搜索Unity

成为高效测试者的指南

一本实用指南与参考文件,帮助您入门,并从Unity早期访问Beta测试中获取最大价值。

欢迎

为什么Beta测试很重要

我们的QA人员努力工作以确保我们的版本稳定,但是如果我们的开发人员社区的会员未对即将到来的版本提供反馈,我们是不可能做到这一点的。我们很高兴得到您的帮助!

为了让您帮助我们(也帮助您自己),我们创建了这个让您成为最棒测试者的指南——如何上传您的项目,如何填写错误报告等等。遵循这些步骤将能够让您向我们提供最重要的信息,以便我们修复影响您以及您项目开发的相关问题。

您对测试版的反馈意见非常宝贵。我们对每份评级为4和5的测试错误报告进行分析,并尽最大努力查看评级较低的报告(如果您不明白,请看此博客文章)。当我们验证该错误并修复后,我们会为即将到来的测试版发行安排时间。目前,我们无法提供修补程序将测试版中的详细信息,但是知道这一工作将会尽快完成!

以下介绍了如何提交有影响的错误报告和反馈。在这里您还可以找到有关最重要步骤的概要

如果您对测试有进一步的疑问,请访问Beta论坛

01

安装和开始

  1. 下载最新的Beta版,可直接作为独立安装程序,或者通过新的Unity Hub。此页面还包含大量测试信息和资源。您可以了解新功能,找到有用的文档和工具,并随时了解最新的抽奖活动。
  2. 运行安装程序或Hub。如果您使用安装程序,请确保在新目录中安装测试版。只要Unity的多个版本位于不同的目录中,就可以并行使用。
  3. 开启一个新的项目,或者复制一个您计划用来测试Beta版的项目,然后用最新的测试版本打开它。
    • 如果您决定运行测试版中的现有项目,请确保创建备份副本。不保证向后兼容性,因此一旦升级项目,就不可能将其恢复到以前的版本。
    • 请注意,当Unity打开项目时,它会自动将项目迁移到您正在使用的Unity版本。因此,处理项目的副本也可以节省时间,因为当您回到当前的稳定版本时,就可以避免重新导入。
  4. 像往常一样开发和/或测试新功能和更新。如果您认为发现了错误,请按照本指南第二、三和四部分中描述的后续步骤进行操作。

02

Unity中错误的处理

您发现了错误。这是您能提供最有效帮助的机会。

评估情况

主要行动

次要行动

1. 评估情况

打开问题跟踪系统,查看现有的错误报告。

用Google搜索该问题并寻找相关的论坛线索

2. 主要行动

该问题是已知的未解决问题?

对相关问题跟踪系统条目进行投票。

该问题是已知的问题?

提交错误报告,其中附上可让错误重现的最小项目,并对Unity工作人员的请求做出响应。

3. 次要行动

已有他人报告了该问题,但是您希望确保您遇到的错误能够得到修复?

提交错误报告,其中附上可让错误重现的最小项目,并对Unity工作人员的请求做出响应。

该问题是否已有论坛线索

给出答案。如果没有,请使用您的问题ID进行提问。

如果您遇到Unity问题,您应做的第一件事,就是看看这是一个已知问题还是由您第一次遇到的问题。获取这类信息的第一个地址是我们的公用Issue Tracker。在这里您可以搜索其他用户报告的错误,并对它们进行投票或评论。对问题进行投票有助于我们的团队优先处理相应的错误。

Unity Beta论坛提供了另外一个很棒的社区资源。您可以查看其他人报告的内容,找到问题的解决方法,或者自己提供信息。这也是联系Unity员工的一个好办法。不过请确保您提出的主题与当前测试相关,不要将多个不同的问题捆绑在一个线程中。

如果您没有发现任何与您遇到的错误相关的东西,那么就该提交一份错误报告。一旦您提交了这份报告,也可以回到论坛并发布您发现的问题。这样的话,其他人能够通知自己并添加更多相关信息,或提供他们的解决方法。这样也将加快我们的处理时间,因为我们经常关注beta论坛,并优先考虑在那里讨论的新案例初步评估。

如果您开始研究某个问题的新线索,请确保在帖子中包括您的问题编号(在您的确认邮件中提供),这样我们的团队就可以识别您提交的错误报告——如果您没有提供,他们会首先问你要这个号。

