Cherchez Unity

Principes de conception traditionnelle pour inspirer vos créations RV et RA

Last updated: January 2019

What you will get from this page: classic design principles to inform design of your XR content. These come from Don Norman, the Founder and Director of the Design Lab at the University of California, San Diego, and co-founder of the Nielsen Norman group.

By seeing how many everyday objects–doors, windows and chairs–are designed for easy use (or not), you can start to understand how to make your virtual content feel natural to players.

You can watch the session by Stella Cannefax, a Unity Labs engineer, ici.

Affordances

Comment savez-vous qu'un fauteuil sert à s'asseoir ? Qu'une balle sert à être lancée ? C'est évident n'est-ce pas ? Les affordances sont les propriétés innées d'une chose qui déterminent comment elle peut être utilisée, ou la relation entre une chose et une personne. Lorsque vous regardez un fauteuil, vous savez qu'il faut s'asseoir dessus dans une position spécifique, comme vous savez que vous devez ouvrir cette porte pour passer.

Unity VR and AR design affordance

Mais comment savez-vous s'il faut pousser la porte ou la tirer ? C'est là qu’intervient le signifiant.

Signifiants

Il arrive que les propriétés innées d'un objet ne reflètent pas clairement son utilité. Les signifiants sont des signes qui rendent les affordances plus claires, par exemple un panneau sur une porte indiquant « Tirer » ou « Pousser ». Ils tentent de réduire l'écart entre la véritable utilité d'un objet et notre perception de son utilité.

Unity VR and AR design signifiers

Conseils pour la conception XR : chaque fois que vous le pouvez, évitez d'utiliser des signifiants basés sur le texte, car le texte devra être traduit si votre est disponible mondialement. De plus, le texte peut être difficilement lisible à distance sur les appareils de RV de la génération actuelle.

Mappings

Les Mappings sont des relations entre deux ensembles de choses. Dans le cas de la XR, il y a l'ensemble des entrées/actions utilisateur possibles (l'ensemble de choses qu'un utilisateur peut faire) et l'ensemble d'actions possibles que permet votre système ou votre objet (l'ensemble de choses avec lesquelles nous autorisons les interactions dans notre système ou notre application).

Unity VR and AR design mapping

Conseils pour la conception XR : soyez conscient que, souvent, un mapping vous semblera naturel alors qu'il s'agit d'une expérience acquise ancrée dans votre culture et n'ets pas forcément compris de façon universelle.

Stella donne l'exemple du prototypage d'un outil qui vous permet de placer des éclairages dans les contenus en RV et de modifier leur portée et leur intensité grâce à des mouvements de main uniquement. Elle a beaucoup réfléchit aux mouvements de main (entrées utilisateurs) les plus naturels et universels pour les différentes actions du système (ajuster la portée, l'intensité, etc.). Par exemple, un mouvement vers le haut serait associé, pour la plupart des utilisateurs, à l'augmentation de l'intensité lumineuse.

Avis

Les Mappings sont des relations entre deux ensembles de choses. Dans le cas de la XR, il y a l'ensemble des entrées/actions utilisateur possibles (l'ensemble de choses qu'un utilisateur peut faire) et l'ensemble d'actions possibles que permet votre système ou votre objet (l'ensemble de choses avec lesquelles nous autorisons les interactions dans notre système ou notre application).

Unity VR and AR design feedback

Conseils pour la conception XR :

Le feedback doit être :

  • Rapide : même un délai de 100 ms est trop long pour les utilisateurs dans une situation du monde réel. Assurez-vous que les canaux de feedback sélectionnés sont suffisamment rapides.
  • Planifié : les actions doivent être confirmées sans distraire l'utilisateur.
  • Priorisé : vous devez prioriser de nombreux types de feedbacks importants dans une situation données. Vous devez également travaillé sur la présentation du feedback, pour retenir l'attention de l'utilisateur.

Stella souligne que le feedback d'un canal n'interfère pas nécessairement avec un autre type de feedback sur un autre canal. Les utilisateurs peuvent recevoir confortablement de nombreux types d'informations via de multiples canaux. Cependant, recevoir plusieurs types de feedback via un canal unique peut déstabiliser les utilisateurs.

