搜索Unity

光源、摄像机、操作!利用Cinemachine设置摄像机

Last updated: November 2018

Cinemachine从Unity 2017周期开始已经成为Unity中的实际摄像机系统。在表面之下,它有一个具有许多选项和可能性的精制系统。请阅读Unity技术讲师Ciro Continisio提供的关于Cinemachine的更多高级用例和技巧。

多个Cinemachine Brain

在分屏多玩家场景中,或者当您希望制作画中画效果(例如监控摄像机)时,您有时会需要多个摄像机。即使是这样,看起来似乎也是Cinemachine在控制所有摄像机。通过Brain组件,您可以在场景中添加多个Brain,每一个负责操作一组虚拟摄像机。

在此解决方案中,您只需使用一个指向角色面部的辅助摄像机并渲染到RenderTexture,就可以在UI中看到有视频馈送。要让视频馈送更加丰满,您可以使用Cinemachine将角色面部保持在帧中。

cinemachine-RenderTexture-MultipleBrains

此处的设置非常简单:创建两个Unity摄像机,并各附加一个Cinemachine Brain。随后即可根据需要创建许多虚拟摄像机。

Multiple-Cinemachine-Brains

为了确保一个Brain只能看到其中部分虚拟摄像机,您只需执行三个操作:

  1. 确保让想要影响特定摄像机的虚拟摄像机位于单独图层中(例如,“角色”)。
  2. 设置该摄像机的剔除遮罩以渲染该图层。
  3. 设置其他摄像机的剔除遮罩以排除该图层。

请注意,即使该过程使用摄像机的剔除遮罩,也不意味着您需要更改渲染。即便可以操作31个图层,您也只需要创建一个要用于放置虚拟摄像机的特定图层。

以下视频概括了完整过程:

不同的“World Up”轴

Cinemachine在运作时假设环境中存在一个“World Up”轴,默认为沿Y轴向上。通过将此轴作为基准,它知道不执行哪个摄像机移动,例如垂直向上或垂直向下看目标(真正的摄像机不会执行这样的操作!)

对于2D摄像机(标记为正交模式),Cinemachine的行为有所不同,并且会约束摄像机在地面的移动。所谓地面,就是指剩下两个轴(本例中为X轴和Z轴)组成的平面。

但有时必须强制改变“World Up”轴和相应的平面。例如,您可能正在制作使用2D物理的游戏,所以您必须在XY平面上创作游戏玩法。但是,您可能要让摄像机从一定的角度来观看此平面,因此,摄像机平面有一定的倾斜,如下图所示:

world-up-override-cinemachine

为此,您只需在Cinemachine Brain中为“World Up Override”属性分配一个变换。您可以创建一个空GameObject,将其用作操控器,您还可以通过旋转此对象进行试验,找到适合您的Cinemachine的“World Up”轴的方向。

明智使用后处理

Cinemachine与后期处理栈v1和v2均可结合使用,但后者配合最佳,因为它有基于体积的系统,所以与Cinemachine相配合可以玩一些巧妙的花样。

将这两者结合使用时,建议把效果分成两个类别:

  1. 对每一个镜头都会产生影响的一般效果。
  2. 只会影响某个特定镜头的效果(或者在Cinemachine术语中,称为虚拟摄像机)。

一般来说,环境光遮罩、颜色分级、颗粒和其他风格效果通常归入第一组,因为您要确保整个游戏或影片的风格一致。景深、镜头失真、色差和模拟摄像机物理属性的其他效果最好作为虚拟摄像机属性。不过,这并不是硬性规定!

例如,在下面的示例中,您会发现使用了一个很小的局部Post-Processing Volume来产生通过旧式安全摄像机进行监控的画面。

post-processing-intro

为了实现目的,您只需要对标记为“Is Global”的虚拟摄像机使用Post Process Volume,并添加一个碰撞体。通常,一个很小的球星碰撞体(可能半径只有0.05)就可以确保摄像机在游戏中不会误入此体积。

下面是对同一个对象应用虚拟摄像机、Post Process Volume和碰撞体:

smart-use-post-processing

接下来,您可以添加自己想要的所有效果,甚至还可以选中相应的复选框,重写主配置文件中的某些属性。请注意,如果您不选中复选框,则会使用该属性的基准值(通常来自全局体积)。如果选中,则仅为此体积改写该值。

创建推拉变焦效果

最后还有一个电影小技巧。您见过所谓的“推拉变焦”效果吗?它最初由Alfred Hitchcock于1958年在电影《迷魂记》(Vertigo)中引入,从那以后,大量电影中都使用过这种效果。

在屏幕上时,角色与背景之间的空间似乎在不断扩大或缩小。这是一个非常酷的技巧,而且使用Cinemachine很容易重新创建。

请查看下面的示例,该场景将在游戏过程中触发。

Cinemachine-Dolly-Zoom

要制作这种效果,您可以从两个具有相同设置的虚拟摄像机开始。然后,您需要将其中一个拉回并减小其视野值。当您通过Timeline或使用Priority在这两个摄像机视图之间进行混合时,就可以产生“推拉变焦”效果。

请注意,此效果仅对透视摄像机有效,而不能用于正交摄像机!

