Unity durchsuchen

Optimal arbeiten mit C#-Datenstrukturen und Unity-APIs

Last updated: December 2018

What you will get from this page: solutions for working optimally with Unity APIs and data structures. Challenges covered include recursive iteration with Particle System APIs; frequent memory allocation; APIs that return Arrays; choosing incorrect data structures, and too much overhead from the misuse of dictionaries.

A lot of these tips will introduce additional complexity, which results in higher maintenance overhead and the possibility for more bugs. Therefore, profile your code first before applying some of these solutions.

All of these tips are from the Unite talk, "Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance". For updated tips from Ian that take into account the evolution of Unity’s architecture to data-oriented design, see Neue "Best Practices".

Unity APIs

Problem: Rekursive Iteration mit Partikelsystem-APIs:

When you call one of the Particle System’s main APIs, such as Start, Stop, IsAlive(), it iterates recursively, by default, through all the children in a particle system’s hierarchy:

  • Die API findet alle Children im Transform eines Partikelsystems, ruft auf jedem Transform GetComponent ab und ruft die passende interne Methode auf, wenn ein Partikelsystem vorhanden ist.
  • Wenn diese Child-Transforms über eigene Children verfügen, wird bis ans untere Ende der Transform-Hierarchie eine Rekursion durchgeführt – jedes Child, Grandchild und so weiter wird bearbeitet. Dies kann bei einer tiefen Transform-Hierarchie zum Problem werden.

Lösung:

Diese APIs haben einen withChildren-Parameter, der standardmäßig "true" ist. Setzen Sie ihn auf "false", um das rekursive Verhalten zu beenden. Wenn withChildren auf "false" gesetzt ist, wird nur das Partikelsystem geändert, das Sie direkt abrufen.

Problem: Mehrere Partikelsysteme, die gleichzeitig starten und stoppen

Es ist üblich, dass Grafiker visuelle Effekte erstellen, deren Partikelsysteme sich über mehrere Child Transforms erstrecken, die Sie gegebenenfalls alle gleichzeitig starten und stoppen möchten.

Lösung:

Erstellen Sie ein MonoBehaviour, das die Liste der Partikelsysteme beim Initialisierungszeitpunkt durch Abruf der Liste GetComponent zwischenspeichert. Rufen Sie dann, wenn die Partikelsysteme geändert werden müssen, für jedes nacheinander Start, Stop etc. auf und stellen Sie sicher, dass "false" als withChildren-Parameter eingestellt ist.

Problem: Regelmäßige Speicherzuweisung

Wenn eine C#-Closure eine lokale Variable einschließt, muss die C#-Runtime dem Heap eine Referenz zuweisen, um diese Variable nachzuverfolgen. In den Unity-Versionen 5.4 bis 2017.1 gibt es einige Partikelsystem-APIs, die bei Aufruf intern Closures verwenden. In diesen Unity-Versionen weisen alle Aufrufe zu Stop and Simulate Speicherplatz zu, auch wenn das Partikelsystem bereits gestoppt wurde.

Lösung:

Alle Partikelsystem-APIs sind, wie die meisten von Unitys öffentlichen APIs, lediglich C#-Wrapper-Funktionen um interne Funktionen herum, die die tatsächliche Arbeit der API erledigen. Einige dieser internen Funktionen sind reines C#, aber die meisten dringen bis in den C++-Kern der Unity-Engine vor. Im Fall der Partikelsystem-APIs sind alle internen APIs übersichtlich mit "Internal_" benannt, gefolgt von der Bezeichnung der öffentlichen Funktion, zum Beispiel:

work-optimally-with-Unity-APIs-table-graph

... und so weiter.

Statt Unitys öffentliche APIs ihre internen Helfer über Closures abrufen zu lassen, können Sie eine Erweiterungsmethode schreiben oder die interne Methode per Reflection adressieren und die Referenz zur späteren Verwendung zwischenspeichern. Dies sind die relevanten Funktionssignaturen:

work-optimally-with-Unity-APIs-functions-signatures

Alle Argumente haben dieselbe Bedeutung wie die öffentliche API, bis auf das erste, das eine Referenz auf das Partikelsystem ist, das Sie stoppen oder simulieren möchten.

Problem: APIs, die Arrays ausgeben

Jedes Mal, wenn Sie auf eine Unity-API zugreifen, die ein Array ausgibt, weist sie eine neue Kopie dieses Arrays zu. Dies tritt sowohl bei der Verwendung von Funktionen als auch bei der Verwendung von Eigenschaften auf, die jeweils Arrays ausgeben. Typische Beispiele dafür sind Mesh.vertices: beim Zugriff darauf erhalten Sie eine neue Kopie der Vertices des Meshs. Und Input.touches erzeugt eine Kopie aller Touches, die der Benutzer im aktuellen Frame durchführt.

