搜索Unity

单枪匹马开发游戏

Unity如何帮助Jonathan Hawkins在三个月内完成惊人的原型设计

Eclipse:Unity用于移动游戏案例分析

当Jonathan Hawkins在2014年启动White Elk工作室时,从许多方面来说,这都堪称一次重大转变。毕竟,他原本是一个大型团队(负责Sony的God of War系列游戏)的一名开发人员, God of War 毕竟,他是一个大型团队的开发人员(开发Sony的《God of War》系列),最初是独自在探索未知的VR领域。但有了Unity的帮助后,Hawkins在三个月内完成适用于VR游戏的原型设计,从而让他获得《Eclipse: Edge of Light》的资金。

游戏

Eclipse: Edge of Light, 一款为Google Daydream平台制作的第一人称VR探险游戏

目标

为移动VR打造神奇的体验

平台

Google Daydream

团队成员

4

地点

加利福利亚,洛杉矶

从Sony Santa Monica团队离职后,当White Elk的创始人兼创意总监Jonathan Hawkins启动自己的工作室之初,他对能够探索VR新领域的无限可能感到欣喜若狂。虽然同时,他也知道为了将激情变成事业,他需要创造出实际作品,只不过现在,他需要利用自己可以支配的有限资源来实现目标。

结果:

  • 在三个月内完成原型设计并获得了资金
  • 使用Unity进行迭代的速度比之前的解决方案快3-4倍
  • 游戏评论家将Eclipse称为迄今最佳VR游戏之一
  • 2017年Daydream District游戏
  • 2017年UploadVR最佳移动游戏
Phased: Unity for 2D games case study
White Elk的创始人兼创意总监Jonathan Hawkins讲述Unity如何让他凭一己之力探索移动VR开发世界。

他需要的一切

Hawkins第一次为Eclipse设计原型时,是独自摸索的。

“我从合作伙伴Section Studios获得了一位美术师的资源,但所有设计、编程、实现和脚本编写都是我一个人完成的,”他说,“幸运的是,我获得了Unity,这真是一套由我自行支配的神奇工具,我得以继续前进。”

他最需要的额外帮助

除了在下载时, Unity Editor中已经提供的全部功能外, Hawkins发现在Unity Asset Store中还有一个宝贵的资源。

“刚开始时,我已经有差不多10年没写过代码了,所以找回状态不那么容易,但是随后我发现了 Asset Store中的Playmaker,, 它的功能非常丰富。你只需要连接几个节点,很快就可以得到非常完整的脚本,”他说。

另一个有帮助的资源(尤其是在VR性能方面)是 Mesh Baker, 这让他们可以将所有几何体烘焙到一个绘制调用中。

“绘制调用可能成为VR的性能杀手,特别是在移动平台上,因为它必须始终维持极高的帧速率才能降低运动模糊。所以使用这种工具并且能够将几何体烘焙到一个而不是100个绘制调用中也是一种巨大的成功。”

三个月内成功完成原型设计

凭借Unity平台和Asset Store的帮助,White Elk终于看到了他们的创意愿景变成了现实。

“在三个月内,我们就完成了整个原型设计,这让我们可以聘请六名全职员工,同时雇用其他各色合同员工来实现我们的愿景。这样,我们就可以制作出一段长达3到4小时的游戏体验了。”

不断调整,继续前进

让他们更易于探索VR和实现创意愿景的另一个要素是使用Unity进行迭代非常简单。不管是在原型设计阶段还是之后,在编辑器中几乎实时查看更改的能力让Hawkins节省了大量时间。

“Unity对实时更新的呈现得心应手,这让我们可以快速迭代和前进。在以前的工作室,我们使用过的一些工具的迭代周期以分钟计,而不是秒钟,”他说:“但使用Unity,工作流程的速度令人震惊。”

