搜索Unity

控制台开发人员在一个场景可进行10种图形优化

上次更新时间:2019年1月

本页内容简介:控制台图形优化技巧,由Unity的Rob Thompson、控制台图形开发人员(他在Unite上讲解)和我们的演示团队提供。这些优化针对性能优化特别困难的场景,以确保30fps的平滑性能。

使用Unity的可编程渲染管线实现AAA质量

死者之书(本文中称之为BOTD)由Unity的演示团队制作。它是一部实时渲染的动画短片,本质上是用于测试,展示新型(还在试验)可编程渲染管线(SRP)的功能。SRP可用于以C#对渲染循环的核心编码,从而提供更大的灵活性,让您自定义如何描绘场景,使之适合您的内容。

控制台可编程渲染管线

可使用两个SRP:高分辨率渲染管线 (HDRP),提供现代AAA质量、高保真渲染器的所有功能,而轻量级渲染器管线 (LWRP)在针对移动平台缩放时会保持响应迅速的性能。BOTD使用HDRP,您在本文末可以找到SRP的高级学习资源。

用于BOTD的所有资源和所有脚本代码在Asset Store在Asset Store中

主要优化通道以在控制台达到1080p at 30fps(或更好)

演示的目标是提供交互体验,用户可以在环境中随意走动,用手触摸,从传统AAA游戏的熟悉角度进行体验。特别是,我们想展示在Xbox One和PS4上运行的BOTD。我们的性能要求是1080p at 30fps或更佳。

因为它只是一个演示,不是完全版的游戏,因此优化的重点是渲染。

一般来说,BOTD的性能相当一致,因为它没有任何这样的场景:有数千个粒子突然涌现出来,或者出现大量的动画角色。

首先,Rob和Demo团队发现了性能最差的视图,即GPU负载,其截屏如下:

控制台可编程渲染管线

场景中发生的一切都是固定不变的;变化的是摄像机视图中的内容。如果能够改善此场景,整个演示的性能都会提高。

此场景性能差的原因在于,它是进入中心的关卡的外部视图,所以场景的绝大多数资源都在摄像机视锥体中,结果导致大量的绘制调用。

简言之,此场景的渲染方式如下:

  • 使用HDRP
  • 美术师创作的纹理贴图大小大多数在1K与2K之间,极少数为4K。
  • 它对间接光照使用烘焙遮挡和烘焙GI,并且对太阳的直射使用单一动态阴影投射光源。
  • 在任何点都会发出几千个绘制调用(绘制调用和计算着色器分发)
  • 在优化通道开始时,视图在PS4 Pro上大约45毫秒时为GPU密集型。
GPU帧在优化通道之前显示什么

在优化通道开始时,Rob和团队逐步查看了GPU帧,看到了以下性能:

  • Gbuffer在11ms处(可以在Unity首席图形开发人员Sebastien Lagarde的可以找到中找到用于HDRP的Gbuffer布局描述)
  • 运动矢量和屏幕空间环境光遮挡的速度非常快,分别达到 .25 和 .6ms
  • 来自定向阴影投射的阴影贴图在使用动态光照时速度达到惊人的13.9ms
  • 延迟光照的速度为4.9ms
  • 大气散射速度为6.6ms

其GPU帧自始至终的外观如下:

控制台GPU帧

如您所见,它们的速度为45毫秒,两条垂直的橙色线显示,它们必须分别达到30fps和60fps。

对《死者之书》优化渲染的10种方式

控制批量计数

对于演示团队来说,CPU性能不是大问题,因为BOTD只是演示,还不是游戏,因此不像完整游戏那样,必须编写支持所有系统的复杂脚本代码。主要问题还是优化渲染工作。

但是,对于任何平台,保持较少的批处理仍然有价值。演示团队通过使用遮挡剔除实现此目的,主要是GPU实例化来优化渲染。。尽量不要在控制台上使用动态批处理,除非您确定它能提供更好的性能。

在本例中,GPU实例化是最实用的方法。不使用GPU实例化时,这一场景将有4500个批处理,使用后会减少至1832个。

另一个要点:用于创建此场景的资源实际上很少。利用优质资源并智能布置,团队创建了看不到重复的复杂场景,同时使用GPU实例化减少批处理数。

这是没有实例化的场景。

控制台可编程渲染管线

这是实例化的场景:

