Unity durchsuchen

Einige der besten Optimierungstipps für Unity UI

Last updated: January 2019

What you will get from this page: Tips on how to create optimized UI elements for your content, including dividing up your canvases, avoiding the use of Camera.main and Layout Groups, smart pooling of UI objects and more.

You’ll find many more in this great session by Unity engineer Ian Dundore, "Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance" (section on Unity UI starts at 23:38).

Teilen Sie Ihre Canvases auf

Problem: Wenn sich ein Element oder mehrere Elemente auf der UI-Canvas ändern, treten Konflikte auf.

Die Canvas ("Leinwand") is the basic component of Unity UI. It generates meshes that represent the UI elements placed on it, regenerates the meshes when UI elements change, and issues draw calls to the GPU so that the UI is actually displayed.

Die Erzeugung dieser Meshes kann aufwändig sein. UI-Elemente müssen in Batches gesammelt werden, damit zum Aufrufen so wenig Drawcalls wie möglich notwendig werden. Da die Batcherzeugung aufwändig ist, wollen wir sie nur regenerieren, wenn es wirklich nötig ist. Das Problem ist: Wenn sich ein oder mehrere Elemente auf der Canvas ändern, muss die gesamte Canvas neu analysiert werden um festzustellen, wie ihre Elemente optimal aufgerufen werden können.

Viele Benutzer erstellen die UI ihres gesamten Spiels auf nur einer Canvas mit tausenden Elementen. Wenn sie jetzt ein Element ändern, erleben sie eine CPU-Spitzenauslastung von mehreren Millisekunden (weitere Informationen dazu hören Sie in Ians Vortrag ab Minute 24:55).

Lösung: Teilen Sie Ihre Canvases auf.

Jede Canvas ist eine Insel, die ihre Elemente von Elementen auf anderen Canvases isoliert. Das Aufteilen von Canvases ist also das hauptsächliche Tool für die Lösung von Batching-Problemen mit Unity-UI.

Sie können Canvases auch verschachteln, was Designern ermöglicht, große, hierarchische UIs zu erstellen, ohne darüber nachzudenken, wo verschiedene Objekte onscreen über verschiedene Canvases erscheinen. Child-Canvases isolieren Inhalte ebenfalls, sowohl von Parent- als auch von Sibling-Canvases. Sie behalten ihre eigene Geometrie bei und führen ihr eigenes Batching durch.

Wenn Sie Canvases in Child-Canvases unterteilen, versuchen Sie sie nach dem Zeitpunkt ihrer Aktualisierung zu gruppieren. Separieren Sie beispielsweise dynamische Elementen von statischen Elementen (etwa ab Minute 29:36 gibt Ian ein schönes Beispiel zur geschickten Unterteilung von Canvases).

Optimale Verwendung des Graphic Raycaster

Problem: Optimale Verwendung des Graphic Raycasters:

Der Graphic Raycaster ist eine Komponente, die Ihre Eingaben in UI-Events übersetzt. Screen-/Touch-Eingaben werden in Events übersetzt und dann an geeignete UI-Elemente gesendet. Sie brauchen auf jeder Canvas, die Eingaben erfordert, einen Graphic Raycaster, auch für Sub-Canvases.

Trotz seines Namens ist der Graphic Raycaster eigentlich kein Raycaster: standardmäßig testet er lediglich die UI-Grafik. Er führt an einem Set von UI-Elementen, die auf einer Canvas auf Eingaben warten, Überschneidungsprüfungen durch. Er überprüft, dass der Punkt, an dem das Input-Event gegen den RectTransform jedes UI-Elements auf der Canvas des GraphicRaycasters auftritt, als interaktiv markiert ist.

Die Herausforderung dabei ist, dass nicht alle UI-Elemente daran interessiert sind, Updates zu erhalten.

Lösung: Schalten Sie den Raycast-Target für statische und nicht-interaktive Elemente aus.

Ein Beispiel ist Text auf einer Schaltfläche. Das Ausschalten des Raycast-Targets reduziert sofort die Anzahl der Überschneidungsprüfungen, die der Graphic Raycaster jedes Frame durchführen muss.

Unity UI: Tipps zur Optimierung

Problem: In manchen Belangen verhält sich der Graphic Raycaster nicht wie ein Raycaster.

Wenn Sie den Render-Modus auf Ihrer Canvas auf Worldspace-Kamera oder Screen-Space-Kamera setzen, können Sie auch eine Blocking Mask einstellen. Die Blocking Mask bestimmt, ob der Raycaster Strahlen über 2D- oder 3D-Physik ausgibt, um festzustellen, ob ein Physikobjekt blockierend wirkt und verhindert, dass der Benutzer mit der UI interagieren kann.

