搜索Unity

一些可充分优化Unity UI的技巧

上次更新时间:2019年1月

本页内容简介:有关如何为内容创建优化UI元素的技巧,包括划分画布、避免使用Camera.main和布局组、UI对象的智能池等。

在Unity工程师Ian Dundore主讲的深入挖掘Unity:提高性能的技巧这一场精彩会议中,您会找到更多技巧(Unity UI的一部分,从23:38开始)。

划分画布

问题:当UI Canvas上的一个或多个元素发生更改时,整个画布会脏化。

画布是Unity UI的基本组件。它可以生成代表放置在其上的UI元素的网格,当UI元素发生更改时重新生成网格,并向GPU发出绘制调用,以便实际显示UI。

生成这些网格的成本很高。您需要将UI元素收集到批处理中,从而以尽可能少的绘制调用对它们进行绘制。由于批处理生成的成本很高,所以我们只在必要时才会想要重新生成它们。问题是当画布上的一个或多个元素发生更改时,必须重新分析整个画布才能确定如何对其元素进行最佳绘制。

许多用户在单个包含数千个元素的画布中构建整个游戏的UI。所以,当他们更改一个元素时,他们的CPU可能会出现几毫秒的开销飙升(要了解有关重新构建为何成本很高的更多详细信息,请转到Ian的谈话的24:55处)。

解决方案:划分画布。

每个画布都是一个孤岛,它可以将自己的元素与其他画布上的元素分开。所以,请在可用于解决Unity UI中的批处理问题的主流工具中分割画布。

您也可以嵌套画布,从而让设计师创建大层级UI,而不必考虑在许多画布上,不同的元素具体位于屏幕上的何处。子画布的元素也会与其父画布和同级画布的元素分开。它们会维护自己的几何体并执行自己的批处理。

使用子画布分割画布时,请尝试根据元素的更新时间进行分组。例如,将动态元素与静态元素分开(在29:36左右,Ian提供了一个巧妙分割画布的好例子)。

Graphic Raycaster的优化应用

问题:Graphic Raycaster的优化应用:

Graphic Raycaster是将输入转化成UI事件的组件。它将屏幕/触控输入转化为事件,然后将其发送到相关的UI元素。要求输入的每个画布(包括子画布)上都需要Graphic Raycaster。

尽管它的名称是Graphic Raycaster,但它并不是真正意义上的射线投射器:默认情况下,它只会测试UI图形。它将获取需要接收指定画布上的输入的UI元素组,并执行交叉检查:当Graphic Raycaster的画布上的每个UI元素的RectTransform标记为交互时,它会检查输入事件发生在哪一个点。

问题是并非所有UI元素都需要接收更新。

解决方案:关闭静态或非交互式元素的Raycast Target。

例如,按钮上的文本。关闭Raycast Target将直接减少Graphic Raycaster每一帧必须执行的交叉检查数量。

Unity UI优化技巧

问题:Graphic Raycaster在某些方面的行为确实表现为射线投射器。

如果将画布的渲染模式设置为Worldspace Camera或Screen Space Camera,也可以设置阻挡遮罩。阻挡遮罩确定Raycaster是通过2D还是3D物理投射光线,从而查看某些物理对象是否阻止用户与UI交互的能力。

解决方案:通过2D或3D物理投射光线的成本很高,所以要谨慎使用此功能。

另外,不要将Graphic Raycaster添加到非交互式UI画布,从而尽可能减少它的数量。因为在这种情况下,没有理由检查交互事件。

避免使用Camera.main

问题:World Space画布需要知道它们的交互事件应来自哪个摄像机。

在World Space或摄像机的屏幕空间上设置要渲染的画布时,可以指定将用于为UI的Graphic Raycaster生成交互事件的具体摄像机。此设置是“Screen Space - Camera”画布所必需的,称为“渲染摄像机”。

Unity UI优化技巧屏幕空间摄像机

但是,对于“World Space”画布,此设置是可选的,称为“Event Camera”。

Unity UI优化技巧世界空间

如果在World Space Canvas上将Event Camera字段留空,这并不意味着画布不会收到事件。相反,它会使用游戏的主摄像机。为了确定哪一个摄像机是主摄像机,它会访问Camera.main属性。

Unity UI优化技巧摄像机主属性

根据Unity使用的代码路径,对于每个Graphic Raycaster的每个World Space Canvas,它每帧会访问Camera.main 7-10次。每次访问Camera.main时,它会调用Object.FindObjectWithTag!显然,这在运行时中并非高效行为。

解决方案:避免使用Camera.main。

缓存摄像机的引用,并创建一个系统来跟踪主摄像机。如果您使用World Space画布,请始终分配一个Event Camera。不要将此设置留空!如果Event Camera需要更改,请编写一些更新Event Camera属性的代码。