控制台可编程渲染管线

使用控制台上可用的多个核心

Xbox One和PS4是多核心设备,而为了获得最佳CPU性能,我们需要努力使这些核心始终保持忙碌。

如果您关注Unity的新闻,就会知道Unity正在开发一种高性能的多线程系统,它可让您的游戏在当前及未来充分利用多核处理器。简单来说,该系统包含三个子系统:实体组件系统C#作业系统Burst编译器

这个新的多线程系统还处于早期的试验模式。在Unity的图形系统中,您可以通过Graphics Jobs模式(同时也是试验模式)进行试用。在Player Settings > Other Settings下可以找到Graphics Jobs模式。

控制台图形作业

Graphics Jobs模式在几乎所有情况下都会在控制台上优化性能,除非您只是如实绘制了少量批处理。有两种类型可用:

  • 旧版作业,在PS4和DirectX 11 for Xbox One上可用
    • 将工作分发到其他核心,以减轻主线程的压力。请注意,在很大型的场景中,Unity用于与平台所有者图形API通信的“渲染线程”中可能存在瓶颈。
  • 本机作业,在PS4以及Xbox One的DirectX 12上可用
    • 对于大型场景,将大多数工作分发到可用的核心是最佳选择。
    • 从2018.2往前应该都是最佳选择(在2018.1或更早版本中,主线程可能承担更多的工作,因此性能退化)。

使用平台所有者的性能分析工具

Microsoft和Sony提供卓越的工具,用来分析项目在CPU和GPU上的性能。如果您在游戏主机上创作,可以免费使用这些工具。请尽早学习它们,并在整个开发周期中使用。Pix for Xbox One是Microsoft的工具,Razor Suite是Sony的工具;正如Rob所说,在这些平台上优化时,它们是您的主要工具。

配置后期处理效果

Rob说,他在PS4上配置了Unity游戏,开发人员不知道后期处理占用了多达⅔的帧数。原因通常是从Asset Store下载主要为PC创建的后期处理资源所致。它们在控制台上似乎运行良好,但实际上,性能特性非常糟糕。

因此,在应用这些效果时,时,需配置它们使用GPU多久,并进行迭代,直至在视频质量与性能之间找到满意的平衡。然后就不用管它们了,因为它们在每个场景中都会包含静态成本,也就是说,您知道剩下多少GPU带宽可用。

避免使用曲面细分(除非有很好的理由)

一般来说,不建议在控制台游戏图形中使用曲面细分。大多数情况下,在GPU上使用美术师创建的同等资源,比运行时曲面细分它们更好。

如果是BOTD,就有充分的理由使用曲面细分,那就是渲染树皮。

控制台曲面细分

曲面细分的位移可让他们在几何形状中加入深窝和粗糙细节,以普通贴图无法实现的方式正确地形成自身阴影。

因为树在BOTD中多为“英雄”对象,所以应该存在。在LOD 0和LOD 1中使用相同的网格完成。它们之间的差异只在于曲面细分的位移已相应缩减,因此在LOD 1时不再有效。

在GPU中始终保持健康波前占用率的目的

波前占用率这个词有点绕口,但了解它非常有价值。

您可以将一个波前视为一个GPU工作包。向GPU提交绘制调用或者计算着色器分发时,该工作则拆分为许多波前,并且这些波前在GPU上可用的所有计算机单元内所有SIMD中分发。

控制台波前占用率

每个SIMD都有可在任一时间运行的最大波前数,因此任一时间在GPU上并行运行的波前总数都有上限。我们使用的波前数被称为波前占用率,它对于了解GPU并行性潜力的使用效果是一个非常有用的指标。

Pix和Razor能够非常详细地显示波前占用率。上面的图表来自Pix for Xbox One。左边是一个波前占用率良好的示例。底部的绿色条表示有一些顶点着色器波前在运行,其上方的蓝色条表示有一些像素着色器波前在运行。

