搜索Unity

发行杀手游戏预告片的10点技巧

Last updated: November 2018

本文将提供制作杀手游戏预告片的技巧和诀窍,以及如何吸引和保持观众关注您的视频内容。这些提示由Unity影视负责人Adam Myhill和资深电影产品营销经理Natalie Grant提供。您可以观看他们谈话的全部内容在这里。如果您想学习电影摄影方面有趣的片段速成课程,请确保从谈话开始看起,以了解所有关于对比度、颜色和构图的知识,以及关于相机放置和移动、镜头包裹和流畅编辑的技巧。

为什么还要制作游戏预告片呢?

视频是网络上最吸引人的内容形式之一,所以要将预告片视为所有营销活动中最强大的工具。确保预告片的开头在大多数人观看时传达最重要的信息。

从一开始就思考您的观众,以及您想要传达的内容。请记住,您也可以使用预告片来验证您的游戏与哪些人产生了共鸣,以及是什么让他们感到兴奋。

如何将您的游戏预告片放出来,跟踪结果并不断进行优化。

5秒钟之内要讲清楚一件事

人的注意力很短,所以确保您的预告片长度不超过30秒。想象一下,如果您不能吸引观众,他们便会在五秒钟内离开。所以要确保预告片能开门见山。

让玩家在您的生态系统里畅玩

如果您吸引了别人的关注,他们对您的项目感到兴奋,并且会通过一两个渠道进行分享,那就太好了。然而,如果他们再也不会回来查看您的网站等其他内容,那又有什么意义呢?

确保您添加了CTA(“行动呼吁”),并将人们引向可以找到更多类似内容的页面,或者为他们提供订阅、分享和关注的选项。您如果还不知道如何做到这一点,则可以从端板(end-slates)的最佳实践开始学习。(在YouTube视频的结尾,您可以添加一个深度链接,然后在不移除视频进行编辑的情况下将其交换出去)。记住,您可以根据您所处的游戏生命周期,用新的CTA来更新端板。这一解决方案比将文本硬编码到视频本身更好的原因就在于此。

利用第二大搜索引擎

YouTube是仅次于谷歌的第二大搜索引擎,而“预告片”一词是YouTube上搜索最多的词之一。既然您已经意识到了自己想要利用的巨大机会,请确保您确定了视频描述等视频的细节。

例如,YouTube通常会删掉您的描述,所以观众不得不对其进行扩展。这就是为什么除了文件夹以外,您需求CTA,网站链接,以及其他您认为重要的东西。视频描述对于SEO来说非常重要,因为它包含了关于您机构及游戏的所有相关关键词。“预告片”这个词也应该包含在内。

充分利用视频缩略图

请记住,YouTube不会为您的视频预先填充缩略图来完美捕捉您的游戏内容和受众。缩略图很大程度上决定了有多少人会点击该视频。您可以从您的预告片中捕捉后,添加文本并上传。不要随波逐流地跟风填写该字段,因为这是您对其进行优化的一个良机。

其次,您要使用视觉上吸引人的图像。即使您的游戏颜色或风格较暗,确保图像不单单是黑色的。即使看起来有点乏味的东西也很容易进行掩饰的。

Facebook视频 — 越短越好

Facebook统计的平均观看时间是三秒钟。将徽标放在视频的更深处或者末尾,而不要放在开头。人们快速向后拖动以寻找自己感兴趣的内容,所以在最初的三秒钟内,您应该展示一些非常吸引人的东西来阻止他们进行拖动。

如果您要在Facebook上做广告,请注意广告的格式。您可以先设计手机视频。由于大多数人都将手机竖着拿,因此方形比例的视频(1:1)和垂直观看的视频(4:5、2:3和9:16)最吸引人。确保用心处理每个信道和文件,这样您就可以不断对其进行优化和细化。

使用本地上传

为信道创建不同的文件,包括长宽比、长度和视频结尾的CTA等。不要害怕制作多种版本的东西,这样您就可以在每个信道上进行本地上传。例如,您希望Facebook的算法符合您的视频,因为Facebook的本地视频排名高于共享YouTube视频的排名。