尽可能避免布局组

问题:每个尝试脏化其布局的UI元素将执行至少一次GetComponents调用。

当布局系统上的一个或多个子元素发生更改时,它会脏化。发生更改的子元素会导致拥有它的布局系统无效。

关于布局系统的一点补充:布局系统是直接位于Layout Element上的一组连续的布局组。Layout Element不仅仅是Layout Element组件:UI图像、文本和滚动矩形(它们也是Layout Element)。滚动矩形也是布局组。

回到问题:每个将其布局标记为脏化的UI元素至少会执行一次GetComponents调用。该调用会在Layout Element的父级中查找有效的布局组。如果找到,它会继续向上查找Transform层级,直到停止查找布局组或达到根层级(以先到为准)。因此,每个布局组会将一个GetComponents调用添加到每个子Layout Element的脏化过程,这导致嵌套不具足的性能极其低下。

解决方案:尽可能避免布局组。

为比例布局使用锚点。在包含动态数量元素的活跃UI上,请考虑自己编写计算布局的代码,并且确保仅在必要时使用,而不是每次发生一个更改时都使用。

以智能方式集中UI对象

问题:以错误的方式集中UI对象。

通常,用户通过重定父级再禁用的方式集中UI对象,但这会导致不必要的脏化。

解决方案:先禁用对象,然后将其父级重定到池中。

您会脏化旧层级一次,但随后当您重定其父级时,可以避免第二次脏化旧层级,而且绝对不会脏化新层级。如果您从池中移除某个对象,请先重定期父级,然后更新数据,然后再将其启用。

如何隐藏画布

问题:如何隐藏画布

有时,您希望隐藏某些UI元素和画布。怎样做效率最高?

解决方案:直接禁用画布组件

禁用画布组件将阻止画布向GPU发出绘制调用,所以画布不再可见。但是,画布不会丢弃它的顶点缓冲区;它会保留所有网格和顶点,当您重新启用它时,它不会触发重新构建,它会直接开始再次绘制。

此外,禁用画布组件不会触发在画布层级上执行成本高昂的OnDisable/OnEnable回调。只不过,要小心禁用运行成本高昂的每帧代码的子组件。

在UI元素上优化应用动画器

问你题:在UI上使用动画器

动画器每一帧都会脏化其元素,即使动画中的值不发生更改。动画器没有无操作检查。

解决方案:

只应将动画器放置在随时发生更改的动态元素上。对于很少发生更改或在响应事件时才会短时间发生更改的元素,请自行编写代码或补间系统(有很多现成的,请查看Asset Store中的数字)。

更多资源

您喜欢本文吗?请告诉我们!

喜欢。继续发送 还行。有待改进
明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

Some of the best optimization tips for Unity UI

You’re sure to find a tip or two (or more) on this page to improve Unity UI performance. You’ll find many more in this great session by Unity engineer Ian Dundore, Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance (section on Unity UI starts at 23:38).

Divide up your canvases

Problem: When one or more elements change on UI Canvas, it dirties the whole Canvas.

The Canvas is the basic component of Unity UI. It generates meshes that represent the UI elements placed on it, regenerates the meshes when UI elements change, and issues draw calls to the GPU so that the UI is actually displayed.

Generating these meshes can be expensive. UI elements need to be collected into batches so that they’re drawn in as few draw calls as possible. Because batch generation is expensive, we want to regenerate them only when necessary. The problem is that, when one or more elements change on a Canvas, the whole Canvas has to be re-analyzed to figure out how to optimally draw its elements.

Many users build their entire game’s UI in one single canvas with thousands of elements. So, when they change one element, they can experience a CPU spike costing multiple milliseconds (to hear more about why rebuilding is expensive, go to the 24:55 mark in Ian’s talk).

Solution: Divide up your canvases.

Each canvas is an island that isolates the elements on it from those of on other canvases. So, slicing up your canvases in the main tool available for resolving batching problems with Unity UI.

You can also nest canvases, which allows designers to create large hierarchical UIs without having to think about where different things are onscreen across many canvases. Child canvases also isolate content, from both their parent and sibling canvases. They maintain their own geometry and perform their own batching.

When subdividing canvases with child canvases, try to group things based on when they get updated. For example, separate dynamic elements from static ones (at around 29:36, Ian provides a nice example of smart subdivision of canvases).

Optimal use of Graphic Raycaster

Problem: Optimal use of the Graphic Raycaster:

The Graphic Raycaster is the component that translates your input into UI Events. It translates screen/touch input into Events, and then sends them to interested UI elements. You need a Graphic Raycaster on every Canvas that requires input, including sub-canvases.

Despite its name the Graphic Raycaster is not really a raycaster: by default, it only tests UI graphics. It takes the set of UI elements that are interested in receiving input on a given canvas, and performs intersection checks: it checks that the point at which the input event occurs against the RectTransform of each UI element on the Graphic Raycaster’s Canvas is marked as interactive.

