Искать

The Heretic

Наша знаменитая демокоманда, стоящая за созданием Adam и «Книги мертвых», закончила новую короткометражку — The Heretic.

Посмотреть The Heretic

Визуальное качество без лишних усилий

The Heretic была создана в версии Unity 2019.3 и на полную использовала все графические возможности движка, в том числе и High Definition Render Pipeline (HDRP) с интегрированным стеком постобработки и Visual Effect Graph.

К HDRP теперь сразу прилагаются главные узлы Shader Graph для создания реалистичных волос, глаз и тканей. Разработчики использовали Visual Effect Graph для ряда эффектов, включая дизайн и создание сложных персонажей, по большей части завязанных на графике.

Проблемы создания реалистичного цифрового человека

Создание фотореалистичных цифровых людей — сложная технологическая задача, с которой мы постарались справиться в The Heretic. Нашей целью было создать подходящие процесс разработки и уровень качества.

В наш рабочий процесс входит 3D- и 4D-сканирование объекта для получения высококачественных текстур и поз, а также создания правдоподобных, реалистичных движений. В нем используются коммерческие решения: Infinite Realities для высококачественного сканирования, Russian 3D Scanner для крайне точной предварительной обработки данных и Snappers для риггинга лица.

Данные 4D-сканирования, в которых сохраняется реализм действий актера, дополняются мелкими деталями поверхности, морщинами, порами и т. д., полученными при 3D-сканировании. Такой подход позволяет добиться лучших результатов, чем при использовании этих методов отдельно. Процесс воссоздания цифрового человека мы завершаем накладыванием ресниц, бровей, щетины и волос с помощью специализированных инструментов.

Демокоманда сейчас подготавливает пакет технологий и шейдеров, использованных для создания цифрового человека в фильме, чтобы вы смогли воспользоваться ими в ваших проектах.

Узнайте о технологиях в основе The Heretic

Из доклада Роберта Купиша и Лассе йон Фульсанга Педерсена на Digital Dragons 2019 вы можете узнать больше о создании The Heretic, в том числе услышать подробный разбор работы над 4D-данными цифрового человека и взглянуть на процесс реализации персонажа Бостона.

На Unite Copenhagen, Technical Artist Adrian Lazar и Unity Evangelist Andy Touch мы объясняем, как команда использовала Visual Effect Graph, чтобы вдохнуть жизнь в персонажа Моргана. С помощью симуляции частиц графического процессора художники могут менять форму, пол, внешность и поведение персонажа и наблюдать за изменениями в реальном времени.

Посмотреть доклад Unite

Предыдущие демонстрации

Высококачественные демонстрации подчеркивают постоянное развитие Unity в вопросах рендеринга в реальном времени. Наша демокоманда выиграла две Webby Awards и заслужила немало положительных отзывов на кинофестивалях и в сети.

О производстве демонстраций Unity

Обращая особое внимание на графику, демокоманда исследует возможности движка Unity и максимально использует его в независимых творческих проектах. В команде трудятся опытные игровые разработчики под управлением креативного директора Веселина Ефремова, который пишет сценарии фильмов, занимается их постановкой и отвечает за их окончательный вид.

Все они готовы и способны принять на себя риски и сложности использования новейших технологических достижений.

Авторы

Команда демо

Сценарист, режиссер

Veselin Efremov

Продюсеры

Silvia Rasheva
Aleksander Karshikoff

Технический директор

Robert Cupisz

Старший программист

Torbjorn Laedre
Lasse Jon Fuglsang Pedersen

Арт-директор

Georgi Simeonov
Veselin Efremov

Директор по анимации, ведущий специалист по анимации техники

Krasimir Nechevski

Техническая анимация

Christian Kardach

Главный 3D-художник

Plamen “Paco” Tamnev

Техническая графика

Adrian Lazar
Robert Cupisz

Супервизор звука

Aleksander Karshikoff

Системный программист

Malte Hildingsson

Младший программист

Dominykas Kiauleikis

В ролях

Gawain

Jake Fairbrother

Morgan VO

Charlie Sinhaseni

Доп. художник

Композитор

Fredrik Emilson

Раскадровка

Nikolay Toshev

Художник по окружению

Treehouse Ninjas
Julien Heijmans

Художник по визуальным эффектам

Cyril Jover

Доп. художник по видеоэффектам

Vlad Neykov

Дополнительный риггинг

Frederik Bjerre-Hyldgaard

Дополнительный шейдинг

Nicholas Brancaccio

3D- и 4D-сканирование

Infinite Realities
4DMax

Предварительная обработка 4D-данных

Russian3DScanner

Захват движения

Aneta Spasova
TakeOne

Дополнительная анимация

Sticky Brainz
Hugo Garcia
Anders Brogaard Jepsen
Take One

Камера захвата движения, цветокоррекция

Mihail Moskov

Дополнительные симуляции

Zdravko Pavlov

Производство звука

Pole Position Production

Звукорежиссеры

Eric Thorsell
Max Lachmann

Подбор актеров

Side UK

Продвинутый риггинг лица

Snappers

Сканированные ассеты окружения

С согласия Quixel

Unity Technologies R&D

Sebastien Lagarde, Thomas Hourdel, Kuba Cupisz, Jesper Mortensen, Tim Cooper, Yibing Jiang, Marie Fétiveau, Jean Blouin, Julien Fryer, Paul Demeulenaere, Sean Thompson, Rune Stubbe, Julien Ignace, Francesco Cifariello Ciardi, Tobias Alexander Franke, Aras Pranckevičius

Особые благодарности: Natasha Tatarchuk

© 2020 Unity Technologies ApS

Проект The Heretic в прессе

Согласен

Мы используем cookie-файлы, чтобы вам было удобнее работать с нашим веб-сайтом. Подробные сведения смотрите на странице политики обработки cookie-файлов.

