Cherchez Unity

Les meilleurs conseils d'optimisation pour l'IU Unity

Last updated: January 2019

What you will get from this page: Tips on how to create optimized UI elements for your content, including dividing up your canvases, avoiding the use of Camera.main and Layout Groups, smart pooling of UI objects and more.

You’ll find many more in this great session by Unity engineer Ian Dundore, Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance (section on Unity UI starts at 23:38).

Divisez vos toiles

Problème : lorsqu'un ou deux éléments changent sur le canvas de l'IU, tout le canvas est affectée.

Le canvas is the basic component of Unity UI. It generates meshes that represent the UI elements placed on it, regenerates the meshes when UI elements change, and issues draw calls to the GPU so that the UI is actually displayed.

La génération de ces maillages peut être complexe. Les éléments de l'IU doivent être collectés en lots afin que le nombre de requêtes nécessaire soit le plus bas possible. La génération des lots étant une opération lourde, ces éléments doivent être régénérés uniquement lorsque cela est nécessaire. Mais lorsqu'un ou deux éléments du canvas changent, tout le canvas doit être analysé pour déterminer comment traiter ces éléments de manière optimale.

De nombreux utilisateurs basent l'IU de leur jeu sur un canvas unique avec des milliers d'éléments. Alors lorsqu'ils modifient un élément, le processeur fait face à un pic qui requiert de nombreuses millisecondes (la lourdeur du processus de recréation est évoqué plus en détails à 24:55 dans l'intervention d'Ian).

Solution : divisez vos canvas.

Chaque canvas est un îlot qui isole les élément qu'il contient des éléments des autres canvas. Divisez vos canvas dans l'outil disponible pour résoudre les problèmes de traitement par lots pour l'IU Unity.

Vous pouvez également imbriquer des canvas, ce qui permet aux concepteurs de créer de grandes IU hiérarchiques sans se préoccuper de l'emplacement à l'écran des différents éléments de divers canvas. Les canvas enfants isolent également des contenus, à la fois des canvas parents et de même rang. Ils conservent leur propre géométrie et exécutent seuls le traitement par lots.

Lorsque vous divisez des canvas pour créer des canvas enfants, essayez de regrouper les éléments selon leur date d'actualisation. Par exemple, séparez les éléments statiques des éléments dynamiques (à environ 23:36, Ian donne un exemple clair de division intelligente des canvas).

Une utilisation optimale du Graphic Raycaster

Problème : l'utilisation optimale du Graphic Raycaster :

Le Graphic Raycaster est le composant qui traduit vos entrées en évènements d'IU. Il traduit les entrées tactiles/d'écran en évènements puis les envoie aux éléments de l'IU pertinents. Chaque canvas qui nécessite des entrées, y compris les sous-canvas, ont besoin d'un Graphic Raycaster.

Malgré son nom, le Graphic Raycaster n'est pas vraiment un raycaster : par défaut, il teste uniquement les graphismes de l'IU. Il tient compte de l'ensemble d'éléments de l'IU aptes à recevoir des données sur un canvas donné et procède à des vérifications d'intersection : il vérifie que le point auquel l'évènement d'entrée survient au regard du RectTransform de chaque élément d'IU du canvas du Graphic Raycaster est marqué interactif.

La complexité repose dans le fait que tous les éléments de l'IU ne sont pas aptes à recevoir des actualisations.

Solution : désactivez Raycast Target pour les éléments statiques ou non-interactifs.

Par exemple, le texte sur un bouton. Désactiver Raycast Target réduira immédiatement le nombre de vérifications d'intersections du Graphic Raycaster à chaque frame.

Conseils d'optimisation d'IU Unity

Problème : dans certains cas, le Graphic Raycaster agit comme un raycaster.

Si vous définissez le mode de rendu de votre canvas sur Worldspace Camera ou Screen Space Cameran vous pouvez également définir un masque de blocage. Celui-ci détermine si le Raycaster agira via les physiques 2D ou 3D, pour voir si des objets physiques bloquent la capacité de l'utilisateur à interagir avec l'IU.

Solution : traiter les rayons via les physiques 2D ou 3D pouvant être un processus lourd, nous vous conseillons d'employer cette technique avec parcimonie.

