able to store all his languages on a Google Spreadsheet. He could then share the spreadsheet with translators. Once approved, the text was automatically pulled into Unity.

“I was really blown away by how ridiculously easy it was. It would have taken me probably two months or more to make that same software. I got a third of the game localized in a single day, including the integration and tutorials. And it’s going to save me hours and hours,” he says.

Real-time insight and monetization tools

Once he created the prototype, Denman was eager to see how people would respond to his experimentations and what they would actually do in the game. In order to do so, he enabled Unity Analytics and began to send it out to friends.

The Unity Analytics dashboard has enabled him to look at things like, for example, which levels take more tries to win or at which levels people stop playing the game. In order to base some potentially critical business decisions on sound data, Denman plans to continue to use Unity Analytics when the game goes to beta.

Will they pay to play?

One major decision Unity Analytics will help with is Denman’s business model regarding monetization.

“The market is challenging out there right now, so it’s important that I choose the best model for the given platform and market. All of those markets have different kinds of players, so you really need to test retention for those different types of players in order to have an idea of which one is going to make you the most money.

“Sometimes if your retention is lower, it’s better to go premium, and if your retention is higher, it’s better to go free-to-play. Unity Analytics lets you look at retention and make a decision based on data.”

In order to be ready for a free-to-play audience, Denman is prepared to complement Unity Analytics with Unity Ads and IAP. He has already integrated ads into his design in a way that will offer a good player experience to different types of players.

“I use reward-based ads for the hints and power-ups and the puzzles. If the player is struggling and they need help, they can watch an ad and get a reward like a hint. The hints help make the game accessible to a wider audience. It allows casual players to get through some of the more difficult puzzles, where a more hard-core player might prefer to labor through the solution.”

Denman has taken full advantage of what Unity offers. First, the flexible, modular design helped him follow his interest when he only had an inkling of what the final game would look like. Next, the Unity Asset Store and his own custom tools enabled him to focus on the core of the game itself. Finally, Unity IAP, Ads and Analytics are helping get the game right in a way that will enable him to get paid for all his hard work.

Tiny Bubbles Jelly Crab

“Unity’s modular design tends to keep things fairly clean. So if you have stability issues in one part, it doesn’t affect the rest of the game. And it means that overall, through the course of your development, your game tends to be a lot more stable than what I’ve experienced with other engines that I’ve used.”

— Stu Denman, Founder and Lead Programmer at Pine Street Codeworks

How do you get started with Unity for 2D?

Follow this practical guide with information and resources that will get you on your way, save you time, and help you gain the most value when developing 2D games using Unity.

Related case studies

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.