Search Unity

The Heretic

Unity’s award-winning Demo team, the creators of Adam and Book of the Dead, is working on a new short film called The Heretic. It’s a real-time cinematic running at 30 fps at 1440p on a consumer-class desktop PC. The first part of the project was revealed at GDC 2019.

Watch The Heretic GDC reveal

Visual quality out of the box

The Heretic uses a broad range of Unity’s graphics features, including every possible aspect of the High-Definition Render Pipeline (HDRP). In 2019, it is possible to achieve close to cinematic visuals in real-time with the help of Unity’s built-in area lights, high-quality shadows, volumetrics, reflections, advanced materials and more. HDRP is now a fully featured, production-ready working environment.

The cinematic look of The Heretic demo was achieved with the latest version of Unity’s post-processing features: motion blur, bloom, depth of field, film grain, color grading, and Panini projection. In Unity 2019.1, they have been upgraded to be more physically correct and are now deeply integrated with HDRP.

The Visual Effect Graph is used throughout the project for various effects, in order to achieve increased volumetric ambience and to augment existing code-driven VFX.

Extending Unity’s Lighting solutions

The Heretic is lit entirely by real-time lights. This meant super fast iteration for the artists, while maintaining a high quality bar and performance.

The Demo team is working on a probe-based lighting solution to solve use cases currently not covered. A first iteration of the new system solution was applied in the Megacity demo and is being extended for the full version of The Heretic.

Get early access to some of the latest Unity features in our 2019.1 beta.

2019.1 beta

Taking on the challenge of creating a realistic digital human

One of the biggest artistic and technical challenges is creating photorealistic, animated humans. The Heretic is Unity’s first attempt to tackle this, and is scoped very conservatively with the primary purpose to establish a pipeline and a bar of quality.

The Demo team’s pipeline combines 3D and 4D scanning in order to obtain both a high-quality set of textures and poses, and believable, realistic movement. It is based on the services of commercially available vendors: Infinite Realities for the high-quality scanning, Russian 3D Scanner for highly accurate data pre-processing, and Snappers for facial rigging.

The 4D scanned data, which preserves the realism of the actor’s performance, is supplemented by bringing back the micro surface details, wrinkles, pores, etc., obtained through the 3D scanning. This approach gives better results than using any of the two techniques individually. The pipeline for the reconstruction of the digital human was completed by attaching the eyelashes, eyebrows, stubble and hair with the help of dedicated attachment tools. The shaders for skin, eyes, teeth, and hair are based on HDRP.

The Demo team is preparing a package with the tech and shaders used for the digital human in the film so you will be able to use them in your own projects.

Discover the technology behind “The Heretic”

In this session, recorded at GDC 2019, Unity Evangelist Andy Touch shares insights into how the team used the latest features in the High-Definition Render Pipeline (HDRP), with powerful customizations enabled by the Scriptable Render Pipeline (SRP), to showcase how Unity can power the high-end visuals in The Heretic.

Watch now

Previous demos

Our Demo team has produced many visually strong and narratively compelling demos in high fidelity that show our continuous advancements in real-time rendering. They have won two Webby Awards and receive much recognition at film festivals and online.

About Unity’s Demo productions

The Demo team’s productions drive advanced use of Unity through autonomous creative projects. The team consists of experienced game professionals led by Creative Director Veselin Efremov, who writes and directs the demos and is responsible for their final look.

Focusing on graphics, the team explores and pushes the limits of what is possible with Unity. They are willing and able to take the risk – and absorb the pain – of basing entire productions at the bleeding edge of technological innovation.

Credits

Demo Team

Writer, Director, DP

Veselin Efremov

Producer

Silvia Rasheva

Technical Director

Robert Cupisz

Senior Programmer

Torbjorn Laedre
Lasse Jon Fuglsang Pedersen

Art Director

Georgi Simeonov

Animation Director, Tech Animation Lead

Krasimir Nechevski

Character Art, Simulations

Plamen ‘Paco’ Tamnev

Environment Art Lead

Julien Heijmans

VFX Art

Robert Cupisz
Cyril Jover
Vladimir Neykov

Additional VFX Art

Adrian Lazar

Simulations

Zdravko Pavlov

Systems Programmer

Malte Hildingsson

Junior Programmer

Dominykas Kiauleikis

Cast

Gawain

Jake Fairbrother

Additional Art

Sound Designer

Aleksander Karshikoff

Music Composer

Fredrik Emilson

Environment Art

Treehouse Ninjas

Scanned Environment Assets

Quixel

Audio Production

Pole Position

Motion Capture

Aneta Spasova

Additional Animation

Aneta Spasova
Hugo Garcia
Anders Brogaard Jepsen
Christian Kardach

Storyboard

Nikolay Toshev

Camera motion capture, Color Grading

Mihail Moskov

Casting agency

Side UK

Rigging

Frederik Bjerre-Hyldgaard

Shading

Nicholas Brancaccio

3D and 4D scanning

Infinite Realities
4DMax

4D data pre-processing

Russian3DScanner

Advanced Facial Rig

Snappers

Unity Technologies R&D

Sebastien Lagarde, Thomas Hourdel, Kuba Cupisz, Jesper Mortensen, Tim Cooper, Yibing Jiang, Marie Fétiveau, Jean Blouin, Julien Fryer, Paul Demeulenaere, Sean Thompson, Rune Stubbe, Julien Ignace, Francesco Cifariello Ciardi

Special thanks to Natasha Tatarchuk

© 2019 Unity Technologies ApS

“The Heretic” in the press

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.