搜索Unity

无障碍

Unity Collaborate怎样清除Cybernetic Walrus的摩擦系数

了解更多 开始30天免费试用

Antigraviator:Unity Teams案例研究

当比利时数字艺术与娱乐游戏学校的四名学生与Unity联手打造一款赛车游戏时,他们不知道事情会发展得有多快。一年后,他们从一个拥有学生项目的小团队变成了一个签署了出版商协议的独立工作室。然而,以这样的速度发展的同时,他们需要一个能够跟上潮流的源代码控制工具。

游戏

Antigraviator, 美妙绝伦的3D图形、诱杀装置和无速度限制等,都为未来赛车游戏市场增添了新的活力

目标

利用市场上的空白,开发内容新颖、变化多端的赛车游戏

平台

2018年中在Xbox、PlayStation 4、Steam

团队成员

Six上发布:两名程序员、两名美术师、一名自由职业者和一名概念艺术家实习生

地点

比利时安特卫普

KBC大厦15层

Cybernetic Walrus需要一款空间足够,可以让美术师在Unity中更自信而高效的工作,还可以随时随地使用的源控制解决方案。他们在2017年3月决定选择Collaborate for Unity Teams。从此,他们再也不想回到从前。

结果:

  • 总培训时间不超过一小时
  • 用于确保大型及媒介丰富项目的云存储
  • 担保出版商,Iceberg Interactive
了解更多 开始30天免费试用

程序员和美术师团队的引擎

Cybernetic Walrus的 Antigraviator 团队最初由四名共同创始人组成:两名美术师和两名开发者。他们在高年级的时候发现了一个市场缺口,即像Wipeout和F - Zero这样时尚经典、内容新颖和变化多端的赛车游戏。

当他们选择一个游戏引擎来开发项目时,团队中的两名程序员想要使用Unity。但是这两名美术师一开始不确定它是否能满足他们的需求。然而,Cybernetic Walrus的联合创始人兼总经理Mike Coeck表示,当他们看到Unity的Adam演示时,他们便决定选择Unity了。

“Adam演示就是摆在我们面前的证据。我们的美术师可以下载它,玩一玩,自己想一想怎么办。最新版本Unity在美术师工具方面的进步消除了任何疑虑,”Coeck指出,像后处理堆栈,它是一个能够立马提升游戏外观的最新功能。

当初做出使用Unity的决定,后来已经被美术师们的成果证明是正确的。美术资源实际上已经用于Unity培训课程。他们找到了一家出版商(Iceberg Interactive),而这款游戏以其巧妙的游戏设计、可自定义的工具和令人惊艳的逼真3D图形,给独立活动中的玩家和评论家们留下了深刻印象。

Antigraviator - Arctic

美术师可以专注于美术本身

Collaborate for Unity Teams让每个人都可以轻松地将变更放入云中,从而让Antigraviator团队的程序员和美术师更加容易地协作。任何时候只要有人开始工作,就可以确定得到的是最新版本。

虽然他们最初使用传统的源代码管理来推进自己的项目,但是当他们返回前一个版本时,他们发现变更内容很难得到追踪。例如,当一个更新没有很好地利用程序员自定义的工具时,就会发生这种情况,这对美术师来说尤其令人沮丧。

“Dovydas [Budrys] 是一名3D美术师,Szabi [Szabolcs Cszimadia]更像是一名环境美术师,他在创建着色器方面做了大量工作。所以,他们更像是技术美术师,他们经常使用引擎,”Coeck说,“但是根据我们以前的解决方案,他们很难知道是否出了问题。他们必须知道哪些文件属于哪一类,这一切都看起来有点复杂。”

这不仅让美术师感到沮丧,而且还需要程序员花时间来解决冲突。

转而使用Collaborate后,整个团队的情况变得更加清晰。干净的控件和简化的更新/恢复过程,使得检索项目的正确版本变得更加容易。

精简且经济高效

有了Collaborate for Unity Teams,团队中的任何人都可以选择他们想要的东西,并将其推送给整个团队,所有这些都在Unity Editor中进行。现在,当其他人再次开始工作时,他们可以不再使用外部程序下载彼此的变更内容。由于Collaborate内置于Unity Editor中,他们不必启动另一个程序,这样既节省了时间,又让团队保持专注。