从右边可以看出存在性能问题。它显示有很多顶点着色器工作,但并未产生很多像素着色器活动。这说明GPU的潜力利用不足。由此引入下一个优化技巧。

为什么会出现这样的情况?当我们的顶点着色器工作不产生像素时,通常就会出现这种情况。

利用深度预传递

在Pix和Razor上更进一步的分析表明,团队在Gbuffer传递期间获得了大量的过度绘制。在控制台上查看Alpha测试对象时,情况尤其糟糕。

在控制台上,如果发出像素丢弃指令或直接写入像素着色器中的深度,您便无法利用早期深度拒绝。即使工作最终被否决,这些像素着色器波前也会运行。

这里的解决方案是添加深度预传递。深度预传递需要使用很淡的着色器提前将场景渲染至深度,在获得更重的Gbuffer着色器密集型时可作为更智能深度拒绝的基础。

HDRP现在包括深度预传递,可用于所有Alpha测试的对象,但您可以根据需要打开完全深度预传递。用于控制HDRP的设置、使用的渲染通道以及启用的功能,都可通过以下位置提供:

如果在HDRP项目中搜索HD渲染器管线资源,您会找到很多复选框,用于控制HDRP的一切行为。

对于BOTD,使用深度预传递对GPU非常有益,但要记住,它也有开销,需向CPU添加更多要绘制的批处理。

减小阴影贴图渲染目标

如前所述,此场景中的阴影贴图根据单一阴影投射定向光源而生成。使用了四个阴影贴图拆分,它们最初以32位深度渲染至4K阴影贴图,因为这是HDRP项目的默认值。在渲染到阴影贴图时,阴影贴图的分辨率几乎始终是这里的限制因素;Pix和Razor中的分析佐证了这一点。

减小阴影贴图的分辨率是明显的解决方案,即使这样可能会影响质量。

阴影贴图分辨率已降至3K,适当地权衡了性能。演示团队还特别添加了一个选项,允许开发人员渲染至16位深度阴影贴图。如果想自己试一下,请下载项目资源。

最后,更改阴影贴图的分辨率后,还必须更改光源的某些设置。

减小阴影大小

此时,团队已经修改了阴影贴图,重新定位了阴影贴图摄像机,以最佳利用目前减小后的新分辨率。那么,他们下一步做什么?

在关卡加载时只绘制一次最近(缩小最多)的阴影贴图拆分

因为阴影贴图摄像机没有移动太多,所以他们可能成功。缩小最多的拆分通常用于渲染距离玩家摄像机最远的阴影。

他们没有看到质量有下降。这表明是一次非常巧妙的优化,因为既节省了GPU帧率时间,又减少了CPU上的批处理数量。

经过这一系列优化后,阴影贴图创建阶段从13ms降到8ms以下;光照传递从4.9ms降到4.4ms,大气传递从6.6ms降到4.2ms。

这是团队在阴影贴图优化结束时所处的位置。他们现在处于可在PS4 Pro上以30fps运行的范围内。

控制台GPU帧

采用异步计算

异步计算是一种方法,可通过实用的的时间段工作最大程度缩短GPU上利用不足。目前只有PS4上支持,但DX12 for Xbox One很快就会支持。通过Unity的命令缓冲区界面可以访问。它不是专用于SRP,而是主要用于SRP。代码示例请参阅BOTD资源或HDR PSOS。

仅深度阶段是您使用阴影贴图的阶段,传统上是不能完全利用GPU潜力的点。异步计算可让您移动计算着色器工作以与图形队列并行运行,从而利用图形队列利用不足的资源。

BOTD将异步计算用于属于延迟光照一部分的平铺光源列表收集,所有这些主要是使用控制台上的计算着色器在HDRP中完成。它还将其用于SSAO计算。这两种用法都会与阴影贴图渲染重叠,以填充波前利用中的间隙。

要全面了解采用异步计算的一些概念性代码,请观看35:30处Rob的(从35:30开始)。

更多资源

您喜欢本文吗?请告诉我们!