同样的原则也适用于Twitter。其背后的原因在于,当人们点击某个视频时,他们实际上都将离开平台并转到了另一个页面。所以仔细想想您希望人们去往哪里。

利用付费广告

即使您以前没有做过付费广告活动,但所有的社交渠道都提供非常好的付费广告功能,可以帮助你设置所有细节。您有机会的时候可以去了解一下。务必确保您从设定目标开始,规划您想通过付费广告活动实现的目标,以及您想怎样来实现这一目标。

市场细分是开展此些活动时最棒的工具之一。许多这样的渠道允许您锁定特定国家的、有特定兴趣和爱好的人。您如果能节省100美元,就可以开展几场直接与观众交流的活动。

检查广告量度指标,更多地了解您的受众

不能启动付费广告活动就认为万事大吉了。您可能需要每周查看一次,看看其绩效如何。这就是您该做到的方式,例如查看网站访问量或浏览次数峰值等。您如果尝试了解人们如何使用您的内容,就能让视频内容为您带来更多收益。

重温!

流行告警词“重温(Reheating)”也是付费广告的重要组成部分。重温本质上意味着再次发布相同的视频。然而,重新分享原始文章是做到这一点的合适方法,但要使用不同的文字。为什么呢?您希望一直计算同一视频的浏览量,同时您可以测试哪个文本更适合您的用户。

Facebook Live及其他营销技巧

当您想发布一些重要的事情并制造一些轰动效应时,可以利用Facebook Live这一工具。您甚至可以为此使用推送通知,这样用户就能准确地知道您将发布的时间。

另一方面,想一想您可能在游戏开发中使用的特定技术、软件或硬件。您应该联系那些公司,让他们知道您正在使用他们的产品做些什么。他们可能很乐意帮助您,为您的产品提供宣传。

可以考虑绘制一张用户在线之旅地图。尽管听起来有点乏味,但在不打断叙事情节的情况下,绘制出所有您有存在度的网站、页面和平台,找出用户如何与您的内容互动,您如何将他们引导到旅程中的另一站,以及您想让他们去的任何地方,这实际上会非常有用。

更多资源

您喜欢本文吗?请告诉我们!

喜欢。继续发送 还行。有待改进

Search Unity

10 tips for releasing killer game trailers

Last updated: November 2018

In this article, you’ll find tips and tricks for creating a killer game trailer and how to attract and keep viewers engaged with your video content. The tips come from Adam Myhill, Head of Cinematics, and Natalie Grant, Sr. Product Marketing Manager for Film. You can watch their talk in full here. If you want to get the cinematography juicy bits crash course, make sure you tune in from the beginning of the talk to learn all about contrast, color, and composition, as well as tips on camera placement and movement, lens packs and making a smooth edit.

Why even make a game trailer?

Video is one of the most engaging forms of content on the web, so think about your trailer as the most powerful tool in your toolbelt for all your marketing campaigns. Make sure you convey the most important message at the very beginning of your trailer when the most eyes are still watching.

Start thinking from day one about your audience and what you want to communicate. Remember that you can also use your trailer release as a way to validate whom your game resonates with and what gets them excited.

How to put your game trailer out there, track results and optimize on-the-go.

You have one thing to tell in five seconds

People have a short attention span, so make sure you have a version of your trailer that’s under 30 seconds long. Imagine that someone’s going to click out within five seconds if you don’t hook them. Make sure to get straight to the point.

Keep players in your ecosystem

If you get someone’s attention and they’re excited about your project and will share it across one or two channels, that’s great. However, if they never come back to view some of your other content, such as your website, then what’s the point?

Make sure you add a CTA (“call to action”) and redirect people to a page where they can find more similar content, — or give them options to subscribe, share and follow. If you don’t know how to do that yet, you can start by looking into best practices around end-slates. (At the end of your YouTube video, you can add a deep link and swap it out later without removing the video to make edits). Remember you can update your end-slates with new CTAs depending on where in the lifecycle of the game you are. That’s why this is a better solution than hard-coding text into the video itself.

