Unity durchsuchen

Round-Tripping leicht gemacht – sparen Sie Zeit!

Last updated: December 2018

What you will get from this page: pointers on efficient round-tripping of your geometry between Autodesk applications and Unity. Topics covered include Scripted Importers; Timeline integration and animations; the Exporter for lights and cameras, and Node name remapping.

Based on an exclusive partnership with Autodesk, Unity’s been providing big workflow improvements for artists via the FBX Importer and Exporter. We picked out some of the latest enhancements that allow users to round-trip geometry using artist-friendly interfaces, and merge changes back with non-destructive workflows.

Importer & Exporter

The Unity FBX Importer, which is built into Unity, provides support for:

  • Hierarchien
  • Materialien
  • Texturen
  • Stingray-PBS-Shader
  • Kameras
  • Animation und animierte Custom-Properties (sofern in der FBX-Datei vorhanden)

Das FBX-Exporter-Paket ist im Asset Store verfügbar und ermöglicht das problemlose Senden von Geometrie oder Animationen aus Unity 2017.3 oder höher zu jeder Anwendung, die FBX unterstützt, und wieder zurück – mit minimalem Aufwand.

FBX-Exporter-Paket

The Exporter provides support for:

  • GameObject-Hierarchien
  • Materialien
  • Texturen
  • Kameras
  • Beleuchtung
  • Skinned Meshes
  • Animation

Der Exporter ermöglicht Autodesk-Tools, Ihr Unity-Projekt und den Speicherort Ihres Assets-Ordners zu erkennen. Dies erleichtert Ihnen das Round-Tripping, wodurch Sie viel Zeit sparen können. Sie können alle Ihre Einstellungen und Greyboxing durchführen, dann schnell zu DCC-Tools wie Maya oder 3ds Max exportieren, Ihre Grafiker die Inhalte finalisieren lassen und die Änderungen danach wieder sicher in die Assets einfügen, um mit der Arbeit in Unity fortzufahren.

Scripted Importers

Das ursprüngliche FBX-SDK war eine unveränderliche C++-Blackbox. Mit Scripted Importers können Sie angepasste Asset-Importer für Dateiformate, die nicht nativ importiert werden, in C# schreiben und erhalten somit eine wirkungsvolle Methode, Inhalte für den Import in Unity zu verändern.

Scripted Importers

Beispiel aus den Dokumentationen: das Inspector-Fenster eines Assets, das vom Scripted Importer importiert wird

Presets

Über den Inspector ermöglicht Ihnen die "Presets"-Funktion, einen Satz von Workflows oder Importen als Preset zu definieren, um Inhalte in die Engine zu laden. Sie können die Import-Einstellungen durch Klicken der Schaltfläche anpassen, ein Preset erstellen, dieses per Klick als Standard-Preset festlegen und jedes Modell dieses Dateityps wird geladen. Sie können beispielsweise Light-Presets für die Beleuchtung festlegen oder das Laden in Animationen optimieren. Sie können Presets auch einfach in Szenen ziehen, um Inhalte zu erstellen.

Crouch Importer

Um die Standard-Einstellungen im Inspector-Fenster festzulegen, wählen Sie ein Preset im Projekt-Fenster aus und klicken im Inspector-Fenster auf "Set as Preset".

Sie können die Standard-Einstellungen auch mit dem Preset Manager festlegen.

Preset Manager

In diesem Beispiel wird "CrouchImporter" als Standard für importiere Modelle festgelegt

Der Recorder

Der Recorder, der im Asset Store verfügbar ist, bietet Ihnen ein Interface in Unity, um Video- und Animationsdaten während des Spiels zu erfassen und in verschiedenen Medienformaten zu speichern.

Die neueste Version des Recorders beinhaltet ein Recorder-Fenster und Unterstützung für:

  • Timeline-triggerbare Aufnahmesessions
  • Bildsequenzen: JPG ,PNG, GIF, OpenEXR
  • Video-Dateien: WebM, H.264 (nur Windows)
  • Animationsclips
  • 360-Grad-Bilder/Videoaufnahmen (aus 2018.1 oder später)

Es gibt auch eine API für den Recorder, den GameObjectRecorder, mit der Sie die Aufnahme einer bestimmten Komponente eines Root-Objekts veranlassen können.