“你可以移动世界场景,调整几何体,更改一切,打开和关闭视觉效果。作为一名有关卡设计背景的人,我发现它令人难以置信。以前,有些工作可能需要我花三或四倍长的时间才能完成,现在有了Unity,我只需要几秒钟就能完成,”Hawkins说。

VR开发拯救者

对VR创作来说,快速迭代显得尤其重要。在Edit模式下可以调整值,而使用VR头盔在Play模式下可以测试实际效果,对这两种模式进行切换的能力意味着更加流畅而高效的工作流程。

“我之所以如此喜欢它,是因为只需要稍微调整几个变量就可以修改玩家运动模型或喷气发动机组件等等,而以往这需要做许多工作才能产生良好的体验,消除导致晕动症的瑕疵,”Hawkins说:“一旦点击播放,只需要几秒钟,您就可以进入游戏。戴上头盔,您就可以体验在几分钟内就完成的整个场景。”

惊艳效果顺理成章

除了易用性和速度,Hawkins选择Unity的另一个原因是因为他知道自己可以先把精力放在创意愿景上,多平台支持将会提供他后面需要的灵活性。

不出所料,随着Google Daydream技术逐渐风行,White Elk及时上车。他们原本计划在PlayStation上发布游戏,而有了Unity引擎,他们可以轻松地将整个游戏移植到Google Daydream上。

“通过 Unity SDK for Daydream,, 我们在短短几分钟内就开始运行。无缝的集成帮助我们专注于创作一些亮点。这很关键,因为使用VR和Daydream这样全新的技术和平台,如果没有亮点,玩家就不会再来了。”

创意试验效果如何?

自2016年发布以来,用户和评论家一样接受了Eclipse,它在Google Play Store上的得分徘徊在4.7分左右,甚至更高,还获得了如下评论:

“这款游戏不仅在Daydream上首屈一指,在移动VR游戏中也是佼佼者之一。”

— Jamie Feltham,Upload VR.com

“这是一项杰出的成就,在移动VR时代,它是我玩过的一款绝佳游戏。”

— Sebastian Ang,DayDreamDistrict.com

“作为一名有关卡设计背景的人,我发现它令人难以置信。以前,有些工作可能需要我花三或四倍长的时间才能完成,现在有了Unity,我只需要几秒钟就能完成。”

— Jonathan Hawkins,White Elk Studios联合创始人

如何开始使用Unity制作移动版本内容?

按照本实用指南进行创作,其中包含的信息和资源可以帮助您获得成功、节省时间并在使用Unity开发移动游戏时获得最大价值。

相关案例分析

明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

A one-man developer army

How Unity helped Jonathan Hawkins create an amazing prototype in just three months

Eclipse: A Unity for mobile games case study

When Jonathan Hawkins started White Elk studio in 2014, it was a big adjustment in many ways. After all, he went from being one developer on a huge team (working on Sony’s God of War franchise) to exploring the uncharted territory of VR, initially on his own. But with the help of Unity, Hawkins created a prototype for a VR game within three months, which enabled him to get funding for Eclipse: Edge of Light.

The game

Eclipse: Edge of Light, a 1st-person VR exploration game for Google Daydream

The goal

To create an amazing experience for mobile VR

Platforms

Google Daydream

Team members

4

Location

Los Angeles, California

When Jonathan Hawkins, founder and creative director at White Elk, first made the jump from working at Sony Santa Monica to starting his own studio, he was thrilled at the possibilities open to him in exploring the new field of VR. At the same time, though, he knew that in order to turn his passion into a business, he needed to create something tangible, only now, he needed to do it with limited resources at his disposal.

The results:

  • Produced a prototype within three months, which facilitated funding
  • Could iterate 3-4 times faster with Unity than with previous solutions
  • Game critics have named Eclipse as one of the absolute best in VR to date
  • Daydream District Game of the Year 2017
  • UploadVR's Best Mobile Game 2017
Phased: Unity for 2D games case study
Jonathan Hawkins, founder and creative director at White Elk, talks about how Unity enabled him to explore the world of developing for mobile VR on his own.