Lösung:

Viele Unity-APIs enthalten jetzt nicht-zuweisende Versionen, die Sie stattdessen verwenden sollten. Verwenden Sie beispielsweise statt Input.touches Input.GetTouch und Input.touchCount. Ab Version 5.3 wurden nicht-zuweisende Versionen für alle Physics-Query-APIs eingeführt. Für 2D-Anwendungen gibt es ebenfalls nicht-zuweisende Versionen aller Physics2D-Query-APIs. Weitere Informationen über die nicht-zuweisenden Versionen von Unitys Physics-APIs finden Sie hier.

Und schließlich gibt es bei der Verwendung von GetComponents oder GetComponentsInChildren jetzt Versionen, die eine generische, exemplarische Liste akzeptieren. Diese APIs füllen die Liste mit den Ergebnissen des GetComponents-Abrufs. Dieser Prozess ist nicht ausschließlich nicht-zuweisend: Wenn die Ergebnisse des GetComponents-Abrufs die Kapazität der Liste überschreiten, wird die Größe der Liste neu angepasst. Wenn Sie aber die Liste erneut verwenden oder zusammenfassen, verringert sich zumindest die Häufigkeit der Zuweisungen im Laufe der Lebenszeit Ihrer Anwendung.

Optimale Verwendung von Datenstrukturen

Problem: Die Auswahl unzulässiger Datenstrukturen

Vermeiden Sie, Datenstrukturen nur deshalb auszuwählen, weil sie einfach zu nutzen sind; entscheiden Sie sich stattdessen für diejenige, deren Performance-Merkmale dem Algorithmus oder dem Spielsystem, den oder das Sie schreiben, am besten entsprechen.

Lösung:

Die Indexierung in ein Array oder eine Liste ist einfach: es sind nur einige Ergänzungen erforderlich und der Prozess tritt zeitlich konstant auf. Deshalb erfolgt die zufällige Indexierung in oder die Iteration durch ein Array oder eine Liste mit einem sehr geringem Overhead. Wenn Sie also jeden Frame über eine Aufgabenliste iterieren, sollten Sie Arrays oder Listen bevorzugen.

Wenn Sie zeitlich konstante Ergänzungen oder Entfernungen vornehmen möchten, ziehen Sie vermutlich die Verwendung eines Dictionarys oder Hashsets in Erwägung (mehr dazu unten).

Wenn Sie Daten per Key-Value-System zuordnen, wobei ein Wert einem anderen eindeutig zugeordnet wird, verwenden Sie ein Dictionary.

Mehr über Hashsets & Dictionarys: Beide Datenstrukturen werden von einer Hashtabelle unterstützt. Denken Sie daran, dass eine Hashtabelle zahlreiche Buckets enthalten kann; jeder Bucket ist im Prinzip eine Liste, die alle Werte enthält, die mit einem bestimmten Hashcode versehen sind. In C# wird dieser Hashcode mit der GetHashCode-Methode bestimmt. Da die Anzahl der Werte in einem Bucket normalerweise viel kleiner ist als die Gesamtgröße des Hashsets oder Dictionarys, ist das Hinzufügen oder Entfernen von Objekten aus einem Bucket näher an einem konstanten Zeitaufwand als das zufällige Hinzufügen oder Entfernen von Objekten aus einer Liste oder einem Array. Der genaue Unterschied hängt von der Kapazität Ihrer Hashtabelle und der Zahl der darin gespeicherten Objekte ab.

Die Suche nach einem vorhandenen (oder nicht vorhandenen) Wert in einem Hashset oder Dictionary ist aus dem gleichen Grund sehr einfach: Die Überprüfung der (relativ wenigen) Werte im Bucket, der den Hashcode repräsentiert, geht schnell.

Problem: Zu hoher Overhead durch falsche Verwendung von Dictionarys

Wenn für jeden Frame über Datenobjekt-Paare iteriert werden soll, wird oft ein Dictionary benutzt, da dies zweckmäßig erscheint. Das Problem dabei ist, dass über eine Hashtabelle iteriert wird. Das bedeutet, dass über jeden einzelnen Bucket in dieser Hashtabelle iteriert werden muss, unabhängig davon, ob er Werte enthält oder nicht. Dies führt zu einem beträchtlichen Overhead, insbesondere, wenn über Hashtabellen iteriert wird, die nur wenige Werte enthalten.