喜欢。继续发送 还行。有待改进
明白了

我们使用Cookie来确保在我们的网站上为您提供最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的Cookie政策页面

Search Unity

One scene, 10 graphics optimizations for console developers

Last updated: January 2019

What you will get from this page: Console graphics optimization tips, courtesy of Unity’s Rob Thompson, a console graphics developer (who presented them at Unite), and our demo team. These optimizations were made to an especially difficult scene to ensure smooth 30fps performance.

AAA quality with Unity’s Scriptable Render Pipelines

The Book of the Dead (in this article we refer to it as BOTD) was produced by Unity's demo team. It’s a real-time rendered animated short, essentially created to test-drive and show off the capabilities of the new (and still experimental) Scriptable Render Pipelines (SRP). The SRPs allow you to code the core of your render loop in C#, thereby giving you much more flexibility for customizing how your scene is drawn to make it specific to your content.

console scriptable rendering pipeline

There are two SRPs available: the High-Definition Render Pipeline (HDRP) which offers all of the features that you'd expect from a modern, AAA quality, high fidelity renderer, while the Lightweight Render Pipeline (LWRP) maintains responsive performance when scaling for mobile. BOTD uses the HDRP, and you can find advanced learning resources for the SRPs at the end of this article.

All of the assets and all of the script code for BOTD are available for you in the Asset Store.

A major optimization pass to get to 1080p at 30fps (or better) on consoles

The objective with the demo was to offer an interactive experience where people could wander around inside that environment and get their hands on it and experience it in a way that was familiar from a traditional AAA games perspective. Specifically, we wanted to show BOTD running on Xbox One and PS4. We had the performance requirements of 1080p at 30fps, or better.

As it’s a demo, and not a full game, the main focus for optimizations was on the rendering.

Generally, performance for BOTD is fairly consistent as it doesn’t have any scenes where, for example, there are thousands of particles suddenly spawning into life or loads of animated characters appearing.

To start with, Rob and the demo team found the view that was performing most poorly re: GPU load, here’s a screenshot of it:

console scriptable rendering pipeline

What's going on in the scene is pretty much constant; what varies is what’s within the view of the camera. If they could make savings on this scene, they’d ultimately increase performance throughout the entire demo.

The reason why this scene performed poorly is that it's an exterior view of the level looking into the center of it, so the vast majority of assets in the scene are in the camera frustum. This results in a lot of draw calls.

In brief, here is how this scene was rendered:

  • With the HDRP
  • Most of the artist authored textures are between 1K and 2K sized maps, with a handful at 4K.
  • It uses Baked Occlusion and Baked GI for the indirect lighting, and a Single Dynamic Shadow Casting Light source for direct lighting from the sun.
  • It issues around a few thousand draw calls at any point (draw calls and compute shader dispatches)
  • At start of optimization pass, view was GPU bound on PS4 Pro at around 45 milliseconds.
What the GPU Frame showed before optimization pass

At the start of the optimization pass, Rob and the team looked at the GPU frame step by step, and saw the following performance:

  • The Gbuffer was at 11ms (you can find a description of the Gbuffer layouts for HDRP in this post by Unity lead graphics developer Sebastien Lagarde)
  • Motion Vectors and Screen Space Ambient Occlusion was pretty fast, at .25 and .6ms respectively
  • Shadow maps from the directional shadow casting with dynamic lights came in at a whopping 13.9ms
  • Deferred lighting was at 4.9ms
  • Atmospheric scattering was at 6.6ms

This is what their GPU frame looked like, from start to finish:

console GPU frame

As you can see, they’re at 45 milliseconds and the two vertical orange lines show where they needed to be to hit 30fps and 60fps respectively.

10 ways they optimized rendering for Book of the Dead

Control the batch count

CPU performance was not a big issue for the team because BOTD is a demo, not a game, meaning it didn’t have the complexities of the script code that goes along with all of the systems that are necessary for a full game. Again, the main concern was optimizing the rendering work.

However keeping the batch count low is still a valuable tip for any platform. The team did this by using Occlusion Culling, and, primarily, GPU instancing. Avoid using Dynamic batching on consoles unless you are sure it’s providing a performance win.

In this case, GPU instancing was the most useful method. Without it there would have been 4500 batches for this scene. By using it, they reduced that number to 1832.