Réduisez également le nombre de Graphic Raycasters en évitant de les ajouter aux canvas d'IU non-interactifs, puisque dans ce cas, il n'y aucune raison de vérifier la présence d'évènements d'interaction.

Évitez d'utiliser Camera.main

Problème : les canvas World Space doivent savoir de quelles caméras leurs évènements d'interaction doivent provenir.

Lorsque vous paramétrez un canvas pour un espace World Space ou Screen Space, vous pouvez indiquer la caméra à utiliser pour générer les évènements d'interaction pour le Graphic Raycaster de l'IU.

Unity UI optimization tips screen space camera

Ce paramétrage est optionnel pour les canvas World Space, et il est appelé « Event Camera ».

Unity UI optimization tips world space

Si vous laissez le champ Event Camera vide sur un canvas World Space, cela ne veut pas dire que votre canvas ne recevra pas d'évènements. Il utilisera la caméra principale du jeu. Pour déterminer quelle caméra est la principale, il accède à la propriété Camera.main.

Unity UI optimization tips camera main property

En fonction du chemin de code qu'emprunte Unity, il accèdera à Camera.main entre 7 et 10 fois par frame, par Graphic Raycaster, par canvas World Space. Et Camera.main appelle Object.FindObjectWithTag à chaque accès ! De toute évidence, ce n'est pas une bonne chose au moment de l'exécution.

Solution : évitez d'utiliser la caméra principale.

Mettez les références aux caméras en cache puis créez un système pour suivre la caméra principale. Si vous utilisez les canvas World Space, assignez toujours une caméra d'évènement. Ne laissez jamais ce paramètre vide ! Si la caméra d'évènement doit être modifiée, actualisez la propriété de caméra d'évènement via le code.

Évitez si possible les groupes de dispositions

Problème : chaque élément de l'IU qui essaie d'affecter sa disposition effectuera au minimum une requête GetComponents.

Quand un ou plusieurs éléments enfants changent au sein d'un système de disposition, d'autres éléments sont affectés (les éléments enfants modifiés invalident le système de disposition auquel ils appartiennent).

À propos des systèmes de disposition : un système de disposition se compose de groupes de dispositions directement au-dessus d'un élément de disposition. Un élément de disposition n'est pas simplement le composant élément de disposition : les textes d'IU, les textes et les Scroll Rects sont aussi des éléments de disposition. Les Scroll Rects sont également des groupes de dispositions.

Revenons au problème : chaque élément d'IU qui indique une disposition inappropriée effectuera au minimum une requête GetComponents. Cette requête recherche un groupe de disposition valide dans le parent de l'élément de disposition. Si elle en trouve un, elle continue à remonter la hiérarchie Transform jusqu'à ce qu'elle ne trouve plus de groupes de disposition ou atteigne la racine de la hiérarchie, selon la première éventualité. Chaque groupe de disposition ajoute donc une requête GetComponents à chaque élément de disposition qui affecte négativement le processus d'élément de mise en page, rendant l'imbrication des groupes de disposition très mauvaise pour les performances.

Solution : évitez les groupes de disposition lorsque cela est possible.

Utilisez des ancres pour les dispositions proportionnelles. Pour les IU avec plusieurs éléments dynamiques, nous vous conseillons d'écrire votre propre code pour calculer les dispositions et de l'utiliser au cas par cas, et non à chaque modification.

Regrouper intelligemment les objets d'IU

Problème : les objets de l'IU ne sont pas regroupés correctement.

On regroupe souvent des éléments d'IU en les reparantant puis en les désactivant, mais cela peut entraîner des altérations non-nécessaires.

Solution : commencez par désactiver l'objet, puis reparentez-le dans le groupe.

Vous altèrerez une fois l'ancienne hiérarchie, mais une fois l'élément reparenté, cela ne se produira plus et vous n'altèrerez plus du tout la hiérarchie. Si vous supprimez un objet du groupe, commencez par le reparenter, puis actualisez vos données et activez-le.

Comment masquer un élément canvas

Problème : comment masquer un canvas ?