“美妙之处在于,您不必担心或使用不同的工具。这样真的很容易,”Coeck说,“它非常直观且易于使用。有需要时我们可以轻松还原以前的版本。将来我们不必扔掉旧项目。我们只需点击一个按钮,就能将它存档。”

一个集成的、易于使用的界面让Antigraviator 团队的每个人都有信心直接为项目做出贡献。除此之外,Coeck认为这提供了一个经济高效的解决方案。

“如果我们使用了我们正在研究的其他解决方案,可能会花费数千欧元。但是,即使从一个小型创业团队的角度来看,将成本保持在最低水平是很重要的,Collaborate对我们来说也不是一笔大费用。对于一个四人的团队来说,能够使用它是一个梦想。自从我们开始使用它以后,就没有考虑过别的解决方案。”Coeck说道。

Antigraviator - Desert

随时,随地,任何角色

Collaborate for Unity Teams的另一个优势是可以从任何地方轻松进行访问。Coeck还指出,对于四位联合创始人来说,基于云的解决方案是必需品。

他说:“对任何团队来说,这不仅仅是一份朝九晚五的工作。这是我们所有人充满激情的项目。你回到家里后,仍希望能够在游戏中工作。”

当他们雇佣自由职业者来处理移植到PlayStation 4的工作时,基于云的访问也非常方便。最近,他们雇佣了一名美术实习生。当主要团队在安特卫普工作时,自由职业者可以在布鲁日进行远程工作。

他们最新的美术师团队成员很快就跟上了速度

与工作室的共同创始人美术师不同,实习生是一名纯粹的概念美术师,没有游戏引擎方面的任何经验。

虽然他的工具是笔、纸和Photoshop,但Coeck称他们确实想培训他,以便让他在Unity做一些工作,例如创建和实现游戏图标等。尽管他的专业背景更多的是与VFX相关,但他在DAE的教育给他打下了一些基础。

“使用Collaborate只需要点一点按钮——一点不复杂。我们能在几分钟内培训我们的美术实习生,让他真正了解所有细节可能不用一个小时,”Coeck说,“如果我们必须教他学会我们的老系统,那将需要几周时间。相反,我们能够把他的培训时间集中在Unity美术师的功能和工作流程上——导入模型和图形——这些对我们的新概念美术师来说更为重要。”

“Unity Collaboration为我们提供了所需的空间。Unity非常直观且易于使用。我们在需要的时候可以轻松还原以前的版本。如果一个项目不再有效,我们将其存档就可以了。它太棒了。”

— Mike Coeck,Cybernetic Walrus总经理

对Unity Teams感兴趣?

明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

No barriers

How Unity Collaborate removes the friction for Cybernetic Walrus

Learn more Start your 30 day free trial

Antigraviator: A Unity Teams case study

When four students at Belgium's Digital Arts & Entertainment game school joined forces to create a racing game with Unity, they had no idea how fast things would go. In a year, they went from a small team with a student project to a funded indie studio with a publisher agreement. At speed like that, though, they needed a source control tool that could keep up.

The game

Antigraviator, stunning 3D graphics, booby traps and no speed limit all add new life to the market for futuristic racing games

The goal

Capitalize on the gap in the market for racing games with fresh content and twists

Platforms

Mid-year 2018 release on Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Steam

Team members

Six: Two programmers, two artists, a freelancer and an intern concept-artist

Location

15th floor of KBC Tower,

Antwerp, Belgium

Cybernetic Walrus needed a source-control solution that offered enough space, enabled artists to work more confidently and efficiently in Unity, and that could be used anytime, anywhere. They chose Collaborate for Unity Teams in March 2017 and haven’t looked back since.

The results:

  • Less than an hour of total training time
  • Cloud storage to secure large, media-rich project
  • Secured publisher, Iceberg Interactive
Learn more Start your 30 day free trial

An engine for a team of programmers and artists

The Antigraviator team at Cybernetic Walrus initially consisted of the four co-founders: two artists and two developers. While in their senior year at school, they identified a gap in the market for stylish and classic racing games like Wipeout and F-Zero, but with fresh content and twists.

When it came time to pick a game engine to develop their project on, the two programmers on the team wanted to use Unity, but initially, the two artist members weren’t sure whether it would meet their needs. However, Mike Coeck, the co-founder and Managing Director at Cybernetic Walrus, says that when they saw Unity’s Adam demo, it was a turning point in their decision to choose Unity.