Leverage the second biggest search engine

YouTube is the second biggest search engine after Google, and the word “trailer” is one of the most searched words on YouTube. Now that you’re aware of the massive opportunity that you want to take advantage of, make sure you nail down those details for your videos such as the video description.

For instance, YouTube usually cuts off your description, so viewers would have to expand it. That’s why you want to have your CTA, website link, and everything else that you consider important, above the fold. The video description is extremely important for SEO purposes (search engine optimization) because it includes all of the relevant keywords about what your game is and who you are. The word “trailer” should also be in there.

Make the best use of video thumbnails

Remember that YouTube doesn’t pre-populate the thumbnail for your video that perfectly captures what your game is about and your audience. The thumbnail is a huge part of how many people click on the video. You can take a capture from your trailer, add text and upload it. Don’t go with whatever is pre-populated in that field because you have an opportunity to optimize it.

Secondly, you want to use visually appealing imagery. Even if you have a dark game color-wise or genre-wise, make sure the imagery is more than just a dark image. It’s a lot easier to gloss over even if it’s a little bit duller looking.

Facebook videos — shorter is always better

The average viewing time Facebook counts as a view is three seconds. Consider putting logos deeper in your video or at the end rather than at the start. People scroll super quickly down their feed, so within the first three seconds, you should show something that’s so enticing that people stop scrolling.

If you’re going to do an ad on Facebook, be aware of the format. You can start by designing for mobile first. Square video (1:1) and vertical video (4:5, 2:3 and 9:16) can be most engaging as most people hold their phone upright. Make sure that you’re being intentional with each channel and file so you can continuously optimize and refine per channel.

Use native uploads

Create different files for your channels either for aspect ratio, length, and the CTA at the end of the video. Don’t be afraid to craft multiple versions of things, so that you can natively upload them on a per channel basis. For example, you want Facebook's algorithms to work for your video because Facebook’s native videos rank higher than a shared YouTube video.

The same principle applies to Twitter. The reason behind that is that when someone clicks on that video, they’re actually leaving the platform and they’re going to a different page. Be thoughtful about where you’re sending people as well.

Take advantage of paid advertising

Even if you haven’t done a paid advertising campaign before, all of the social channels have pretty great paid campaign capabilities to help you set up all the details. Check them out when you get a chance. Just make sure you start with setting a goal, planning what you want to achieve through your paid ads campaign, and how you want to approach this.

Segmentation is one of the greatest tools when you’re running these campaigns. A lot of these channels allow you to target people in specific countries, with specific interests and likes. If you can spare one hundred dollars, you can run a couple of campaigns that speak directly to your audience.

Check your campaign metrics and learn more about your audience

The work doesn’t stop at the moment you activate the paid advertising campaigns. You need to go back, maybe once a week, and check how they’re performing. That’s how you can look into patterns, such as spikes on website visits, or views, around specific hours and different time zones. If you start to learn how people are engaging with your content, you can make your video content work harder for you.

Reheat!

Buzzword alert! “Reheating” is also an important part of paid advertising. Reheating essentially means posting the same video again. However, there’s a proper way to do this, and that’s by resharing the original post, but with a different text on it. Why’s that? You want to keep counting the views on the same video, but you can test which text works better for your audience.

Of Facebook Live & other marketing tips

Facebook Live is a tool that you can leverage when you’re revealing something important and you want to create a bit of a buzz. You can even use push notifications for this so that your users know exactly when it’s happening.

On another note, think about technology brands. You might have been using a specific technology, software or hardware in the development of your game. You should contact that company and let them know that you’re building something based on their product. They might actually be excited to help you and amplify what your product is.

Consider doing a map of your users’ online journey. Even though it may sound a bit nerdy, it’s actually very useful to map out all of the websites, pages, and platforms where you have an online presence to find out how your users interact with your content and how you can redirect them to another stop in the journey and wherever you want them to go — without interrupting the narrative.

More resources

We just gotta know! Did you like this content?

Yes. Keep it coming Meh. Could be better