Ils arrive que vous vouliez masquer certains éléments de l'IU et des canvas. Comment procéder de manière efficace ?

Solution : désactivez le composant Canvas

En désactivant directement le composant Canvas, celui-ci cessera d'envoyer des requêtes au GPU, et le canvas ne sera ainsi plus visible. Cela n’écartera pas son tampon de vertex. Tous ses maillages et ses vertex seront conservés, et lorsque vous le réactiverez, il ne déclenchera pas une reconstruction, il recommencera à les appeler.

De plus, désactiver le composant lui-même ne déclenche pas les lourdes requêtes OnDisable/OnEnable dans la hiérarchie du canvas. Pensez bien à désactiver les composants enfants qui exécutent du code lourd à chaque frame.

L’utilisation optimale des animateurs pour les éléments d'IU

Problème : utiliser des animateurs pour votre IU

Les animateurs altèrent leurs éléments à chaque frame, même si la valeur de l'animation reste la même. Les animateurs n'ont pas de vérification noop.

Solution :

Only put animators on dynamic elements that always change. For elements that rarely change or that only change in response to events, for a short period of time, write your own code or tweening system (there are a number on the Asset Store).

Plus de ressources

Dites-nous si vous avez aimé ce contenu !

Oui, continuez comme ça Ça pourrait être mieux
Compris

Ce site utilise des cookies dans le but de vous offrir la meilleure expérience possible. Consultez la page de politique des cookies pour en savoir plus.

Search Unity

Some of the best optimization tips for Unity UI

You’re sure to find a tip or two (or more) on this page to improve Unity UI performance. You’ll find many more in this great session by Unity engineer Ian Dundore, Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance (section on Unity UI starts at 23:38).

Divide up your canvases

Problem: When one or more elements change on UI Canvas, it dirties the whole Canvas.

The Canvas is the basic component of Unity UI. It generates meshes that represent the UI elements placed on it, regenerates the meshes when UI elements change, and issues draw calls to the GPU so that the UI is actually displayed.

Generating these meshes can be expensive. UI elements need to be collected into batches so that they’re drawn in as few draw calls as possible. Because batch generation is expensive, we want to regenerate them only when necessary. The problem is that, when one or more elements change on a Canvas, the whole Canvas has to be re-analyzed to figure out how to optimally draw its elements.

Many users build their entire game’s UI in one single canvas with thousands of elements. So, when they change one element, they can experience a CPU spike costing multiple milliseconds (to hear more about why rebuilding is expensive, go to the 24:55 mark in Ian’s talk).

Solution: Divide up your canvases.

Each canvas is an island that isolates the elements on it from those of on other canvases. So, slicing up your canvases in the main tool available for resolving batching problems with Unity UI.

You can also nest canvases, which allows designers to create large hierarchical UIs without having to think about where different things are onscreen across many canvases. Child canvases also isolate content, from both their parent and sibling canvases. They maintain their own geometry and perform their own batching.

When subdividing canvases with child canvases, try to group things based on when they get updated. For example, separate dynamic elements from static ones (at around 29:36, Ian provides a nice example of smart subdivision of canvases).

Optimal use of Graphic Raycaster

Problem: Optimal use of the Graphic Raycaster:

The Graphic Raycaster is the component that translates your input into UI Events. It translates screen/touch input into Events, and then sends them to interested UI elements. You need a Graphic Raycaster on every Canvas that requires input, including sub-canvases.

Despite its name the Graphic Raycaster is not really a raycaster: by default, it only tests UI graphics. It takes the set of UI elements that are interested in receiving input on a given canvas, and performs intersection checks: it checks that the point at which the input event occurs against the RectTransform of each UI element on the Graphic Raycaster’s Canvas is marked as interactive.

The challenge is that not all UI elements are interested in receiving updates.

Solution: Turn off the Raycast Target for static or non-interactive elements.

For example, text on a button. Turning off the Raycast Target will directly reduce the number of intersection checks the Graphic Raycaster must perform each frame.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips

Problem: In some ways, the Graphic Raycaster does act as a raycaster.

If you set Render Mode on your Canvas to Worldspace Camera or Screen Space Camera, you can also set a blocking mask. The blocking mask determines whether the Raycaster will cast rays via 2D or 3D physics, to see if some physics object is blocking the user’s ability to interact with the UI.