Another takeaway: The number of individual assets used to create this scene is actually very small. By using good quality assets, and placing them intelligently, the team created complex scenes that don't look repetitive, and kept the batch count low with GPU instancing.

Here's the scene with no instancing.

console scriptable rendering pipeline

And here it is with instances:

console scriptable rendering pipeline

Use the multiple cores available on consoles

Both Xbox One and PS4 are multi core devices, and in order to get the best CPU performance, we need to try and keep those cores busy all of the time.

If you follow Unity news, you’ll know that Unity is currently developing a high performance multithreaded system, that will make it possible for your game to fully utilise the multicore processors available today and in the future. (Very) briefly, this system comprises three sub-systems: the Entity Component System, the C# Job System and the Burst Compiler.

The new multithreaded system is still in early experimental mode. In Unity’s graphics system, you can try it out via the Graphics Jobs mode (again, in experimental mode). You can find the Graphics Jobs controls under Player Settings -> Other Settings.

console Graphics Jobs

Graphics jobs mode will get you a performance optimization in almost all circumstances on console unless you're only literally drawing a handful of batches. There are two types available:

  • Legacy Jobs, available on PS4, and DirectX 11 for Xbox One
    • Takes pressure off the main thread by distributing work to other cores. Be aware that in very large scenes it can a bottleneck in the “Render Thread”, a thread that Unity uses to talk to the platform holders graphics API.
  • Native Jobs, available on PS4, and DirectX 12 for Xbox One (coming soon)
    • Distributes the most work across available cores and is the best option for large scenes.
    • Should always be the best option from 2018.2 onwards (in versions 2018.1 or earlier, it can put more work on the main thread, causing performance regressions).

Use the platform holder’s performance analysis tools

Microsoft and Sony provide excellent tools for analyzing your project’s performance both on the CPU and on the GPU. These tools are available to you for free if you're working on console. Learn them early on and keep using them throughout your development cycle. Pix for Xbox One is Microsoft's offering and the Razor Suite is Sony's; as Rob says, they are your main tools in your arsenal when it comes to optimization on these platforms.

Profile your post-process effects

Rob says that he’s profiled Unity games on PS4 where, unbeknownst to the developers, up to ⅔ of the framerate was taken up by post-processing. This is often caused by downloading post-processing assets from the Asset Store that are authored primarily for PC. They appear to run fine on console but in fact the performance characteristics are really bad.

So, when applying such effects, profile how long they take on the GPU, and iterate until you find a happy balance between visual quality and performance. And then, leave them alone, because they comprise a static cost in every scene, meaning you know how much GPU bandwidth is left over to work with.

Avoid using tessellation (unless for a very good reason)

In general, it’s not advisable to use tessellation in console game graphics. In most cases, you’re better off using the equivalent artist authored assets than you are runtime tessellating them on the GPU.

But, in the case of BOTD, they had a good reason for using tessellation, and that was for rendering the bark of the trees.

console tesselation

Tessellated displacement allowed them to add the deep recesses and gnarly details into the geometry that will self-shadow correctly in a way that normal mapping won't.

As the trees are “hero” objects in much of BOTD, it was justified. This was done by having the same mesh used on the trees at LOD 0 and LOD 1. The difference between them is simply that the tessellated displacement was scaled back so that it's no longer in effect by the time they reached LOD one.

Aim for healthy wavefront occupancy at all times on the GPU

Ok, that’s a mouthful, but wave front occupancy is very much worth understanding.

You can think of a wave front as a packet of GPU work. When you submit a draw call to the GPU, or a compute shader dispatch, that work is then split into many wave fronts and those wave fronts are distributed throughout all of the SIMDs within all of the compute units that are available on the GPU.

console wave front occupancy

Each SIMD has a maximum number of wave fronts that can be running at any one time and therefore, we have a maximum total number of wave fronts that can be running in parallel on the GPU at any one point. How many of those wave fronts we are using is referred to as wave front occupancy, and it’s a very useful metric to use for understanding how well you are using the GPU's potential for parallelism.

Pix and Razor can show wave front occupancy in great details. The graphs above are from Pix for Xbox One. On the left we have an example of good wave front occupancy. Along the bottom on the green strip we can see some vertex shader wave fronts running and above that in blue we can see some pixel shader wave fronts running.