如果您不确定某个问题是否与平台或项目中的错误相关,并且通过咨询论坛或查阅文档并不能弄明白,请提交错误报告。

03

记录并报告您的错误

报告错误一开始看起来有点吓人,但实际上并非很难,这对于确保游戏稳定性至关重要。遵循这些简单的步骤编写一份好的错误报告,我们的工程师将能够轻松地领会并采取行动。

不要害怕犯错。如果我们无法用您报告中提供的信息将问题再现,我们会与您联系,找出是否有遗漏。

打开Bug Reporter

运行Unity时,转至菜单中的帮助→报告错误。您可以在程序文件夹中找到安装在编辑器旁边的Bug Reporter。如果您遇到崩溃的情况,它也会自动启动。

提供基本信息

在“与哪个选项相关的问题”字段中,选择最符合您报告的错误的选项。由于您在Beta版中报告了一个错误,它通常会是“编辑器出问题”或者“崩溃错误”。

在“发生频率”中,您需要指出这样的问题仅出现一次,偶尔出现还是每次操作时都会出现。

提供您的电子邮件地址,以便我们的团队在需要时联系您了解更多信息。如果您使用Unity帐户登录,该字段将自动填写。

如果您的报告得到验证,在“标题”和“描述问题”字段中写入的文本将在“Issue Tracker”中公布。这对社区会有帮助。其他用户将能够评论、投票(帮助确定修复的优先级),并查看何时有修复可用。您的个人信息不会被公布。只有Unity员工才能访问您的项目和其他附件。

确定错误

用最简洁的术语来说,您会怎样来描述这个错误?保持简短具体,比如:

清理GI缓存并重新加载项目后,游戏主机中会出现错误

将错误进行分类并写标题

如果您必须对错误进行分类,您会选择什么?用户界面?资源导入?脚本?特定平台?崩溃?在这种情况下,该错误与光照有关,更具体地说,与Enlighten 光照贴图有关。

好的,现在添加错误以及您的错误描述,以便按下列格式创建标题:

[类型] 描述

在这种情况下,您的错误标题如下所示:

[Enlighten]清理GI缓存并重新加载项目后,游戏主机中会出现错误

提供错误再现的步骤

Unity QA和开发团队需要您在诊断和修复问题时提供的所有帮助。他们根据收到的信息可能无法识别根本问题,或者他们可能会被误导并修复其他问题,而不是您提出的错误。因此,提前提供尽可能多的信息以确保您的问题最终得到解决并符合您的利益。最简单的方法通常是回溯到出现错误之前的步骤。那么,在您看到错误之前,您做的第一件事是什么?

关闭并重新打开项目

这是重现错误步骤中的最后一步。在那之前您做了什么?

清理GI缓存:编辑>首选项> GI缓存>清除缓存

尽可能早地做这件事,最好是在您第一次打开Unity的时候就做。您能提供的信息越多,再现和修复就越容易。如果您不记得所有的事情,看看您是否能再现这个错误,并留意您正在采取的步骤。

请注意,您不需要以书面形式提供这些步骤,比如,您可以通过屏幕视频捕捉提交这些步骤。最重要的是,要对这些步骤进行清楚说明,这样我们的工程师就可以将这一错误再现出来。

添加预期结果与实际结果的对比

在您遇到错误之前,您原认为会发生什么?

预期:游戏主机上没有任何错误。

实际上发生了什么呢?

实际:游戏主机上出现错误。

请注意,如果您遇到意外的错误消息,也可以将这些消息添加到描述中。

填写完所有信息后,您的报告现在应该如下所示:

附上您的项目文件夹

如果您通过编辑器打开错误报告,Bug Reporter会自动将当前加载的项目包含在错误报告中。如果您通过报告程序的可执行文件来启动报告程序,则必须手动附加项目。除非您的项目已经很小了,否则建议把它从无关的资源中剥离出来。提交一个只包含必要内容的最小再现项目,可以让我们的QA和开发团队更有效地隔离问题,并更快地提供修复。

如果问题发生在项目的特定场景中,请尝试导出遇到错误的场景,然后将其导入新项目,并查看错误是否仍然发生。如果仍发生,上传新的更小的项目。如果没有,则可以继续尝试更大版本的项目。