Lösung: Das Raycasting über 2D- und 3D-Physik kann aufwändig sein, nutzen Sie diese Funktion nicht zu häufig.

Reduzieren Sie außerdem die Anzahl der Graphic Raycaster, indem Sie sie nicht-interaktiven UI-Canvases nicht hinzufügen, da in diesem Fall keine Notwendigkeit für die Überprüfung von Interaktions-Events besteht.

Vermeiden Sie die Verwendung von Camera.main

Problem: World-Space-Canvases müssen wissen, von welcher Kamera ihre Interaktions-Events kommen sollen.

Wenn Sie eine Canvas einrichten, um entweder im World Space oder im Screen Space einer Kamera zu rendern, ist es möglich, die Kamera anzugeben, die für die Erzeugung von Interaktions-Events für den Graphic Raycaster der UI verwendet wird. Diese Einstellung ist für "Screen Space - Camera"-Canvases erforderlich und heißt "Render Camera".

Unity UI optimization tips screen space camera

Für "World Space"-Canvases ist diese Einstellung allerdings optional und heißt "Event Camera".

Unity UI optimization tips world space

Wenn Sie auf einer World-Space-Canvas das Feld "Event Camera" leer lassen, bedeutet das nicht, dass Ihre Canvas keine Events empfängt, sondern dass sie dazu die Hauptkamera (Main Camera) verwendet. Um festzustellen, welche Kamera die Hauptkamera ist, greift sie auf die Camera.main-Eigenschaft zu.

Unity UI optimization tips camera main property

Abhängig vom Codepfad, den Unity einschlägt, greift sie 7 bis 10 Mal pro Frame auf Camera.main zu, jeweils pro Graphic Raycaster und pro World-Space-Canvas. Und Camera.main ruft bei jedem Zugriff Object.FindObjectWithTag auf! Das ist zur Laufzeit ganz offensichtlich nicht günstig.

Lösung: Vermeiden Sie die Verwendung von Camera.main.

Nehmen Sie Referenzen zu Kameras in den Cache auf und erstellen Sie ein System zur Feststellung der Hauptkamera. Wenn Sie World-Space-Canvases verwenden, weisen Sie immer eine Event Camera zu. Lassen Sie diese Einstellung nicht leer! Wenn die Event Camera geändert werden muss, schreiben Sie Code, der die Event-Camera-Eigenschaft aktualisiert.

Vermeiden Sie nach Möglichkeit Layout-Gruppen

Problem: Jedes UI-Element, dessen Layout "dirty" wird, führt mindestens einen GetComponents-Aufruf durch.

Wenn sich eins oder mehrere Child-Elemente eines Layout-Systems ändern, wird es "unsauber" ("dirty"). Die geänderten Child-Elemente machen das Layout-System, dem sie gehören, quasi ungültig.

Etwas zu Layout-Systemen: Ein Layout-System ist ein Satz zusammenhängender Layout-Gruppen, die direkt über einem Layout-Element liegen. Ein Layout-Element ist nicht nur die Layout-Element-Komponente: UI-Images, Texte und Scroll Rects sind ebenfalls Layout-Elemente. Und Scroll Rects sind auch Layout-Gruppen.

Aber zurück zum Problem: Jedes UI-Element, das sein Layout als "dirty" kennzeichnet, führt mindestens einen GetComponents-Aufruf durch. Dieser Aufruf sucht nach einer gültigen Layout-Gruppe auf dem Parent des Layout-Elements. Wird eine Gruppe gefunden, steigt er die Transform-Hierarchie weiter hinauf, bis keine weiteren Layout-Gruppen gefunden werden können oder die Hierarchie-Root erreicht ist – je nachdem, was zuerst passiert. Folglich fügt jede Layout-Guppe einen GetComponents-Aufruf zu jedem Dirtying-Prozess eines Child-Layout-Elements hinzu, was verschachtelte Layout-Gruppen äußerst nachteilig für die Performance macht.

Lösung: Vermeiden Sie nach Möglichkeit Layout-Gruppen.

Nutzen Sie Anchors für proportionale Layouts. Erwägen Sie, für UIs mit einer dynamischen Anzahl von Elementen eigenen Code zu schreiben, der Layouts berechnet und nutzen Sie diesen lediglich bei Bedarf statt bei jeder einzelnen Änderung.

Legen Sie UI-Objekte geschickt im Pool ab

Problem: UI-Objekte werden "falsch herum" im Pool abgelegt.

Oft werden UI-Objekte im Pool abgelegt, indem ein Re-Parenting durchgeführt und das Objekt danach deaktiviert wird, aber das führt zu unnötigen Dirty-Prozessen.