On the right though we can see there’s a performance issue. It’s showing a lot of vertex shader work that's not resulting in much pixel shader activity. This is an under utilization of the GPU's potential. This brings us to the next optimization tip.

How does this come about? This scenario is typical when we're doing vertex shader work that doesn't result in pixels.

Utilize Depth Prepass

Some more analysis on Pix and Razor showed that the team were getting a lot of overdraw during the Gbuffer pass. This is particularly bad on console when looking at alpha-tested objects.

On console, if you issue pixel discard instructions or write directly to depth in your pixel shader, you can’t take advantage of early depth rejection. Those pixel shader wave fronts get run anyway even though the work is going to be thrown out at the end.

The solution here was to add a Depth Prepass. A Depth Prepass involves rendering the scene in advance to depth only, using very light shaders, that then can be the basis of more intelligent depth rejection where you’ve got your heavier Gbuffer shaders bound.

The HDRP now includes a Depth Prepass for all alpha tested objects, but you can also switch on a full Depth Prepass if you want. The settings for controlling HDRP, what render passes are used, and features enabled, are all made available via the .

If you search in a HDRP project for the HD Render PipelineAsset you'll find a great big swath of checkboxes that control everything that HDRP is doing.

For BOTD, using Depth Prepass was a great GPU win but keep in mind that it does have the overhead of adding more batches to be drawn on to the CPU.

Reduce the size of your shadow mapping render targets

As mentioned earlier the shadow maps in this scene are generated against a single shadow casting directional light. Four Shadow map splits were used and initially they were rendering to a 4K Shadow map at 32-bit depth, as this is the default for HDRP projects. When rendering to Shadow maps the resolution of the Shadow map is almost always the limiting factor here; this was backed up by analysis in Pix and Razor.

Reducing the resolution of the Shadow map was the obvious solution, even though it could impact on quality.

The shadow map resolution was dropped to 3k, which provided a perfectly acceptable trade-off against performance. The demo team also added an option specifically to allow developers to render to 16-bit depth Shadow maps. If you want to give that a go for yourself download the project assets.

Finally, by changing the resolution of their Shadow map, they also had to change some settings on the light.

Reduce size of shadow

At this point, the team had made their shadow map revisions and repositioned their shadow mapping camera to try and get the best utilization out of the new reduced resolution they now have. So, what did they do next?

Only draw the last (most zoomed-out) Shadow map split once on level load

As the shadow mapping camera doesn’t move much, they could get away with this. That most zoomed out split is typically used for rendering the shadows that are furthest from the Player camera.

They did not see a drop in quality. It turned out to be a very clever optimization because it saved them both GPU framerate time, and reduced batch numbers on the CPU.

After this series of optimizations, their shadow map creation phase went from 13ms to just under 8ms; lighting pass went from 4.9ms to 4.4ms, and atmospherics pass went from 6.6ms to 4.2ms.

This is where the team was at the end of the shadow mapping optimization. They’re now within the boundary where they could run at 30fps on PS4 Pro.

console GPU frame

Utilize Async Compute

Async Compute is a method available for minimizing periods of underutilization on the GPU with useful compute shader work. It’s currently only supported on PS4, but coming to DX12 for Xbox One very soon. It's accessible through Unity's Command Buffer interface. It's not just exclusively for the SRP but is primarily aimed at it. Code examples are available in the BOTD assets, or look at the HDR PSOS.

The depth only phase, which is what you’re doing with shadow mapping, is traditionally a point where you’re not making full use of the GPU's potential. Async Compute allows you to move your compute shader work to run in parallel with your graphics queue, thereby making use of resources that the graphics queue is underutilizing.

BOTD uses Async Compute for it's tiled light list gather which is part of the deferred lighting, all of which is mostly done with compute shaders on console in HDRP. It also uses it for its SSAO calculations. Both of these overlap with the shadow map rendering to fill in the gaps in the wave front utilization.

For a run-through of some conceptual code where Async Compute is employed, tune into Rob’s Unite session at 35:30.

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.