Recorder

Timeline-Integration und Animationen

Der Exporter und leistungsstarke Tools wie Timeline, Cinemachine, ProBuilder und der zuvor erwähnte Recorder verändern den Workflow zur Erstellung von Cutscenes und Trailern völlig.

Sie können beispielsweise in Timeline Animationen blockieren, mit dem Recorder Animationen per Bake-Prozess zu einem Animationsclip zusammenfassen und dann mit dem Exporter die Baked-Animationen zu Ihren DCC-Tools exportieren. Oder Sie können Ihre Animationen in Timeline blockieren und die gesamte Timeline zu FBX exportieren. Dadurch wird alles, was mit dieser Timeline zusammenhängt, in eine einzelne FBX-Datei gespeichert, die dann in die DCC-Tools importiert werden kann. Wenn Sie alles abgestimmt und optimiert haben, können Sie Ihre Arbeit zu Unity zurückbringen und dort abschließen.

Exporter für Beleuchtung und Kameras

Mit dem Exporter können Sie Ihre Lichtarten wie gewünscht darstellen, einschließlich animierter Eigenschaften wie Intensität, Spot-Winkel und Farbe. Der integrierte Importer lädt alle diese Lichteigenschaften nativ und der Exporter ermöglicht Ihnen, dieses Verhalten zu erweitern, sodass Sie die Assets zu den DCC-Tools zurückführen können.

Unterstützte Kamera-Parameter sind unter anderem: Sichtfeld, Projektionsart, Aspektverhältnis, Brennweite vordere und hintere Schnittebene.

Node-Name-Remapping

Beim Roundtripping werden Assets sehr oft bearbeitet und neu benannt, was ihre Beschaffenheit verändern kann. Unity stellt sicher, dass Änderungen des FBX durch eine externe Anwendung dem Original ohne Informationsverlust zugeordnet werden können.

Auch zu diesem Thema empfehlen wir wieder Mikes Vortrag. Etwa bei Minute 15:10 zeigt er eine Präsentation der meisten Workflows, die hier erläutert werden, zum Beispiel die Erstellung eines geriggten Charakters in Maya, den Export zu Unity, das Einrichten einiger Animationen und schließlich den erneuten Export zu Maya für die Feinabstimmung.

Round-Tripping in Aktion: Hinter den Kulissen von Adam

Round-tripping

Der erste Adam-Film gab sein Debüt bei der GDC 2016. Etwas mehr als ein Jahr später begann Oats Studio, zusammen mit den Brüdern Neil und Mike Blomkamp, mit der Arbeit an den Fortsetzungen "Adam: The Mirror" und "Adam: Episode 3". Sie wussten, dass große technische Herausforderungen vor ihnen lagen, wenn sie ihren allerersten "In-Engine"-CG-Film realisieren wollten. Sie nutzten einige der Methoden, die hier und in Mikes Vortrag beschrieben werden, wie zum Beispiel Photogrammetrie. Finden Sie mit diesen Adam-Lesetipps heraus, wie sie das gemacht haben:

The Evolution of Alembic Support in Unity

Facial Mocap and Cloth Simulation in Adam

Keeping the Adam Film on Track with Timeline

Weitere Ressourcen

Wir wollen es wissen! Haben Ihnen diese Inhalte gefallen?

Ja, weiter so. Na ja. Könnte besser sein.
Alles klar

Wir verwenden Cookies, damit wir Ihnen die beste Nutzererfahrung auf unserer Website bieten können. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.

Search Unity

Learn how to round trip easily and save loads of time

Last updated: December 2018

What you will get from this page: pointers on efficient round-tripping of your geometry between Autodesk applications and Unity. Topics covered include Scripted Importers; Timeline integration and animations; the Exporter for lights and cameras, and Node name remapping.

Based on an exclusive partnership with Autodesk, Unity’s been providing big workflow improvements for artists via the FBX Importer and Exporter. We picked out some of the latest enhancements that allow users to round-trip geometry using artist-friendly interfaces, and merge changes back with non-destructive workflows.