Contraintes

Les contraintes sont des limites relatives aux actions possibles pour l'utilisateur au sein d'un système.

Unity VR and AR design constraint

Conseils pour la conception XR :

Voici quelques-une des contraintes que doivent gérer les développeurs de contenus XR :

  • Maintenir 90 FPS.
  • Limitations relatives au matériel spécifique.
  • Suivi de la tête et des mains.

Pensez à la façon dont vous pourriez utiliser les contraintes liées au développement XR pour renforcer le caractère ludique et immersif de votre contenu. Voici une excellente discussion sur des solutions créatives de Owlchemy Labs, qui a développé un jeu en RV basé sur la série Rick and Morty.

Plus de ressources

Dites-nous si vous avez aimé ce contenu !

Oui, continuez comme ça Ça pourrait être mieux
Compris

Ce site utilise des cookies dans le but de vous offrir la meilleure expérience possible. Consultez la page de politique des cookies pour en savoir plus.

Search Unity

Classic design principles to inspire your VR & AR creations

Last updated: January 2019

What you will get from this page: classic design principles to inform design of your XR content. These come from Don Norman, the Founder and Director of the Design Lab at the University of California, San Diego, and co-founder of the Nielsen Norman group.

By seeing how many everyday objects–doors, windows and chairs–are designed for easy use (or not), you can start to understand how to make your virtual content feel natural to players.

You can watch the session by Stella Cannefax, a Unity Labs engineer, here.

Affordances

How do you know a chair is for sitting, or a ball for throwing? It’s obvious, right? Affordances are the innate properties of a thing which determine how it can be used, or the relationship between the thing and a person. When you look at a chair, you just know that it’s for sitting in a particular position, or that a door is for opening and going through.

Unity VR and AR design affordance

But, how do you know if you’re supposed to push or pull the door open? That’s where signifiers come in.

Signifiers

Sometimes the innate properties of an object cannot imply what it affords. Signifiers are signs that make affordances clearer, for example, a sign on a door that reads “pull” or “push”. They try to close the gap between the truth of what an object can do, and our perception of what it can do.

Unity VR and AR design signifiers

Tips for your XR design: Wherever you can, avoid using signifiers that are text-based, as the text will have to be translated if your game is available globally, plus, on current-gen VR hardware, text can be hard to read at a distance.

Mappings

Mappings are relationships between two sets of things. In the case of XR, there is the set of possible user actions/input (the total set of things a user can do), and, the possible set of actions afforded by your system or object (the total set of things that we allow to interact in our system or application).

Unity VR and AR design mapping

Tips for your XR design: Be aware that often, a mapping will feel natural to you, but in fact it’s a learned experience, rooted in your culture, and therefore might not be universally understood.

Stella gives the example of prototyping a tool that lets you place lights in VR and then modify their range and intensity with only hand motions. She had to think carefully about what hand motions (user input) would most naturally, and universally, map to the system actions, (adjusting range, intensity, and so on)? For example, an upwards hand motion to most people would indicate increasing the intensity of the light.

Feedback

Feedback communicates the results of a user action. In VR especially, the feedback has to “feel” real so the user remains immersed.

Unity VR and AR design feedback

Tips for your XR design:

Feedback has to be:

  • Fast: even a 100ms delay is slow for users in a real-world situation. Ensure that your chosen feedback channels relay feedback fast enough.
  • Planned: actions need confirmation, but without distracting the user.
  • Prioritized: you’ll need to prioritize multiple types of feedback that are important in any given interaction. And, experiment with you to present feedback so that it gets the player’s attention.

Stella points out that feedback on one channel doesn’t necessarily interfere with another type of feedback on another channel. Users can comfortably receive multiple types information through multiple channels. But, multiple kinds of feedback via a single channel can be confusing.

Constraints

Constraints are limits on the possible user actions in a system.

Unity VR and AR design constraint

Tips for your XR design:

Some constraints XR developers have to work within include:

  • Maintaining 90 FPS.
  • Limitations of specific hardware.
  • Head and hands tracking.

Think about how you can use constraints in XR development to enhance the fun and immersion of your content. Here’s a great talk on creative solutions from Owlchemy Labs, who developed a VR game based in the Rick and Morty TV series.

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better