搜索Unity

虚拟房间广告:

VR生钱之道

平面、广播、电视、Web、移动:每一种媒介都有不同的广告格式。新媒介上早期的广告往往借鉴前一种媒体的做法,经过不断发展后才会最终形成自己的独特性。什么广告会成为原生VR广告格式?在Unity,我们认为是虚拟房间广告。

虚拟房间广告的三要素

虚拟房间广告可以针对特定品牌进行全面定制。它就像应用中的迷你应用,可以按照广告商的要求或期望,以有趣而丰富的形式展示。虚拟房间广告包括三个要素:

  • 环境,可以针对品牌进行全面定制。
  • 对象,设置在环境中的各个位置,用于讲述品牌故事。
  • 与对象的互动
如何运作

如果玩家选择体验广告,则会切入品牌化虚拟房间,让人感觉广告不过是游戏的自然延伸(他们可以打开房门或者穿过另一种入口)。

广告的前20秒应明确体现广告意图。例如,如果广告要宣传一家咖啡连锁店,那么就应该将虚拟房间布设成类似的一家咖啡店。房间内的对象应该与实体咖啡店中看到的一样:咖啡杯、杂志、智能手机等。最多一分钟,玩家可以探索房间并与对象交互。他们可以拿起咖啡杯,随即弹出一份菜单等等。每一次互动都要有助于讲述故事。

unity-vr-ads-user-flow

虚拟房间的用户流量:在您的核心VR应用中,用户进入品牌化空间后才能解锁更多内容。他们会被传送到一个完全品牌化的世界 – 或虚拟房间。在那里,他们可以花30-60秒时间与品牌的故事互动,然后回到主VR应用。

为何智能:借鉴了过去的良好实践,且简单明了

unity-vr-ads-evolution-of-advertising

不同媒体上广告形式的演变。

  • 它就像移动视频中的奖励视频广告。通过体验虚拟房间广告,玩家可以解锁奖励和新内容,如果广告让人觉得它是游戏的自然组成部分,玩家就不会介意。

    通过最近的Unity Ads报告,我们有一个重大发现:几乎80% 的消费者都愿意通过观看广告来换取奖励和解锁新内容。因此,没有理由认为VR游戏会有所不同。

  • 它可以向潜在的广告受众展示广告。广告商为何要构建独立的广告?为何要单凭广告本身来寻求发现和下载?何不将广告内容嵌入创作内容,从而向更多的受众展示。这样,广告商和创作者甚至不需要竞争同一群受众的注意力。
  • 它可以让广告商与创作者实现双赢:在我们的身边,这样的例子比比皆是,只不过我们常常视而不见:想一想百事可乐赞助的超级碗半场秀;附带热门儿童电影中的商品的快乐儿童餐,或者甚至是时尚杂志将广告与创作内容混合在一起的方式。

unity-vr-ads-content-and-ads-together

将内容和广告完美融合在一起的经典例子。

但是,它与植入式广告无关

在VR平台(或其他媒体,就此而言)上,植入式广告并不是一种可靠的收入来源。虚拟房间广告格式只有在广告内容与游戏内容和受众完美贴合时才会产生效果。或者说,如果它以类似于创作内容的方式讲述自己的独立故事。

现在是找出有效方法并设立标准的时候了

内容开发商、广告商(以及身兼两职的人员);硬件制造商和Unity;我们当前正在一起构建VR生态系统。现在正是探索VR广告思想的大好时机,也许这样的思想很快就会成为人人可用的标准。我们认为这就是虚拟房间广告格式的潜力:简单明了,易于应用且建立在经过实践检验的方法之上。

明白了

我们使用Cookie来确保在我们的网站上为您提供最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的Cookie政策页面

Search Unity

The Virtual Room Ad:

a real way to make money in VR

Print, radio, TV, the web, mobile: Each medium has its distinct ad format. Early advertising on a new medium always borrowed practices from ads in previous media–and then ultimately evolved into something unique. What will be the native VR ad format? At Unity, we think it could be the Virtual Room ad.

The three parts to the Virtual Room ad

A Virtual Room ad can be fully customized for a particular brand. It’s like a mini app-within-an-app, and can be as entertaining and rich as the advertiser requires or wants. It’s made up of three elements:

  • The environment, which is fully customized for the brand.
  • Objects, placed throughout the environment that tell the brand story.
  • Interactions with the objects.
How it works

A player who chooses to experience the ad moves into the branded virtual room in such a way that it feels like a natural extension of the game (they can open a door or move through another kind of portal).

The first 20 seconds should make clear what the ad is about. If the ad is for a coffee shop chain, for example, the virtual room would look like one of the shops. The objects in the room would be the same as those you would find in the real shop: coffee cups, magazines, smart phones, and so on. For up to a minute the player can explore the room and interact with objects. They can pick up a coffee cup, and a menu pops up, and so on. Each interaction needs to help tell the story.

unity-vr-ads-user-flow

User flow for Virtual Room: In your core VR app, users enter into a branded space before unlocking more content. They’re transported to a fully branded world – or Virtual Room. There they spend 30-60 seconds interacting with the brand’s story before navigating back to the main VR app.

Why it’s smart: it borrows good practices from the past, and it’s simple

unity-vr-ads-evolution-of-advertising

The evolution of advertising across different media.

  • It works like rewarded video ads in a mobile game. Players can experience a Virtual Room ad as a way to unlock rewards and new content, something they won’t mind doing if the ad feels like a natural part of the gameplay.

    A key finding from a recent Unity Ads report is that almost 80% of consumers want to watch ads in exchange for rewards and new content. There’s no reason to assume it will be different for VR games.

  • It gets ads in front of potentially big audiences. Why should advertisers build a stand-alone ad that has to be discovered and downloaded on its own? Instead, embed the ad content into the creative content, and get it in front of many more people. It also means that advertisers and creators are not competing for the attention of the same audiences.
  • It can create a beneficial symbiosis between advertisers and creators: There are so many examples of this around us that we barely notice it: think of the Super Bowl halftime show sponsored by Pepsi; Happy Meals that include merchandise from popular kids’ movies, or even the way the advertising and creative content in a fashion magazine blend together.

unity-vr-ads-content-and-ads-together

Popular examples of content and ads working together.

But, it’s not about product placement

Product placement is not a reliable source of revenue on VR (or other media, for that matter). The Virtual Room ad format will only work if the content of the ad is appropriate to the content of the game and the audience. And, if it tells its own encapsulated story in similar ways to the creative content.

Now’s the time to find out what works, and set standards

Content developers, advertisers (and people who wear both hats); hardware makers, and Unity; we’re all currently building the VR ecosystem together. It’s the time to explore ideas that one day soon can become standards everyone can use. We think that’s the potential of the Virtual Room ad format: it’s simple, easily applicable and built on tried and tested practices.