Lösung:

Erstellen Sie stattdessen eine Struktur oder ein Tupel und speichern Sie dann eine Liste oder ein Array dieser Strukturen oder Tupels, die/das Ihre Datenzuordnungen enthält. Iterieren Sie über diese Liste/dieses Array, statt über das Dictionary zu iterieren.

Ungefähr bei Minute 14:25 von Ians Vortrag gibt er einen Tipp, wie und wann man Dictionarys mit InstanceID-Key verwenden sollte, um den Overhead zu verringern.

Problem: Was tun bei mehreren Concerns?

In der Realität präsentieren die meisten Probleme natürlich zahlreiche Overlapping-Erfordernisse und es gibt nicht "die eine" Datenstruktur, die alle Ihre Bedürfnisse erfüllt.

Ein verbreitetes Beispiel dafür ist ein Update-Manager. Dies ist ein Architektur-Entwurfsmuster, wobei ein Objekt (üblicherweise ein MonoBehaviour) Update-Callbacks zu verschiedenen Systemen in Ihrem Spiel durchführt. Wenn Systeme Updates erhalten möchten, beziehen sie diese über das Update-Manager-Objekt. Für ein solches System sind eine Iteration mit geringem Overhead, zeitlich konstante Einfügung und zeitlich konstante Duplikatsprüfungen erforderlich.

Lösung: Verwenden Sie zwei Datenstrukturen

  • Führen Sie eine Liste oder ein Array für Iterationen.
  • Verwenden Sie ein Hashset (oder ein anderes indexierendes Set), bevor Sie die Liste ändern, um sicherzustellen, dass das Objekt, das Sie hinzufügen oder entfernen, tatsächlich vorhanden ist.
  • Wenn die Entfernung ein Concern ist, könnte die Implementierung einer verketteten oder intrusiv-verketteten Liste eine Möglichkeit sein (beachten Sie dabei, dass dies einen erhöhten Speicherbedarf und einen etwas höheren Interations-Overhead zur Folge hat).
Weitere Ressourcen

Wir wollen es wissen! Haben Ihnen diese Inhalte gefallen?

Ja, weiter so. Na ja. Könnte besser sein.
Alles klar

Wir verwenden Cookies, damit wir Ihnen die beste Nutzererfahrung auf unserer Website bieten können. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.

Search Unity

Work optimally with C# data structures and Unity APIs

Last updated: December 2018

What you will get from this page: solutions for working optimally with Unity APIs and data structures. Challenges covered include recursive iteration with Particle System APIs; frequent memory allocation; APIs that return Arrays; choosing incorrect data structures, and too much overhead from the misuse of dictionaries.

A lot of these tips will introduce additional complexity, which results in higher maintenance overhead and the possibility for more bugs. Therefore, profile your code first before applying some of these solutions.

All of these tips are from the Unite talk, Squeezing Unity: Tips for raising performance. For updated tips from Ian that take into account the evolution of Unity’s architecture to data-oriented design, see Evolving best practices.

Unity APIs

Problem: recursive iteration with Particle system APIs:

When you call one of the Particle System’s main APIs, such as Start, Stop, IsAlive(), it iterates recursively, by default, through all the children in a particle system’s hierarchy:

  • The API finds all the children in a particle system’s Transform, calls GetComponent on every Transform, and if there is a Particle System, invokes the appropriate internal method.
  • If those child Transforms have their own children, it will recurse all the way down to the bottom of the Transform’s hierarchy–every child, grandchild, and so on, will be processed. This can be a problem if you have a deep Transform hierarchy.

Solution:

These APIs have a withChildren parameter that defaults to true. Set it to false to eliminate this recursive behavior. When withChildren is set to false, only the particle system that you are calling directly will be changed.

Problem: Multiple particle systems that start and stop at the same time

It’s common for artists to create visual effects that have particle systems spread across a number of Child Transforms, all of which you might want to start and stop at the same time.

Solution:

Create a MonoBehaviour that caches the list of Particle Systems by calling list GetComponent at initialization time. Then, when the Particle Systems need to be changed, call Start, Stop, etc., on each of them in turn, and make sure to pass false as the withChildren parameter.

Problem: Frequent memory allocation

When a C# closure closes over a local variable, the C# runtime has to allocate a reference on the heap to keep track of the variable. In Unity versions 5.4 through 2017.1, there are a couple of Particle System APIs that, when called, use closures internally. In these Unity versions, all calls to Stop and Simulate will allocate memory, even if the particle system has already been stopped.