Everything he needed

When Hawkins first started working on the prototype for Eclipse, he was on his own.

“I had one artist-resource from my partner, Section Studios, but I was doing all the design, programming, implementation and scripting myself,” he says. “Luckily, though, with Unity and its amazing toolset at my disposal, I could move on.”

Extra help where he needed it most

In addition to everything that was already in the Unity Editor when he downloaded it, Hawkins found another invaluable resource in the Unity Asset Store.

“Back when I started, I hadn’t coded in like 10 years, so getting back into that was a little tough, but then I found Playmaker on the Asset Store, which had tons of functionality in it. You just link a couple nodes, and you already have a complete level scripted very fast,” he says.

Another asset that helped, particularly in terms of VR performance, was Mesh Baker, which enabled them to bake all their geometry down into one draw call.

“Draw calls can be a killer in VR and especially in mobile because it’s super-important to always maintain a very high frame rate in order to reduce motion sickness. So having that tool and being able to bake them out into one as opposed to 100 was a huge success as well.”

A successful prototype within three months

With the help of the Unity platform and the Asset Store, White Elk were able to see their creative vision come to life.

“Within three months, we were able to make an entire prototype that allowed us to employ six people full time and use a variety of other contractors to realize our vision. And that made it possible for us to build out an entire 3-to-4-hour game experience.”

Tweak it live and move on

Another thing that made it easier to explore VR and realize their creative vision was how easy it was to iterate with Unity. Both during the prototype phase and beyond, the ability to see the changes almost immediately within the editor saved Hawkins a lot of time.

“Unity is fantastic for live updates, being able to iterate and move quickly. At my old studio, we used some tools that had iteration cycles that were minutes–not seconds,” he says. “But with Unity, the speed of the workflow is mind-blowing.”

“You can move worlds around, tweak geometry, change everything, turn visuals on and off. As someone with a background in level design, I find it incredible. Something that might have taken me three or four times longer, I was able to do with within seconds using Unity ,” Hawkins says.

A life-saver for VR development

The fast iteration was especially important for experimenting with VR. The ability to switch between adjusting values in Edit mode and trying trying it out in Play mode with the VR headset on meant a much smoother, more efficient workflow.

“What I love about it is being able to tune little variables like for the player motion model or for jet-packing, which requires a lot of work to get the feel just right, to eliminate motion sickness,” Hawkins says. “You hit play, and within a few seconds you’re in the game. You know, you put your headset on, and you’re trying out this whole world that you just made in a few minutes.”

It has to be amazing

In addition to the ease of use and speed, another reason Hawkins chose Unity was because he knew he could focus on his creative vision first, and the multiplatform support would give him the flexibility he needed later.

Sure enough, when an opportunity arose with the emerging Google Daydream technology, White Elk jumped on it. The Unity engine meant that they could easily port the whole game, which they had initially planned to release on PlayStation, to Google Daydream.

“With the Unity SDK for Daydream, we were up and running within a matter of minutes. The seamless integration helped us focus on creating something amazing. And that’s critical, because with a whole new technology and platform like VR and Daydream, if it’s not amazing, they’re not going to come back.”

How is the creative experimentation paying off?

Since its release in 2016, users and critics alike have embraced Eclipse. Its rating on the Google Play store has hovered around 4.7 and higher, and it has received rave reviews like the following:

“This isn’t just the best game on Daydream, but one of the best mobile VR games full stop.”

— Jamie Feltham, Upload VR.com

“It is an outstanding achievement and the best game I have ever played on mobile VR. Period.”

— Sebastian Ang, DayDreamDistrict.com

“As someone with a background in level design, I find it incredible. Something that might have taken me three or four times longer, I was able to do within seconds using Unity.”

— Jonathan Hawkins, Co-founder, White Elk Studios

How do you get started with Unity for Mobile?

Follow this practical guide with information and resources that will get you on your way, save you time, and help you gain the most value when developing mobile games using Unity.

Related case studies

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.