更多资源

您喜欢本文吗?请告诉我们!

喜欢。继续发送 还行。有待改进

Search Unity

Lights, camera, action! Set up your cameras with Cinemachine

Last updated: November 2018

Cinemachine has become the de-facto camera system in Unity since the Unity 2017 cycle. Underneath the surface, there is a refined system with loads of options and possibilities. Read on for more advanced use cases and tips for Cinemachine powered by Ciro Continisio, a Technical Evangelist at Unity.

Multiple Cinemachine Brains

Sometimes you need more than one camera in the scene for a split-screen multiplayer, or maybe you want to create a picture-in-picture effect (e.g. a surveillance camera). Even though it might seem that Cinemachine takes control of all of your Cameras, through the Brain component, there is a way to have multiple Brains in the scene, each one looking at a set of Virtual Cameras.

In this situation, you can see a UI that has a video feed in it just by using a secondary Camera pointed at the characters faces and rendering to a RenderTexture. To give a bit more flavor to this video feed, you can use Cinemachine to keep the characters’ faces in the frame.

cinemachine-RenderTexture-MultipleBrains

The setup here is really simple: you create two Unity Cameras and attach a Cinemachine Brain to each. You can then create as many Virtual Cameras as you need.

Multiple-Cinemachine-Brains

To make sure a Brain only sees some of these VCams, you just need to do three things:

  1. Make sure the VCams you want to affect a specific Camera are on a unique layer (for instance, "Characters").
  2. Set that Camera’s Culling Mask to render that layer.
  3. Set the other Camera’s Culling Mask to exclude that layer.

Keep in mind that even if the process is using the Culling Mask of the Camera, this doesn’t mean you need to change your rendering. With 31 Layers to play with, you can just create one specifically to put VCams on.

The full process is also recapped in the video below:

A different "World Up" axis

Cinemachine operates on the assumption that there is a "World Up" axis, which by default is the Y up. By using that as a reference, it knows which camera movement not to perform, for instance looking straight up or straight down at a target (real cameras don’t do that!).

In the case of 2D Cameras (Cameras marked as Orthographic), Cinemachine behaves differently and constraints the camera movements on the ground plane, which is going to be the plane made up of the two remaining axes, in this case, X and Z.

However, sometimes it’s necessary to force this “World Up” axis and the corresponding plane to something else. For instance, maybe you’re working on a game that uses 2D physics so you’re forced to use the XY plane for your gameplay. But, maybe you want your camera to look at this plane from an angle, therefore your camera plane is a bit tilted, like in the image below:

world-up-override-cinemachine

To do so, you just need to assign a transform to the "World Up Override" property on the Cinemachine Brain. You can create an empty GameObject and use it as a manipulator, and you can experiment by rotating this object to find the appropriate “World Up” for your Cinemachine setup.

Smart usage of Post-Processing

Cinemachine works with both Post-Processing stack v1 and the v2, but the latter is the best fit because it allows some nice tricks when used together with Cinemachine due to its volume-based system.

When you use them together, it’s recommended that you split up your effects into two categories:

  1. General effects that should affect every shot.
  2. Effects that are unique to one shot (or, in Cinemachine lingo, VirtualCamera).

In general, effects like AmbientOcclusion, Colour Grading, Grain, and other style effects are usually part of the first group, since you want to keep your style consistent through your game or film. Effects like Depth of Field, Lens Distortion, Chromatic Aberration and other effects simulating the physical properties of the camera are good to live on the Virtual Cameras. These are not hard rules though!

For instance, in the example below, you’ll notice the use of a very local Post-Processing volume on to give the impression of looking through the lens of an old security camera:

post-processing-intro

To achieve that, you just need a Post Process Volume on the Virtual Camera itself which is not marked as "Is Global", and add a collider. Usually, a very small Sphere Collider will do (maybe 0.05 in radius) so make sure that the Camera doesn’t enter this volume by mistake during gameplay.

So, here we go. Virtual Camera, Post Process Volume and Collider on the same object:

smart-use-post-processing

Then, you can add all the effects you want, and even override some on the main profile by ticking the appropriate checkboxes. Remember, when you don’t tick a checkbox you’re staying on the base value for that property, usually coming from the global volume. If you do check it, you’re overriding it only for this volume.

Creating a Dolly Zoom effect

Finally, a little cinematography trick. Ever seen the so-called “Dolly Zoom” effect? It was pioneered in the movie “Vertigo” by Alfred Hitchcock in 1958, and since then used in a bunch of movies.

On screen, it looks as if the space between the character and the background is expanding or contracting. It’s a pretty cool technique, and it’s very easy to recreate with Cinemachine.

Have a look at the example below, which is set to trigger in the middle of gameplay:

Cinemachine-Dolly-Zoom

To create that effect, you can start with two Virtual Cameras with the same settings. Then you need to pull one of them back and reduce its Field of View value. When you blend between the two, via Timeline or using the Priority, you get a Dolly Zoom effect.

Remember that this effect only works with Perspective Cameras only, not with the Orthographic ones!

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.