Solution:

All Particle System APIs, like most of Unity’s public APIs, are just C# wrapper functions around internal functions that carry out the actual work of the API. Some of these internal functions are pure C#, but most end up calling down into the C++ core of the Unity engine. In the case of the Particle System APIs, all the internal APIs are conveniently named “Internal_” followed by the name of the public function, such as:

work-optimally-with-Unity-APIs-table-graph

...and so on.

Instead of letting Unity’s public APIs call its internal helpers via closures, you can write an extension method, or address the internal method via Reflection and cache the reference for later use. Here are the relevant function signatures:

work-optimally-with-Unity-APIs-functions-signatures

All of the arguments have the same meanings as the public API, except the first, which is a reference to the Particle System that you want to stop or to simulate.

Problem: APIs that return Arrays

Any time you access a Unity API, that returns an array, it’s going to allocate a fresh copy of that array. This occurs both when using functions that return arrays and when using properties that return arrays. Common examples of this are Mesh.vertices: access this and you’ll get a fresh copy of the mesh’s vertices. And Input.touches, which will give you copy of all the touches the user is performing during the current frame.

Solution:

Many Unity APIs now have non-allocating versions, and you should use these instead. For example, instead of Input.touches, use Input.GetTouch and Input.touchCount. From version 5.3 and forward, non-allocating versions of all Physics query APIs have been introduced. For 2D applications, there are also non-allocating versions of all Physics2D query APIs. Read more about the non-allocating versions of Unity’s Physics APIs here.

Finally, if you use GetComponents or GetComponentsInChildren, there are now versions that accept a generic, templated list. These APIs will fill up the list with the results of the GetComponents call. This is not purely non-allocating: if the results of the GetComponents call exceeds the capacity of the list, the list will be resized. But, if you’re reusing or pooling the list, then at least the frequency of the allocations will drop over the course of your application’s lifetime.

Optimal use of data structures

Problem: Choosing incorrect data structures

Avoid choosing data structures that are only convenient to use; instead choose the one that has the performance characteristics that align best with the algorithm or game system that you are writing.

Solution:

Indexing into an array or a list is extremely cheap: it requires on a little bit of addition under the hood and occurs in constant time. Therefore, randomly indexing into, or iterating through, an array or a List has extremely low overhead. So, if you’re iterating through a list of things every frame, prefer arrays or Lists.

If you need to have constant time addition or removal, you will likely want to use a Dictionary or Hashset (more on this below).

If you’re relating data in a key-value manner, wherein a piece of data is related to another in a one-way manner, then use a Dictionary.

More on Hashsets & Dictionaries: Both of these data structures are backed by a hash table. Remember that a hash table has a number of buckets; each bucket is basically a list that holds all of the values which have a specific hash code. In C#, this hash code comes from the GetHashCode method. Since the number of values in a given bucket is usually much smaller than the total size of the Hashset or Dictionary, adding and removing things from a bucket is much closer to constant time than adding or removing things randomly from a List or array. The precise difference depends on the capacity of your hash table and the number of items you’re storing in it.

Checking for the presence (or absence) of a given value in a Hashset or Dictionary is very cheap for the same reason: it’s quick to check over the (relatively small) number of values in the bucket that represents the value’s hash code.

Problem: Too much overhead from the misuse of dictionaries

If you want to iterate over pairs of data items every frame, often people use a dictionary because it’s expedient. The problem with this is that you’re iterating over a hash table. That means every single bucket in that hash table has to be iterated over, whether or not it contains any values., This adds considerable overhead, especially when iterating over hash tables with few values stored inside them.

Solution:

Instead, create a structure or tuple, and then store a List or array of those structures or tuples that contain your data relations. Iterate over this List/array instead of iterating over the Dictionary.

Around 14:25 minutes into Ian’s talk, he has a quick tip about how and when to use InstanceID-keyed dictionaries to reduce overhead.

Problem: What if you have multiple concerns?

In the real world, of course, most problems present you with multiple overlapping requirements and there will not be one data structure that meets all of your needs.

A common example could be an Update Manager. This is an architectural programming pattern, whereby an object (usually a MonoBehaviour) distributes Update callbacks to different systems inside of your game.When systems want to receive Updates, they subscribe to them via the Update Manager object.For such a system, you’d need low-overhead iteration, constant time insertion and, constant-time duplicate checks.

Solution: Use two data structures

  • Maintain a list or array for iteration.
  • Before you change the list, use a Hashset (or another kind of indexing set) to make sure the item that you’re adding or removing is actually present.
  • If removal is a concern, consider a linked list or intrusively-linked list implementation (be aware that this results in higher memory cost and slightly higher iteration overhead).
More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better
Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.