为了帮助您减少项目的规模,创建最小的再现项目,我们开发了几个工具,大大减少了所需的工作量。

您可以在在这里找到关于如何使用这些工具的其他信息。

将再现这一问题的项目最小化是理想状态,但是大项目肯定比什么都没有好,所以如果您不能缩小范围,请把您的整个项目包括进去。我们的报告系统支持大量附件。请不要上传个人资源,因为项目包含相关数据和文件,而这些数据和文件是单独资源无法进行上传的。

最终的报告应如下所示:

完美!您已经编写了一份信息丰富、简明扼要的错误报告,我们的团队可以用它来发现和解决问题。

提交您的错误报告

点击“发送”提交错误报告。

当提交您发现的错误后,您会收到一封包含问题编号的自动确认邮件。您需要妥善保管。每个电子邮件将包括一个到网页的超链接,该网页包含了错误的当前状态。您可以随时查看该页面以获取更新。不要在论坛或其他公共场所分享这个链接,因为它会显示您的联系地址和错误报告历史。问题编号足以让其他人在Issue Tracker上找到问题。

为了方便您,我们建议您跟踪错误报告和相关的项目文件夹。建议采用的方法如下:

  1. 每当您提交错误报告时,创建一个您添加的项目zip文件附件。
  2. 保留一个错误报告自身的txt文件,并将其保存在资源目录中,这样您就知道项目显示了什么错误,以及如何将其再现。
  3. 提交错误报告后,抓取确认电子邮件中提供的问题编号,并用它作为你的压缩文件前缀。

这样,一旦Unity向您发送电子邮件,通知您错误报告已经关闭,您就可以快速找到您附在报告中的项目。

在收到Unity关于关闭错误报告的通知后,您可以通过找到合适的项目并在最新的Unity beta版中打开,以检查错误是否已经修复。按照此步骤进行再现,您就能很容易地确定错误是否消失了。

虽然这是您所做的一点工作,但这意味着 a)您更有可能得到高质量的错误报告,并且您的错误更有可能被复制和修复,b)您可以轻松确保错误已经在未来的测试版本中得到修复。

04

跟进

对于我们的员工来说,最好他们有问题的时候能够与您取得联系。如果您提交了错误报告,我们会通过电子邮件联系您。如果您在论坛上写出错误,我们会在那里回复您。请尽快对您从团队收到的问题和请求作出回应,以确保问题得到快速解决。

如果您没有在论坛上看到您提到的错误,我们建议您开始一个新的线程。请记住,其他人可能也经历过同样的问题,所以发布任何您发现的解决办法,都是在beta社区结交朋友的一个快速方法!

就这样吧!

感谢您抽出时间了解如何成为一名有效的测试版测试员。如果您对于上述任何问题有疑问,且您选定的搜索引擎未提供任何答案,请访问论坛并发出提问。

明白了

我们使用cookies来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。点击这里了解更多信息。

Search Unity

A Guide to Being an Effective Beta Tester

A practical guide and reference doc to help you get started and gain the most value from Unity early access beta tests.

Welcome

Why beta testing is important

Our QA staff works hard to make sure that our releases are stable, but there is no way we could do it without members of our developer community providing feedback on upcoming builds. We’re very happy that you want to help out!

To help you help us (help you), we have created this guide to being the best beta tester you can be - how to upload your project, how to write a bug report, and more. Following these steps will allow you to provide us with the most important information so we can fix problems that affect you and the development of your projects.

Your feedback on the beta is invaluable. We analyze every beta bug report rated 4 and 5, and do our best to look at those with lower ratings (if you’re not sure what that means, take a look at this blog post). When we have validated the bug and have a fix, we will schedule it for an upcoming beta release. We are currently unable to provide details on which fix will be in which beta, but know that it will be as soon as possible!

If you have further questions about the beta, visit the beta forum.