Lösung: Deaktivieren Sie zuerst das Objekt und führen Sie dann ein Re-Parenting in den Pool durch.

Die alte Hierarchie wird auf diese Weise zwar einmal "unsauber" ("dirty"), aber durch das Reparenting vermeiden Sie, sie ein zweites Mal "dirty" zu machen. Die neue Hierarchie bleibt außerdem völlig sauber. Wenn Sie ein Objekt aus dem Pool entfernen, führen Sie zunächst ein Reparenting durch, aktualisieren Sie dann Ihre Daten und aktivieren sie es danach.

Wie man eine Canvas verbirgt

Problem: Eine Canvas verbergen

Manchmal sollen UI-Elemente und Canvases verborgen werden. Wie kann man das am effizientesten tun?

Lösung: Deaktivieren Sie die Canvas-Komponente

Die Deaktivierung der Canvas-Komponente bewirkt, dass die Canvas keine Drawcalls mehr an die GPU ausgibt und somit nicht länger sichtbar ist. Die Canvas löscht dabei aber nicht ihren Vertex-Buffer; alle Meshes und Vertices bleiben erhalten und wenn Sie sie wieder aktivieren, wird kein Rebuild ausgelöst, sondern es werden einfach wieder Drawcalls gestartet.

Weiterhin löst die Deaktivierung der Canvas-Komponente keine aufwändigen OnDisable/OnEnable-Callbacks in der Canvas-Hierarchie aus. Achten Sie darauf, Child-Komponenten zu deaktivieren, die aufwändigen Pro-Frame-Code ausführen.

Optimale Verwendung von Animatoren für UI-Elemente

Problem: Die Verwendung von Animatoren auf der UI

Animatoren machen ihre Elemente mit jedem Frame "dirty", selbst wenn sich der Wert in der Animation nicht ändert. Animatoren verfügen nicht über Nulloperation-Prüfungen.

Lösung:

Only put animators on dynamic elements that always change. For elements that rarely change or that only change in response to events, for a short period of time, write your own code or tweening system (there are a number on the Asset Store).

Weitere Ressourcen

Wir wollen es wissen! Haben Ihnen diese Inhalte gefallen?

Ja, weiter so. Na ja. Könnte besser sein.
Alles klar

Wir verwenden Cookies, damit wir Ihnen die beste Nutzererfahrung auf unserer Website bieten können. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.

Search Unity

Some of the best optimization tips for Unity UI

You’re sure to find a tip or two (or more) on this page to improve Unity UI performance. You’ll find many more in this great session by Unity engineer Ian Dundore, Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance (section on Unity UI starts at 23:38).

Divide up your canvases

Problem: When one or more elements change on UI Canvas, it dirties the whole Canvas.

The Canvas is the basic component of Unity UI. It generates meshes that represent the UI elements placed on it, regenerates the meshes when UI elements change, and issues draw calls to the GPU so that the UI is actually displayed.

Generating these meshes can be expensive. UI elements need to be collected into batches so that they’re drawn in as few draw calls as possible. Because batch generation is expensive, we want to regenerate them only when necessary. The problem is that, when one or more elements change on a Canvas, the whole Canvas has to be re-analyzed to figure out how to optimally draw its elements.

Many users build their entire game’s UI in one single canvas with thousands of elements. So, when they change one element, they can experience a CPU spike costing multiple milliseconds (to hear more about why rebuilding is expensive, go to the 24:55 mark in Ian’s talk).

Solution: Divide up your canvases.

Each canvas is an island that isolates the elements on it from those of on other canvases. So, slicing up your canvases in the main tool available for resolving batching problems with Unity UI.

You can also nest canvases, which allows designers to create large hierarchical UIs without having to think about where different things are onscreen across many canvases. Child canvases also isolate content, from both their parent and sibling canvases. They maintain their own geometry and perform their own batching.

When subdividing canvases with child canvases, try to group things based on when they get updated. For example, separate dynamic elements from static ones (at around 29:36, Ian provides a nice example of smart subdivision of canvases).

Optimal use of Graphic Raycaster

Problem: Optimal use of the Graphic Raycaster:

The Graphic Raycaster is the component that translates your input into UI Events. It translates screen/touch input into Events, and then sends them to interested UI elements. You need a Graphic Raycaster on every Canvas that requires input, including sub-canvases.

Despite its name the Graphic Raycaster is not really a raycaster: by default, it only tests UI graphics. It takes the set of UI elements that are interested in receiving input on a given canvas, and performs intersection checks: it checks that the point at which the input event occurs against the RectTransform of each UI element on the Graphic Raycaster’s Canvas is marked as interactive.