The Importer & Exporter

The Unity FBX Importer, which is built into Unity, provides support for:

  • Hierarchies
  • Materials
  • Textures
  • Stingray PBS shaders
  • Cameras
  • Animation and animated custom properties (when present in the FBX file)

Available on the Asset Store, the FBX Exporter package makes it smooth and easy to send geometry and animation from Unity 2017.3 or later, to any application that supports FBX, and back again with minimal effort.

FBX Exporter package

The Exporter provides support for:

  • GameObject hierarchies
  • Materials
  • Textures
  • Cameras
  • Lights
  • Skinned Meshes
  • Animation

The Exporter enables Autodesk tools to be aware of your Unity project and the location of your Assets folder. By doing this, it enables you to round trip very easily and save loads of time. You can do all your setup and grey-boxing, then very quickly export things to digital content creation tools (DCC), such as Maya or 3ds Max, have the artists finalize the content, and safely merge your changes back into those Assets to continue your work in Unity.

Scripted importers

The original FBX SDK was in an unmodifiable C++ black box. With scripted importers you can write custom asset importers in C#, for file formats not natively imported, which gives you a powerful means of manipulating content coming into Unity.

Scripted importers

Example from the docs: the Inspector window of an Asset imported by the Scripted Importer

Presets

Via the Inspector, the Presets feature allows you to define a set of workflows or imports for presets, for loading content into the engine. You can adjust import settings by clicking the button, creating a preset and then clicking this as a default preset, and every model of that file type gets loaded. For example, you can set up light presets to apply to lights, or tweak how you want to load in animations. You can also drag presets into scenes to create content.

Crouch Importer

To specify default settings with the Inspector window, select a Preset in the Project window, and in the Inspector window, click Set as Preset.

You can also specify default settings with the Preset Manager.

Preset Manager

In this example, CrouchImporter is being selected as the default for imported models

The Recorder

The Recorder, which is available on the Asset Store, gives you an interface in Unity to capture video and animation data during gameplay and then records it to various media formats.

The latest version of the Recorder includes a dedicated recorder window and support for:

  • Timeline-triggerable recording sessions
  • Image sequences: JPG, PNG, GIF, OpenEXR
  • Video files: WebM, H.264 (Windows only)
  • Animation clips
  • 360 degree images/video capture (from 2018.1 and later)

There’s also an API for the Recorder, the GameObjectRecorder, which you can tell to record a given component from a root object.

Recorder

Timeline integration and animations

The Exporter and powerful tools such as Timeline, Cinemachine, ProBuilder and the aforementioned Recorder, completely change the workflow of creating cutscenes and trailers.

For example, you can block out animations in Timeline, use the Recorder to bake the animations down into an animation clip, and then use the Exporter to export the baked animations out to your DCC tools. Or, alternately, block out your animations in Timeline and export the entire timeline to FBX. This will include everything bound to that timeline in a single FBX, that can then be imported into the DCC tools. Once everything is fine-tuned, you then bring it all back into Unity for final setup.

Exporter for lights and cameras

The Exporter enables you to bring across your light types, including animated properties such as intensity, spot angle and color. The built-in Importer will load all of these light properties natively, and the Exporter allows you to extend this behaviour, so you can roundtrip the assets back to the DCC tools

Supported camera parameters include: field of view, projecting type, aspect ratio, focal length near and far planes.

Node name remapping

When roundtripping, very often assets will be edited and renamed, potentially changing their very nature. Now Unity will make sure that modifications made to the FBX by an external application can be remapped to the original with no loss of information.

Again, we encourage you to check out Mike’s talk. Around the 15:10 mark, he plays a demo that takes you through many of the workflows highlighted here, from creating a rigged character in Maya, exporting it out to Unity, setting up some animation, and finally, bringing it back into Maya for fine-tuning.

Round-tripping in action: behind the scenes of Adam

Round-tripping

The first Adam film debuted at GDC 2016. A little over a year later, Oats Studio, headed up by brothers Neil and Mike Blomkamp, started working on the second and third installments, Adam: The Mirror and Adam: Episode 3, respectively. They knew they had considerable technical challenges ahead of them if they were to realize their first-ever CG film “in engine.” They used some of the methods covered here and in Mike’s talk, such as photogrammetry. Find out how they did it with this Adam reading list:

The evolution of Alembic support in Unity

Facial mocap and cloth simulation in Adam

Keeping the Adam films on track with Timeline

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.