01

Installation and getting started

  1. Download the latest beta build, either directly as a standalone installer or via the new Unity Hub. This page also contains lots of beta information and resources. You can learn about new features, find helpful documents and tools, and stay informed about the latest sweepstakes.
  2. Run the Installer or the Hub. If you use the installer, be sure to install the beta in a new directory. It’s ok to have multiple versions of Unity side by side, as long as they are located in individual directories.
  3. Start a new project or make a copy of the project you plan to use for testing the beta, then open it with the latest beta version.
    • Make sure you create a backup copy if you decide to run an existing project in the beta. Backwards compatibility is not guaranteed, so once you upgrade your project it might not be possible to revert it to a previous version.
    • Note that when Unity opens a project, it automatically migrates the project to the version of Unity you’re using. So working on a copy of your project also saves you time because you avoid having to re-import when you go back to your current stable version.
  4. Develop as usual and/or test new features and updates. If you think you found a bug, follow the next steps described in parts two, three, & four of this guide.

02

Dealing with bugs

So… you found a bug. First things first: find out if it’s a known issue.

If you run into an issue with Unity, the first thing you should do is to find out whether it is a known issue or if you’re the first to experience it. The first address to get this kind of information is our public Issue Tracker. It allows you to search for bugs reported by other users and vote or comment on them. Voting on issues helps our team prioritize which bugs to tackle first.

The Unity beta forum is another great community resource. You can see what other people have reported, find workarounds for issues, or provide information yourself. It’s also a good way to get in touch with someone at Unity. Just make sure that the subjects you’re raising are related to the current beta, and don’t bundle multiple different issues in a single thread.

If you don’t find anything related to your bug, then it’s time to submit a bug report. Once you’ve submitted a report, it’s also a good idea to come back to the forum and post a description of the issue you’ve discovered. Doing so will enable others to inform themselves and add more context or provide their workaround. It will also speed up processing times, since we’re monitoring the beta forum frequently and prioritize the initial assessment of new cases that are discussed there.

If you start a new thread about an issue, please make sure to include your Case number (provided in your confirmation email) in the post so that our team can identify the bug report you submitted - it’s the first thing they will ask if you leave it out.

If you’re in doubt whether an issue points towards a bug in the engine or your project and consulting the forums or documentation doesn’t bring certainty, please go and submit a bug report anyway.

03

Documenting and reporting your bug

Bug reporting can seem a bit intimidating at first but it’s really not so tough, and it is vital to ensuring stability. Follow these simple steps to write a good bug report that our engineers will be able to easily understand and act on.

Don’t be afraid of making mistakes. If we can’t reproduce an issue with the information provided in your report, we will get in touch with you to figure out if something is missing.

Open the Bug Reporter

While running Unity, go to Help → Report a Bug in the menu. Alternatively you can find the Bug Reporter installed next to the editor in the program folder. It will also launch automatically if you experience a crash.

Provide Basic Information

In the “What is the problem related to” field, select whichever option aligns best with the bug you are reporting. Since you’re reporting a bug in the beta, it will usually be “A problem with the Editor” or “Crash Bug.”

In “How often does it happen,” you will need to indicate if this is a problem that you have only experienced once, sometimes, or every time you take the steps that led you to encounter it.

Provide your email address in case our team needs to contact you for more information. If you’re logged in with your Unity account, this field will be filled automatically.

If your report gets verified, the text written in the “Title” and “Describe the problem” fields will be made publicly available in the Issue Tracker. This helps the community. Other users will be able to comment, vote (which aids with prioritization for fixes), and see when a fix is available. None of your personal information will be published. Your projects and other attachments are only accessible to Unity employees.

Identify the bug

In the most concise terms, how would you describe the bug? Keep it short and specific, like:

Errors appear in the console after cleaning GI Cache and reloading project

Categorize the bug and write the title

If you had to categorize the bug, what would you pick? UI? Asset import? Scripting? Specific platform? Crash? In this case, the bug was related to lighting and more specifically to the Enlighten lightmapper.

Okay, now add that and your bug description to create the title in the following format:

[Category] description

In this scenario, your bug title would look like this:

[Enlighten] Errors appear in the console after cleaning GI Cache and reloading project

Provide the steps to reproduce

The Unity QA and Development teams need all the help you can offer in diagnosing and fixing an issue. Depending on the information they receive, they may not be able to identify the root issue, or they may get misled and fix something else that isn’t your bug. So, it’s in your interest to provide as much information as possible up front to make sure your issue definitively gets addressed.The easiest way to do this is usually to backtrack through the steps you took prior to encountering the bug. So, what was the very first thing you did before you saw the bug?