“The Adam demo was proof right there in front of us. Our artists could download it, play around with and figure out how to do it themselves. And the advances in the latest versions of Unity in terms of artist tools have removed any doubts,” Coeck says pointing, for example to the Post Processing Stack, as one recent feature that immediately improved the look of their game.

The decision to use Unity has been vindicated by the results the artists produced. The art assets have actually been used in Unity training sessions. They’ve found a publisher (Iceberg Interactive), and the game has impressed players and critics alike at indie events with the clever gameplay, customizable vehicles and the stunning, realistic 3D graphics.

Antigraviator - Arctic

Artists can focus on the art

Collaborate for Unity Teams has made it easier for the Antigraviator team’s programmers and artists to work together by making it simple for everyone to push changes into the cloud. Whenever someone starts working, they can be confident that it’s in the latest version.

While they initially started their project using traditional source control, the artists found it difficult to keep track of changes when they reverted to a previous version of their project. This occured, for example, when an update didn’t play well with a tool the programmers had customized, and it could be especially frustrating for the artists.

“Dovydas [Budrys] is a 3D artist and Szabi [Szabolcs Csizmadia] is more of a environment artist who works a lot on creating shaders. So, they’re more like tech artists, and they use the engine a lot,” Coeck says. “But with our previous solution, it was hard for them to know if something had gone wrong. They had to know which files belonged to what, and it was all a bit complex.”

Not only was this frustrating for the artists, it took time away from the programmers who would need to resolve the conflicts.

After switching to Collaborate, things became much clearer for the entire team. Clean controls and streamlined update/revert processes made it much easier to retrieve the correct version of the project.

Streamlined and cost-efficient

With Collaborate for Unity Teams, anyone on the team can just select what they want and push it to the whole team, all within the Unity Editor. Now, when someone else starts working again, they can just download each other’s changes without using an external program. Since Collaborate is built into the Unity Editor, they don’t have to start another program and that saves time as well as keeping the team focused.

“The beauty of it is that you don’t have to worry or fiddle around with a different tool. It’s really easy,” says Coeck. “It’s very intuitive and easy-to-use. We can easily restore a previous version if we need to. In the future, we don’t have to throw away older projects either. We’ll be able to just click a button and it will be archived.”

An integrated, easy-to-use interface has given everyone on the Antigraviator team the confidence to contribute directly to the project. On top of all that, Coeck feels that it is a cost-efficient solution.

“If we had used one of the other solutions we were looking at, it might have cost thousands of euros. But even from the point of view of a small startup team where it’s important to keep costs to a bare minimum, Collaborate is not a big expense for us. For a team of four, it’s a dream to use. We haven’t looked at another solution since we started using it,” Coeck says.

Antigraviator - Desert

Anytime, anywhere, any role

Another advantage of Collaborate for Unity Teams is the easy access, from anywhere. Coeck also points out that for the four co-founders, a cloud-based solution was a must.

“It’s not just a 9-to-5 job for any of the team. It’s a passion project for all of us. You go home and you want to be able to work on the game.” he says.

The cloud-based access also came in handy when they employed freelancers to take care of porting to PlayStation 4, and more recently, as when they brought on an art intern. The freelancers could work remotely from Brugges while the main team was in Antwerp.

Their newest artist team-member gets up to speed fast

Unlike the artists who are co-founding members of the studio, the intern is a pure concept artist with little experience working with game engines.

While his tools are pen, paper and Photoshop, Coeck says that they do want to train him to do some work in Unity, for example, creating and implementing game icons. Even though his background is more focused on VFX, his education at DAE has given him some of the basics.

“Using Collaborate is just a push of a button — there’s nothing to it. We’ll be able to train our art intern on Collaborate in minutes, and it would probably take less than an hour to really show him all the details,” Coeck says. “If we had to teach him our old system, it would have taken weeks. Instead, we’ll be able to focus his training time on Unity artist features and workflows — importing models and graphics — things that are much more relevant for our new concept artist.”

“Unity Collaborate gives us the space we need. It’s very intuitive and easy-to-use from within Unity. We can easily restore a previous version if we need to. And if a project is no longer valid, we can just archive it. It works perfectly.”

— Mike Coeck, Managing Director at Cybernetic Walrus

Interested in Unity Teams?

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.