Solution: Casting rays via 2D or 3D physics can be expensive, so use this feature sparingly.

Also, minimize the number of Graphic Raycasters by not adding them to non-interactive UI Canvases, since in this case, there is no reason to check for interaction events.

Avoid use of Camera.main

Problem: World Space canvases need to know which camera their interaction events should come from.

When setting up a Canvas to render either in World Space or in a Camera’s screen space, it’s possible to specify the Camera which will be used to generate interaction events for the UI’s Graphic Raycaster. This setting is required for “Screen Space - Camera” canvases, and is called the "Render Camera".

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-screen_space_camera

However, the setting is optional for “World Space” canvases, and is called the "Event Camera."

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-world-space

If you leave the Event Camera field blank on a World Space Canvas, this does not mean that your Canvas will not receive Events. Instead, it uses the game’s main Camera. To determine which Camera is the main Camera, it accesses the Camera.main property.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-camera-main-property

Depending on the code path Unity takes, it will access Camera.main between 7-10 times per frame, per Graphic Raycaster, per World Space Canvas. And Camera.main calls Object.FindObjectWithTag every time it’s accessed! Obviously, this is not a good thing at runtime.

Solution: Avoid the use of Camera.main.

Cache references to Cameras, and create a system to track the main camera. If you use World Space canvases, always assign an Event Camera. Do not leave this setting empty! If the Event Camera needs to change, write some code that will update the Event Camera property.

Avoid Layout Groups where possible

Problem: Every UI element that tries to dirty its Layout will perform at least one GetComponents call.

When one or more child elements change on a layout system, it gets dirtied. The changed child element(s) invalidate the Layout system that owns it.

A bit about Layout Systems: A Layout System is a set of contiguous Layout Groups that are directly above a Layout Element. A Layout Element is not just the Layout Element Component: UI images, texts and Scroll Rects–these are also Layout Elements. And, Scroll Rects are also Layout Groups.

Back to the problem: Every UI element that marks its layout as dirty will perform, at minimum, one GetComponents call. This call looks for a valid Layout Group on the Layout Element’s parent. If it finds one, it continues walking up the Transform hierarchy until it stops finding Layout Groups or reaches the hierarchy root–whichever comes first. Therefore, each Layout Group adds one GetComponents call to each child Layout Element’s dirtying process, making nested Layout Groups extremely bad for performance.

Solution: Avoid Layout Groups wherever possible.

Use anchors for proportional layouts. On hot UIs with a dynamic number of elements, consider writing your own code that will calculate layouts, and be sure to use this only on-demand, instead of with every single change.

Pool UI objects the smart way

Problem: Pooling UI objects the wrong way around.

Often, people pool UI objects by reparenting it and then disabling, but this causes unnecessary dirtying.

Solution: Disable the object first, then reparent it into the pool.

You will dirty the old hierarchy once, but then when you reparent it, you’ll avoid dirtying the old hierarchy a second time, and you won’t dirty the new hierarchy at all. If you are removing an object from the pool, reparent it first, then update your data, then enable it.

How to hide a Canvas

Problem: How to hide a Canvas

Sometimes, you want to hide some UI elements, and canvases. How you can do this most efficiently?

Solution: Disable the Canvas Component itself

Disabling the Canvas Component will stop the Canvas from issuing draw calls to the GPU, so the Canvas will not be visible any longer. However, the Canvas won’t discard its vertex buffer; it will keep all of its meshes and vertices, and when you re-enable it, it won’t trigger a rebuild, it will just start drawing them again.

Additionally, disabling the Canvas Component does not trigger the expensive OnDisable/OnEnable callbacks on the Canvas’ hierarchy. Just be careful to disable child Components that run expensive per-frame code.

Optimal use of animators on UI elements

Problem: Using animators on your UI

Animators will dirty their elements every frame, even if the value in the animation does not change. Animators have no no-op checks.

Solution:

Only put animators on dynamic elements that always change. For elements that rarely change or that only change in response to events, for a short period of time, write your own code or tweening system (there are a number on the Asset Store).

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.