Close and reopen the project

So that is the last step in the Steps to Reproduce. What did you do right before that?

Clean the GI cache: Edit > Preferences > GI Cache > Clean Cache

Keep doing this as far back as you can remember, ideally to when you first opened up Unity. The more information you can provide, the easier it will be to reproduce and fix. If you can’t remember everything, see if you can reproduce the bug and pay attention to the steps that you’re taking.

Please note that you do not need to provide the steps in written form - for instance, you can submit the steps via video capture of your screen. What is most important is that it clearly illustrates the steps so that our engineers can recreate the bug.

Add expected vs actual results

What did you think would happen before you encountered the bug?

Expected: no errors in the console

What happened instead?

Actual: errors appear in the console

Note, that if you encounter unexpected error messages it is helpful to add those to the description as well.

After filling in all that information, your report should now look like this:

Attach your project folder

The Bug Reporter will automatically include the currently loaded project in the bug report if you open it through the editor. If you start the reporter via its executable file, you will have to attach your project manually. Unless your project is already very small, it is recommended to strip it of irrelevant assets. Submitting a minimal reproduction project that only contains what is necessary allows our QA and Development teams to isolate the issue more efficiently and provide a fix much faster.

If the issue occurs in a specific scene of your project, try exporting the scene in which you encounter the bug, then import it into a new project and see if the bug still occurs. If it does, upload the new, smaller project. If it doesn’t, you can keep trying with larger versions of the project.

To ​help ​you ​reduce ​the ​size ​of ​your ​projects ​and ​to ​create ​minimal ​reproduction projects, ​we ​developed ​several ​tools ​that ​greatly ​reduce ​the ​required ​effort.

You ​can ​find ​additional ​information ​on ​how ​to ​use ​these ​tools here.

The smallest project that recreates the issue is ideal, but large projects are definitely better than nothing, so please do include your whole project if you’re unable to narrow it down. Our ​reporting ​system ​supports ​huge ​attachments. Please ​do ​not ​upload ​individual ​assets ​because ​the ​project ​contains ​relevant ​data and ​files ​that ​the ​assets ​alone ​do ​not.

The final report should now look like this:

Perfect! You’ve put together an informative and concise bug report that our team can use to find and fix the issue. Just one last step:

Submit your bug report

Hit “Send” to submit your bug report.

When your bug is submitted, you will be sent a confirmation email containing the case number, which you’ll need to hold on to. The email will include a link to a web page with the current status of the bug. You can check back on that page anytime for an update. Don’t share this link on the forum or other public spaces, as it reveals your contact address and bug report history. The case number is sufficient for others to find the issue on the Issue Tracker.

For your personal convenience, we suggest that you keep track of your bug reports and related project folders. We recommend the following approach:

  1. Anytime you submit a bug report, create a .zip file of the project that you attached.
  2. Keep a .txt file of the bug report itself and keep it in the Assets directory so that you know what error the project shows and how you can reproduce it.
  3. After you submit the bug report, grab the case number provided in the confirmation email and prefix your .zip file with it.

This way, you can quickly find the project you attached to a report once Unity sends you an email to notify you that your bug report has been closed.

Upon receiving the notification from Unity regarding your bug report being closed, you can check to see if the bug has been fixed by finding the appropriate project and opening in the latest Unity beta. Follow the steps to reproduce, and you can easily determine if the bug is gone.

While this is a bit of work on your end, it means a) you are more likely to have a high-quality bug report, which means your bug is more likely to be reproduced and fixed, and b) you can easily ensure that the bug has been fixed in a future beta version.

04

Follow Up

It is always ideal for our staff to be able to get in touch with you in case they have questions. If you submitted a bug report, we will reach out to you via email. If you wrote in the forum, we will reply there. Please respond as soon as possible to questions and requests you receive from the team to ensure a speedy resolution of the case.

If you didn’t see your bug mentioned in the forums, we advise you to start a new thread. Remember that others may have experienced the same problem, so posting any workarounds you find is a fast way to make friends in the beta community!

That’s it!

Thank you for taking the time to learn how to be an effective beta tester. If you have questions about any of the above and your search engine of choice doesn’t reveal any answers, please drop by at the forums and ask.

Got it

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.