The challenge is that not all UI elements are interested in receiving updates.

Solution: Turn off the Raycast Target for static or non-interactive elements.

For example, text on a button. Turning off the Raycast Target will directly reduce the number of intersection checks the Graphic Raycaster must perform each frame.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips

Problem: In some ways, the Graphic Raycaster does act as a raycaster.

If you set Render Mode on your Canvas to Worldspace Camera or Screen Space Camera, you can also set a blocking mask. The blocking mask determines whether the Raycaster will cast rays via 2D or 3D physics, to see if some physics object is blocking the user’s ability to interact with the UI.

Solution: Casting rays via 2D or 3D physics can be expensive, so use this feature sparingly.

Also, minimize the number of Graphic Raycasters by not adding them to non-interactive UI Canvases, since in this case, there is no reason to check for interaction events.

Avoid use of Camera.main

Problem: World Space canvases need to know which camera their interaction events should come from.

When setting up a Canvas to render either in World Space or in a Camera’s screen space, it’s possible to specify the Camera which will be used to generate interaction events for the UI’s Graphic Raycaster. This setting is required for “Screen Space - Camera” canvases, and is called the "Render Camera".

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-screen_space_camera

However, the setting is optional for “World Space” canvases, and is called the "Event Camera."

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-world-space

If you leave the Event Camera field blank on a World Space Canvas, this does not mean that your Canvas will not receive Events. Instead, it uses the game’s main Camera. To determine which Camera is the main Camera, it accesses the Camera.main property.

Unity-UI-optimization-tips-camera-main-property

Depending on the code path Unity takes, it will access Camera.main between 7-10 times per frame, per Graphic Raycaster, per World Space Canvas. And Camera.main calls Object.FindObjectWithTag every time it’s accessed! Obviously, this is not a good thing at runtime.

Solution: Avoid the use of Camera.main.

Cache references to Cameras, and create a system to track the main camera. If you use World Space canvases, always assign an Event Camera. Do not leave this setting empty! If the Event Camera needs to change, write some code that will update the Event Camera property.

Avoid Layout Groups where possible

Problem: Every UI element that tries to dirty its Layout will perform at least one GetComponents call.

When one or more child elements change on a layout system, it gets dirtied. The changed child element(s) invalidate the Layout system that owns it.

A bit about Layout Systems: A Layout System is a set of contiguous Layout Groups that are directly above a Layout Element. A Layout Element is not just the Layout Element Component: UI images, texts and Scroll Rects–these are also Layout Elements. And, Scroll Rects are also Layout Groups.

Back to the problem: Every UI element that marks its layout as dirty will perform, at minimum, one GetComponents call. This call looks for a valid Layout Group on the Layout Element’s parent. If it finds one, it continues walking up the Transform hierarchy until it stops finding Layout Groups or reaches the hierarchy root–whichever comes first. Therefore, each Layout Group adds one GetComponents call to each child Layout Element’s dirtying process, making nested Layout Groups extremely bad for performance.

Solution: Avoid Layout Groups wherever possible.

Use anchors for proportional layouts. On hot UIs with a dynamic number of elements, consider writing your own code that will calculate layouts, and be sure to use this only on-demand, instead of with every single change.

Pool UI objects the smart way

Problem: Pooling UI objects the wrong way around.

Often, people pool UI objects by reparenting it and then disabling, but this causes unnecessary dirtying.

Solution: Disable the object first, then reparent it into the pool.

You will dirty the old hierarchy once, but then when you reparent it, you’ll avoid dirtying the old hierarchy a second time, and you won’t dirty the new hierarchy at all. If you are removing an object from the pool, reparent it first, then update your data, then enable it.

How to hide a Canvas

Problem: How to hide a Canvas

Sometimes, you want to hide some UI elements, and canvases. How you can do this most efficiently?

Solution: Disable the Canvas Component itself

Disabling the Canvas Component will stop the Canvas from issuing draw calls to the GPU, so the Canvas will not be visible any longer. However, the Canvas won’t discard its vertex buffer; it will keep all of its meshes and vertices, and when you re-enable it, it won’t trigger a rebuild, it will just start drawing them again.

Additionally, disabling the Canvas Component does not trigger the expensive OnDisable/OnEnable callbacks on the Canvas’ hierarchy. Just be careful to disable child Components that run expensive per-frame code.

Optimal use of animators on UI elements

Problem: Using animators on your UI

Animators will dirty their elements every frame, even if the value in the animation does not change. Animators have no no-op checks.

Solution:

Only put animators on dynamic elements that always change. For elements that rarely change or that only change in response to events, for a short period of time, write your own code or tweening system (there are a number on the Asset Store).

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.