The challenge is that not all UI elements are interested in receiving updates.

Solution: Turn off the Raycast Target for static or non-interactive elements.

For example, text on a button. Turning off the Raycast Target will directly reduce the number of intersection checks the Graphic Raycaster must perform each frame.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips

Problem: In some ways, the Graphic Raycaster does act as a raycaster.

If you set Render Mode on your Canvas to Worldspace Camera or Screen Space Camera, you can also set a blocking mask. The blocking mask determines whether the Raycaster will cast rays via 2D or 3D physics, to see if some physics object is blocking the user’s ability to interact with the UI.

Solution: Casting rays via 2D or 3D physics can be expensive, so use this feature sparingly.

Also, minimize the number of Graphic Raycasters by not adding them to non-interactive UI Canvases, since in this case, there is no reason to check for interaction events.

Avoid use of Camera.main

Problem: World Space canvases need to know which camera their interaction events should come from.

When setting up a Canvas to render either in World Space or in a Camera’s screen space, it’s possible to specify the Camera which will be used to generate interaction events for the UI’s Graphic Raycaster. This setting is required for “Screen Space - Camera” canvases, and is called the "Render Camera".

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-screen_space_camera

However, the setting is optional for “World Space” canvases, and is called the "Event Camera."

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-world-space

If you leave the Event Camera field blank on a World Space Canvas, this does not mean that your Canvas will not receive Events. Instead, it uses the game’s main Camera. To determine which Camera is the main Camera, it accesses the Camera.main property.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-camera-main-property

Depending on the code path Unity takes, it will access Camera.main between 7-10 times per frame, per Graphic Raycaster, per World Space Canvas. And Camera.main calls Object.FindObjectWithTag every time it’s accessed! Obviously, this is not a good thing at runtime.

Solution: Avoid the use of Camera.main.

Cache references to Cameras, and create a system to track the main camera. If you use World Space canvases, always assign an Event Camera. Do not leave this setting empty! If the Event Camera needs to change, write some code that will update the Event Camera property.

Avoid Layout Groups where possible

Problem: Every UI element that tries to dirty its Layout will perform at least one GetComponents call.

When one or more child elements change on a layout system, it gets dirtied. The changed child element(s) invalidate the Layout system that owns it.

A bit about Layout Systems: A Layout System is a set of contiguous Layout Groups that are directly above a Layout Element. A Layout Element is not just the Layout Element Component: UI images, texts and Scroll Rects–these are also Layout Elements. And, Scroll Rects are also Layout Groups.

Back to the problem: Every UI element that marks its layout as dirty will perform, at minimum, one GetComponents call. This call looks for a valid Layout Group on the Layout Element’s parent. If it finds one, it continues walking up the Transform hierarchy until it stops finding Layout Groups or reaches the hierarchy root–whichever comes first. Therefore, each Layout Group adds one GetComponents call to each child Layout Element’s dirtying process, making nested Layout Groups extremely bad for performance.

Solution: Avoid Layout Groups wherever possible.

Use anchors for proportional layouts. On hot UIs with a dynamic number of elements, consider writing your own code that will calculate layouts, and be sure to use this only on-demand, instead of with every single change.

Pool UI objects the smart way

Problem: Pooling UI objects the wrong way around.

Often, people pool UI objects by reparenting it and then disabling, but this causes unnecessary dirtying.

Solution: Disable the object first, then reparent it into the pool.

You will dirty the old hierarchy once, but then when you reparent it, you’ll avoid dirtying the old hierarchy a second time, and you won’t dirty the new hierarchy at all. If you are removing an object from the pool, reparent it first, then update your data, then enable it.

How to hide a Canvas

Problem: How to hide a Canvas

Sometimes, you want to hide some UI elements, and canvases. How you can do this most efficiently?

Solution: Disable the Canvas Component itself

Disabling the Canvas Component will stop the Canvas from issuing draw calls to the GPU, so the Canvas will not be visible any longer. However, the Canvas won’t discard its vertex buffer; it will keep all of its meshes and vertices, and when you re-enable it, it won’t trigger a rebuild, it will just start drawing them again.

Additionally, disabling the Canvas Component does not trigger the expensive OnDisable/OnEnable callbacks on the Canvas’ hierarchy. Just be careful to disable child Components that run expensive per-frame code.

Optimal use of animators on UI elements

Problem: Using animators on your UI

Animators will dirty their elements every frame, even if the value in the animation does not change. Animators have no no-op checks.

Solution:

Only put animators on dynamic elements that always change. For elements that rarely change or that only change in response to events, for a short period of time, write your own code or tweening system (there are a number on the Asset Store).

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.